We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Ranked #42 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed in the hotel last weekend with a group of friends and thought that it was excellent. Clearly deserves its '3 star Superior' rating. Very clean, good sized bedrooms with comfortable beds, and wide choice at breakfast. Price was very reasonable given the hotel's standard and very central location.
As the name says, it's close to the Cathedral so expect to hear bells early in the morning!

Note that the hotel will stores cases for you if you check out but are leaving Cologne later in the day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Cathedral have a great view but remember the bells if you want to sleep late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_WestBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    155
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
48
105
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here when visiting the Christmas Markets. The hotel was ideally situated only a few minutes walk from the main train station, and right next to one of the Christmas Markets. The room was basic but clean. The bath could do with a grab rail for getting in and out the shower. Breakfast - the food wasn't replenished very quickly, but what there was, was ok. It was good having a kettle in the room. The wifi passwords only lasted 24 hours, so we had to keep remembering to ask for new ones. For location I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
Thank VisitorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here in October 2013 for 4 nights for a conference. Very good value and the location is excellent because it is next to the Dom and within walking distance of the main Koln train station. Steps from the shopping street. Room was good, and we particularly like the ability to open the windows for fresh air but once you do that, you may get some noise as there is a pub very close by and will get noisy. Overall we find this hotel inexpensive and good value perhaps due to booking via conference rate.

Room Tip: Ask if they can give you a quieter room farthest away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

pros: very best location you can get in Cologne (just a few steps from the dome), friendly staff, ok food
cons: my room was close to stairs and I was woken up several times during night by people coming back from pubs, card used for door lock had to changed when I arrived (almost everyone from our group had to do it), pvc floor in room (no carpet), too soft bed

conclusion: not bad but I would not come back again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Located only a short walk across the square to the Cathedral and the Romisch-Germanisches Museum, this hotel provides spotlessly clean accommodation, with comfortable beds, large well equipped bathrooms and a friendly and professional staff. Initial fears about noise were completely unfounded, thanks to excellent double glazing. Breakfast is of good quality, with a wide range of hot and cold foods. We ate in the restaurant on two occasions and found the food to be average, with a strong emphasis on sauces.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night throughout the winter period to visit the Xmas markets, hence the increased price of one nights stay which is the only reason why I gave this a 3 rather than a 4. The hotel was clean and clinical, no real charm or character but modern and fresh instead. location perfect, and we had a view of the cathedral spires which was a nice bonus. Breakfast was a nice touch and worth the addition. The hotel reception was open at all hours and the staff were very attentive. Overall a great experience but let down by the one night stay price.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benkebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Besides the blaring music coming through my window on the Saturday night (eventually put ear plugs on) the hotel was fine. The lift was not working on the day I arrived to had to carry everything to the fourth floor. Luckily the next day they got it working. Besides those two negatives, the hotel was perfect situated in Cologne in the middle of everything. Awesome location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and I would stay there again and recommend it. There is wifi available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GUMMYKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#31 of 261 in Cologne
87 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#33 of 261 in Cologne
849 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom

Property: Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Address: Sporergasse 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing