We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My experiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alt Deutz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alt Deutz
Ranked #175 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Slovenian Littoral Region, Slovenia
1 review
“My experiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent hotel with great breakfast, nice staff but strange price policy. I stay there at least once per month and I should expect some frequent guest program. Some of the rooms are great, some ground floor rooms need to be more sound proof.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZIgaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear ZIgaBK,

we want to thank you for choosing Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena as your preferred location when staying in Cologne. Being a regular guest you know about the benefits of our very centrally located hotel and the services offered. We very much appreciate your loyalty and hope you will keep booking our hotel for your upcoming visits to Cologne, too. Our hotel offers a very fair price/performance ratio and we look into our pricing on a daily basis. To make sure you always get the best rate available we ask you to book directly through our hotel’s website.
Thank you again for staying with us and for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you again, soon.


With warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena,

S.R. Robinson
-Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    65
    55
    27
    44
See reviews for
29
68
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

great location!
great staff who was very very friendly to me...especially the blonde lady. i arrived in early had to wait around for like 7 hours however she checked me in an hour early, gave me a map and was able to locate the attractions where i wanted to go to.

it in a very safe area... i am a 22 year old girl. travelled solo. walked back to the hotel at night and felt very safe.

nice rooms and decent showers.

breakfast was a buffet. decent too.

very very close to métro and very close to the great attractions!

definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraelMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear IsraelMelissa,

thank you so much for your great feedback on your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, Cologne. We are really happy to read you had such an enjoyable stay and that you found such nice and warm words on your experience at our hotel. Hopefully we may welcome you as our guest again for your next stay in Cologne. Simply book online through our hotel’s website to make sure you get the best available rate.


With warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena,

S.R. Robinson
-Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has 2 buildings very close to each other, don't just look at the pictures make sure you ask which building your room will be and check the room.

It is close to the train station (which is one stop from the main station) and 20-25 minutes walk to Kölner Dom/center over the bridge.

The rooms are tidy, clean and have enough room for 2 with a decent bathroom including a shower. Breakfast is surprisingly good.

The downside for me is the staff; house keeping tried to get in the room at 8.30 with his key and after one knock. I told the receptionist the incident and suggested that they warn the staff as 8.30 is a very early hour (not close to check-out time) and they should check better if guests were still in the room. The receptionist responded me that this was not a 4-5 star hotel and they only have one house keeper therefore it may happen also told me I should have hung the "do not disturb" sign to the door. ( as if it is acceptable for house-keeping to get in the room before check-out time if there is not a sign) I explained that the sign is in German and suggested they could at least add English version so that the non-German speaking guests could understand the sign and use it if that is the case. She told me that I could always go to the reception and ask what the sign meant.

So beware that the sign written in German in the room means "do not disturb" (or something like that) and make sure you use it, otherwise be ready for house-keeping while sleep.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yaseminyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Yaseminyy,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and for taking the time to leave your open feedback of your experience.
Certainly we are very much interested in the opinions of our valued guests and therefore your comments are very helpful to us in terms of guest services and facilities.
We regret that your experience with regards to our housekeeping and reception staff were not satisfying, however would like to state, that in general most of our guests find our team members very friendly and professional. With regards to the mentioned situation we analysed what happened and double-checked on the procedures in place for our housekeeping staff. We do indeed respect our guests privacy and therefore ask to use the provided “Do not disturb” sign. For any questions, requests and wishes, our reception team is happy to assist.
Dear Yaseminyy, again we would like to thank you for your open words and we hope we still may welcome you again as our valued guest again some time in the near future. Simply book online through our hotel's website and make sure you benefit of our best-price-guarantee


With warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena,

S.R. Robinson
-Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

stayed for 2 nights only. Convenient location close to train station. Nice neighborhood, shops/cafes not tourist oriented, more for locals, good atmosphere!

room standard is simple, overall ok, shower drain was clogged.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Mati K

we would like to thank you for staying at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, and for your kind feedback. We are happy to read that you had a good time in Cologne and took advantage of our very central location and the shops and cafés in our neighbourhood. Please come back to stay with us for your next visit to Cologne. We would be happy to welcome you again.


With warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena,

S.R. Robinson
-Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Rented hotel for two nights. Only 1 stop away the Dom... with an often-running train.
Got upgraded to a better room for free.
Free Wifi - though isn't fast enough for skype, but you can get by.
Bathrooms, rooms is great.
The reception is a little gross looking, but the rooms aren't. So don't judge a book by its cover.
The price was great for what we got. VERY VERY VERY happy.
Oh and everyone speaks english too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear maha m,

thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and hope you will come back to stay with us for your next visit in Cologne.

With warm regards,

on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson
-Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was amazed how good this hotel was considering how little we paid. The staff were helpful (although we had few interactions with them). The breakfast was a nice extra and met our needs. The room was basic but quiet, clean and comfortable. As for location, it was a comfortable 20/30 minute walk to the centre, so you don't need to rely on public transport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dec1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear dec1991

thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our extended continental breakfast buffet as well as the central location opposite Cologne's old town and only a short walk to the heart of the city.

We would be happy to welcome you again. Simply book online through our hotel's website and get an extra 5% discount on our roomrates.


On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson

- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed 14 nights in February, and I loved the style. The hotel assigned me its first floor room as I have mobility problem, and I just felt like at home. The location was just fine, with several stores and restaurants just around the corner. I definetly would stay there again if I go back to Cologne...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marycarvajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Marycarvajal

we would like to thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to give us your comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that you fellt like at home. We always try to fulfil our guests booking requests.

We would be happy to welcome you again and to assist with any requests you may have during your stay. Simply book online via our homepage and get an extra 5% discount.

With warm regards,
on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena

S.R. Robinson
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Deutz
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#160 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#81 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Deutz
SKADA-City Colln Hotel
SKADA-City Colln Hotel
#191 of 262 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Stadtpalais
#34 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Deutz
No photo provided
Hotel Putz Garni
#155 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Hotel Ilbertz
#138 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alt Deutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alt Deutz

Property: Hotel Alt Deutz
Address: Graf-Gessler-Str. 13-15, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alt Deutz 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cologne, this hotel offers bright rooms with cosy interiors and free Wi-Fi. The KolnMesse Exhibition Centre and the Lanxess Arena are a 4-minute walk away. A cable TV, work desk and telephone with free, unlimited calls to German landlines are featured in the rooms at the Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. A free bottle of mineral water is offered each day. A rich continental and healthy breakfast is served each morning at the Alt Deutz. Cologne's Old Town and Cologne Cathedral can be found within 2.5 km. These are just 1 stop from Koln-Deutz Train Station, 900 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alt Deutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing