We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Hotel Alt Deutz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alt Deutz
Ranked #177 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed one night to go to a concert at Lanxess Arena. Great location. Weird, noisy (from the street) but clean, nice room. Friendly staff, inexpensive, appears to cater to a laid-back clientele....

Room Tip: Avoid no.10
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShesNotHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear ShesNotHere,

thank you for staying with us and for letting us have your valued opinion on Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, Cologne.
We are glad to read you liked your overnight at our hotel and its close distance to Lanxess Arena. Indeed we consider being a budget hotel that mostly attracts tourists for their one or two nights' stay, but also are in a great location to welcome business travelers to Cologne's fairground KölnMesse as this is only a 8-minute walk away, too.

For your next stay, whether it is for business or pleasure, please book through our website directly and receive an additional 5% discount on our excellent value rates. We are looking forward to welcome you back some time, soon.

with warm regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    67
    59
    28
    45
See reviews for
30
75
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here for one night in April and really enjoyed it.
We were coming from Munster on a train and hopped off on a Cologne Deutz train station - from there it's a really short walk to the hotel.
It is located in a quiet area, the center of the city is right acroos the famous Hohenzollern bridge (around 10-15 minute walk).
The hotel staff is really helpful and friendly - we really liked that.

We were given a room on a top floor (a mansard); there were two other rooms on the floor and a shared bathroom. Everything is very clean; beds are comfortable; free bottle of water; free wi-fi.
Breakfast was also very good. You've got different cheeses, meat, pastry, yogurts, cereal, fresh coffee and juice... etc.
So all in all this a very decent place to stay - especially if you've got a tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moscow_Pineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Moscow_Pineapple,

thank you for choosing Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena for your stay in Cologne and for taking the time to give us your opinion on our hotel.
From your feedback we can see that you stayed in one of our rooms which has a shared bathroom but in general offers the same facilities as a guestroom with an en-suite bathroom. This can surely be an alternative for one seeking a perfectly located hotel at an even cheaper price. We would like to especially thank you for advertising our well-liked extended continental breakfast buffet. Please come back and stay with us again. We would be happy to see you, soon.

With warm regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stay at this hotel for ISM & ANUGA for 10 years now. Hotel changed ownership, price more than doubled (192 eur a night) and not only over charging, also charged extra night because they had not achived full occupancy?? over all poor value for money, but basic and clean.

Room Tip: doubleroom for single use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneOzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear MelbourneOzman,

we would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, Cologne and the time you have invested to convey your feedback. We do apologise for the fact that you were not fully satisfied with your visit. Further to your comment you mentioned you had been a regular guest with our hotel over the past 10 years and we are sure you understand that we are quite surprised about your ratings with regards to the quality of sleep and the guestrooms as those have not changed to the worse with the change of management. In the contrary we have been able to install several upgrades in the rooms’ facilities and especially with regards to the services we have added a meaningful amount.
Dear MelbourneOzman we do offer an excellent value for money and absolutely fair room rates in line with the market conditions throughout the city. Furthermore, in order to assure you that we continuously work on our hotel's profile we would ask you to visit us again and benefit of one of our newly renovated rooms - either in our annex building Alt Deutzer Eck, or in the main building Hotel Alt Deutz. We would be happy to welcome you again. Simply book online through our hotel's website and get an extra 5% discount on our roomrates. All the best.

With warm regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed here in a single room for two nights. The location is not in "downtown" Cologne, but rather across the Rhine. Hence it is much less expensive than hotels near the Cathedral. However, it is only about a twenty minute walk to the Neumarkt, and only a five minute walk to the S-Bahn, U-Bahn, tram and bus. If you are in town for a conference at the Messe, this location can't be beat, as it is only a few blocks away. The neighborhood has lots of restaurants and shops nearby.

The hotel staff was very friendly. The room was no frills, but clean and comfortable. They provided a large bottle of sparkling water every day, which was very much appreciated, and at reception they have fruit and daily newspapers. The breakfast was plentiful and very good, but the breakfast room is small so if you are staying over a weekend, I would recommend getting there early so as to get a table.

The hotel's website promised internet throughout the building, however it was extremely patchy on the third level where I stayed. Apparently the wireless was better in the breakfast room, although I didn't go down to try it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divachen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear divachen19,

we would like to thank you for your stay with us and the time you spent to give us your valued feedback.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, Cologne especially due to our excellent price/performance ratio and the perfect location for both, business and leisure travellers.
Please come back to visit us again and stay in one of our newly renovated rooms in either our annex building, Hotel Alt Deutzer Eck, or the main building Hotel Alt Deutz. We are curious about getting to know what you would think of these. And: if you book online you will receive an extra discount of 5% - simply through our hotel's website.

with warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Deutz
SKADA-City Colln Hotel
SKADA-City Colln Hotel
#185 of 261 in Cologne
56 reviews
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#97 of 261 in Cologne
61 reviews
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#49 of 261 in Cologne
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Merlin Garni
#118 of 261 in Cologne
21 reviews
Deutz
No photo provided
Hotel Putz Garni
#146 of 261 in Cologne
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alt Deutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alt Deutz

Property: Hotel Alt Deutz
Address: Graf-Gessler-Str. 13-15, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alt Deutz 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cologne, this hotel offers bright rooms with cosy interiors and free Wi-Fi. The KolnMesse Exhibition Centre and the Lanxess Arena are a 4-minute walk away. A cable TV, work desk and telephone with free, unlimited calls to German landlines are featured in the rooms at the Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. A free bottle of mineral water is offered each day. A rich continental and healthy breakfast is served each morning at the Alt Deutz. Cologne's Old Town and Cologne Cathedral can be found within 2.5 km. These are just 1 stop from Koln-Deutz Train Station, 900 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alt Deutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing