We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with extremely friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cristall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cristall
Ranked #46 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Laois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with extremely friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great hotel, only 5 minutes walk (if you go in the right direction) from the Haupt Bahn. We had a great first experience, with an extremely friendly, knowledgeable receptionist (Sabrina) who warmly welcomed us, enquired about our trip, checked us in and informed us we had the best room in the hotel. I think we did!! It was a lovely top floor ensuite room, nice and big, air con and a huge bathroom, with my personal favourite - underfloor heating!

She was very happy to recommend lots of different places to eat, visit and drink.

Great breakfast as well - lots of lovely choices, friendly staff and a great start to the day.

Very fast WIFI in the room and no problems connecting - big flat screen tv too, but with a distinct lack of English language channels, but that's ok.

Room Tip: If you can get the room in the new block at the top, it's gorgeous - deep carpet and underfloor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    304
    139
    45
    16
See reviews for
45
212
101
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Only 5 minutes walk from the entrance to Cologne (Koln) main railway station. Friendly and efficient check-in, comfortable spacious room, excellent breakfast with first-rate service. It's rare to find a hotel with a notice in the breakfast room offering gluten-free bread; two fresh gluten-free rolls and a plate of meat were provided within 10 minutes of asking.

10/10 in every respect. Can't wait to stay there again on my next InterRail trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We travelled by train from Amsterdam fantastic journey, facilities on train superb. Hotel 5mins walk from station. Nice hotel although we upgraded from standard to comfort room at 20 euros, hotel is central, breakfast included was tasty, buffet of fruit, cereal, cheese, eggs, meats, rolls and cake. Front desk staff don't have a lot of local knowledge and if I am honest not at all helpful. Main sites of interest in walking distance of hotel are Cologne Cathedral, Cable Car, Zoo, Beer Keller, lindt chocolate museum and Rhine cruises. If your here for 2 days or more take a cable car to thermal baths and spoil yourselves with a day there, prices good for food and entry costs to the sites.

Room Tip: Ask for Back of hotel away from 3 lane road at the front and side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights after finding the hotel on the internet and it looked like a good value option.

It's located a short walk from the Hauptbahnhoff, very central. On arrival, staff are really nice and helpful. I asked for a quiet room and was not disappointed. Nothing flashy, but everything you need for a comfortable stay. Clean, and interesting artwork makes for some amusement. wi Fi is free.

Breakfast is very good, plenty to choose from, you can really fill up for the day.

If you can get a good deal on price like I did (less than £50 a night) this is difficult to beat in Central cologne.

Will definitely consider the hotel again

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

For the standard rooms: Decorations are a bit strange, specially that odd pictures in each room, a little bit small, and no air conditioning, so if it's a hot day it's pretty bad. But clean, good location, quite, and has a really good breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BarAtYarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here at beginning of June, hotel a few minutes from station and most attractions easily within walking distance. Room was a standard single room which I thought could easily fit a double bed , nice and clean hotel and friendly staff made for a pleasant stay, only gripe was the bed pillow I prefere them with more substance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedwardWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raasepori, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent a weekend I Cologne with my husband. The regular room was ok, small and a little worn down but ok for sleeping. The staff was nice and the breakfast was very good.
Distance to the train station and the city center was prefect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catz_080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#102 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#26 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#22 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#150 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristall

Property: Hotel Cristall
Address: Ursulaplatz 9-11, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cristall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristall Cologne is a design-filled boutique hotel in Cologne's city centre with an inspiring and distinguished atmosphere. Colour and Shape. Light and Room. Design and Style. Accompanied by comfort and top location. The interaction of these attributes form an exciting concept. Being in the city centre, the Hotel is located within walking distance to the Cologne Cathedral, Central Station, river Rhine, major museums, main shopping streets, Cologne Old Town and Cologne Trade Fair/ Cologne Messe. The Hotel features 97 rooms in two categories, a hotel bar, two variable state-of-the-art conference rooms and free WIFI.Our Comfort rooms are newly furnished and belong to an impressive old building redeveloped in 2008, and attached to our main building. Each piece of furniture is individually designed and custom-made of quality materials. The Rooms are 26-36 square metres in size with a 3-metre ceiling height, and thus provide genourous comfort. All 14 Comfort rooms are non-smoking rooms and feature: Kingsize bed, Airconditioning, LCD flat screens, free WIFI, Free SKY-TV Entertainment, Directdial telephone, Satellite TV, Desk, Minibar, walkin shower, Toilette, bathroom Floor Heating, Hairdryer Our Standard rooms are individual in their design with a special attention to detail, especially when it comes to lightening. They embody quality, taste and warmth. All 83 standard rooms feature: Directdial telephone, free WIFI, Minibar, Shower/Toilette, Hairdryer Satellite- and pay TVCristall' s two variable conference rooms feature state-of-the-art conference equipment and proper surroundings for 2 to 65 people. Both rooms provide complimentary Wireless-LAN, air-conditioning, and direct daylight. Among various light arrangements both rooms can be fully blacked out if desired. Therefore, our conference facilities are rightly suited for any event, ranging from major conferences to small meetings as well as receptions. We offer tailored Conference Packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cristall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristall Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing