We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
Ranked #84 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Though the rooms look basic, this is because of the size and clean layout of the room itself. The rooms have a good sized bathroom, walk in wardrobe, telephone, mini bar and also an i-pod docking station.

Location is excellent with the Cathedal, main shopping centre area, and Christmas markets within a 10 to 15 minute walk (if you're walking, head through the train station).

I was happy with the underfloor heating in this hotel, especially as the floors are wood and not carpeted.

The breafast was the best I had in my week long tour of Germany and the cost of the stay was not that much at 110 euros per night. Fresh cut melon and pineapple as well the usual continental offerings.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The lift and stairs can be noisy so I would request a room well away from these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Small boutique style hotel with an interesting Hitchcock and wife photo in foyer, and the original dresses she wore in the large photo encased on the wall. Quirky, and random alongside the tropical fish and cactuses at reception. Mine was a nice room on the fourth floor, the top of the building. Great speaker system for me to listen to my music through Bluetooth. Bathroom had underfloor heating, much needed after the chilly November night. Not sure though why German hotels have such thin quilts that don't cover the double beds fully?! Stayed for business, wifi was good. Breakfast was fab, a buffet and hot breakfast, the smoked salmon and delicious bread won me over, as well as the snazzy coffee machine, cappuccino will do nicely thank you! Hotel corridors were cold. Only a shower when I could have done with a relaxing bath. Liked this place a lot and will remember for again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an extra quilt/duvet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AisCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I usually stay at this hotel when the Anuga fair is on. Its a short walk from the main train station where the Kolnmesse is just one stop - just about bearable when you are packed in! There is also a nice area with a few restaurants a short walk away across the main road.
Disappointingly on this stay, the restaurant was no longer open (only for breakfast) which is a shame as the food used to be really nice, and the bar is not really manned unless you go and ask, but then you are sitting in a large empty room with very little atmosphere. Oh, and its totally closed on Sundays - you cannot even get a drink, so be warned. All this was a little bit of a shame for my fellow travellers who had brought their 18month baby, and would have preferred to have a place to eat on site.
If you're the kind of traveller who likes a bath tub, don't stay here. Most of the rooms have showers only, and the ones with tubs, have the small 3/4 ones. The bathrooms are TINY. but thats the case in all the rooms - even the suites which I have stayed in a couple of times. But most of the rooms (with the exception of the single rooms in the attic) are a good size, and the beds are solid and comfortable - perfect for me.
The rooms do get warm, and if you need to sleep with the window open, ask for one on the courtyard side as its quieter.
All that said, would I stay here again? Probably. For being close to the fair the rates are ok, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly and I had no problems with the wifi. But it is still a shame about the restaurant/bar.......

Room Tip: odd number rooms are on the road side so can be a bit more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAZ2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August at the beginning of a two week trip around Germany and Scandinavia. We were impressed by the reception that we received upon arrival and were given a room on the fifth floor. The room itself was large and spacious and had lots of extras like an Ipod dock. The bathroom was fine but made better by having a private roof terrace that could be accessed via the shower area (sounds odd but was fine) with views of the city and the cathedral. The only downside was that the room was hot at night. The breakfast was great (hot and cold options, brill coffee machine at no extra cost) and the location was good with only a short 10 minute walk into the centre which could be mostly done on the river bank. I would recommend this hotel to other people and I would stay here again. It is an interesting old building with good facilities and service (although we didn't try the internet)

Room Tip: Ask for the fifth floor although you can only get as far as the fourth in a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_R_Mole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I had a very disappointing stay. I was given a small, dingy room. The internet did not work. The staff was not helpful with instructions or anything at all. The location and breakfast are the only positives that I could find about the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASH144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is located within easy walking distance of both the old town and the zoo, via the riverside walkway.We found it very clean and the room very modernly furnished. It was very hot when we visited and there was no air con, just a Dyson fan which was effective in the bedroom during the night. Regret that our refrigerator did not work and was not attended to when reported on day one of three.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard. Make sure you have a fan during hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This Hopper is a cool little hotel on a quiet street that is a short walk from the main train station, cathedral, and main shopping area. I really liked this place. The service was good and the vibe hip but not pretentious. The breakfast was very good. All in all a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Hopper Hotel St. Josef
Hopper Hotel St. Josef
#135 of 261 in Cologne
132 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Hopper Hotel et cetera
Hopper Hotel et cetera
#145 of 261 in Cologne
136 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#6 of 261 in Cologne
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Lint Hotel Koln
Lint Hotel Koln
#71 of 261 in Cologne
95 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#73 of 261 in Cologne
193 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopper Hotel St. Antonius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopper Hotel St. Antonius

Address: Dagobertstr. 32, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £82 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hopper Hotel St. Antonius 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hopper Hotel St. Antonius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopper Hotel Cologne
Hopper Hotel St Antonius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing