We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Im Wasserturm
Ranked #28 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very interesting design, fitted in what used to be Europe's largest water tower. I stayed in a two level suite, with slightly colliding designs: modern living room, bedroom and bathrooms with a very traditionally furnished separate dining room.

The suite was very well appointed, with two flat screen TV's, one of which was bedside upstairs. Bathrooms are modern and nice although slightly lacking in planning: the smaller upstairs bathroom lacked a shelf for toilet bag and accesories and the shower a curtain, causing some flooding. Hotel toiletries (soap, schampoo etc) were quite meagre, too, and not quite up to the hotel standard.

The conference department laid on a very well organised food and beverage arrangement and the entire conference organisation was of a high standard. The only remark would be against rather boring, staid sandwiches on one night which were dismissed by most guests.

Overall, though, a very good hotel with a difference.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morris2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Im Wasserturm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

The architecture - using a watertower for a modern stylish hotel is unique and deserves commendation . Reception was fine as was my room and the rate I paid . However .. the wifi did not work when I was there and this is unacceptable in a 5 star hotel n 2013 . The breakfast prices are outrageous . The rooms have no tea or coffee making facilities . I did not try the restaurants due to their cost although they were undoubtedly of a high standard .. I went to the Italian the hotel recommended 3 mins walk away which was superb . Overall - an intersting place to stay with some drawbacks which need attention . As info its a 7 - 10 Euro taxi ride from the Hauptbahnhof .

Room Tip: higher rooms have better rooms if you don't mind the slow lift
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilltopOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel is unique! It was an old water tower that makes it very exclusive! I had a room on two floors with a living area, a bathroom, another toilet upstairs and a bedroom not very big. I was a bit disappointed by the bed as i don't like when they put 2 matrasses next to each other and 2 single duvets (very poipular in Germany anyway). everything else was great, nothing to complain about it! Top floor restaurant is amazing too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melzago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I love water towers so this one converted into a hotel has been on my my list for a while.
Another personal interest: does design ages well?

Let's start with that question. A bit mixed feelings here. Andrée Putman did the interior at the end of the eighties (the hotel openend in 1990). It is more about "chique" then about character. Some details were changed or added later on in a very wrong way (lcd-stand, toilet brush, ...): doesn't work well and I'm very sure she wouldn't like it herself.

My room (807) was nice, large enough and convenient. Noise from the street was too present.

Breakfast up to the standard of the hotel.
Skipped the (michelin-starred)restaurant on the top floor.

Efficiency is very present, but staff could be more helpful and warm.
Wifi works well, rather expensive

Nice location: easy walk to the center, subway around the corner and parking under the hotel.

Probably summer is a better time to stay: garden downstairs and terrace upstairs.

Given price a good choice

Room Tip: Room 807 is comfortable, but for a view on the cathedral you need rooms on the other side of the tow...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Fantastic, unique, luxurious hotel with superb suites and excellent staff. we were given a personal tour of the hotel upon checking in and all features were well explained. We did not want to leave at the end of our 3 day stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackwil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed in this otel for one night only, during the Orgatec fair.
the hotel is quite well known among the taxis (wich saves you from fishing in your bag the address avery time) and very pleasant overall.
the hotel is an old monks' water tower, renovated in great style.
The interior architercure, especially in the hall, is really of regta effect and all details are very tastefully taken care.
the room (800 something) was hoevere very very small, especially the bathroom, with the usual inconvenience of the water of the shower that floods all the floor - do architects have less need to shower than us mortal business-people ?
the staff is really nice and helpful and depsite their policy of check in at 1400 you can ask (and obtain - my luck) to access to your room earlier.
The food at breakfast is superb and abundant and super fresh. a paradise which puts you on the right track of the morning start.
The room is nice, essential - good for the purpose of resting.
I recommend this place - 15min drive from the fair and 5 from downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaritang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The hotel has a special design in a water tower and I was really curious to see it! The entrance looks good, a bit confusing though. The room had a special shape due to the round building furnished with normal interior design which I found a pity in such a location. The bathroom does not meet 5 star standards. Neither did the service at check-in (my early check-in request got lost and they could not manage to arrange a room earlier than the guaranteed check-in time although I had to wait to check-in because of several guests checking-out already). Breakfast was quite expensive but worth the money. They offer an outside bar which looked very nice, unfortunately with very bad lighting (too dark).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#18 of 261 in Cologne
443 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,789 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Im Wasserturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Im Wasserturm

Address: Kaygasse 2, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £81 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Im Wasserturm 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Im Wasserturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Im Wasserturm Hotel
Im Wasserturm Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing