We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had an excellent stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Im Wasserturm
Ranked #28 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The good: Easy to get to by metro. Impressive building and a great conversion. We had a split-level room, where one ascended via spiral staircase to the bedroom upstairs. There was a half-bath upstairs and a full-bath below. The beds were comfortable, the desk useful, the free mini-bar stocked with water, still & sparkling, cola and sparkling apple juice, as well as two beers. We enjoyed the room immensely. We had several issues crop up during our stay, and all were handled promptly by the staff, who were uniformly friendly and helpful. I'd like to add that the ultra-efficient house-keeping staff member that took care of our room was stellar. Spotless.

The bad & the curious: Nothing major, but there were some minor disappointments and I don't believe it's entirely fair to point them at the hotel. So count this as more curious oddities than bad.
Online booking services show that the rooms come with bathrobes and slippers. Nope.

Online booking services show 6 hours of free internet. Not only did this require a face-to-face with the reception desk with paperwork in hand, it ended up being 6 hours across the entire booking. So beware, and make sure you log out of their guest management software! Otherwise those hours will be gone.

Online booking service shows that room comes with a double bed. Two twins pushed together, although the last night, the housekeeper, bless her heart, put a fitted sheet over the two, helping to hold them together.

Last was that there was no mention of the rooftop terrace being closed or the top floor restaurant being closed. Until after we got there. Funny enough, if I'd have read the Trip Advisor reviews before booking, I'd have known about this. The online booking service reviews did not. Again, the hotel itself cannot be held responsible for errors and omissions on external sites.

Would any of these prevent us from staying again? No. We hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgkiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Second time of staying there and the staff were as helpful as last time. Standard rooms are spacious enough (the split level multi-room suites are fantastic from what I have seen) and the bathroom has a neat trick: two doors into it, with an internal screen partitioning off the toilet and separate basin if required, so you can still have a wee when someone is enjoying a nice soak in the tub. Hurrah!

First night we were ushered out of one half of the bar to make way for a function, but these things happen and there was more than enough room on the other side; I did note that the waitress on bar duty did stay open a little longer to give those of us who'd been moved an extra last drink if required so all good. Breakfast delicious and plenty of elbow room. Didn't use the restaurant as I'm a great believer that you see more of the town you are staying in if you avoid eating in your hotel.

If I might hazard a few comments: it is VERY warm in the rooms at night and if there was air-con I couldn't find it, nor any heating controls. Pillows could be firmer but that isn't unusual a gripe for a Brit on the continent.

And yes, as per one other review I read - and not aimed just at the Wasserturm by any means - isn't about time chargeable WiFi was binned off in the hotel trade? Christ on a bike, even my local pub has free WiFi; paying for it extra in hotels is starting to have a whiff of RyanAir about it!

Room Tip: Have yet to experience a bad choice of room and I've had two and experienced two others. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My actual rating would be somewhere between 3 and 4. When we first stayed at the H Im Wasserturm it was rated as 5 star and was indeed 5 star. Now? 6-8 years ago the towels were thick and plush and there were two plush terrycloth bathrobes in the room. This time just this week there were no bathrobes and I've had plusher towels in Premier Inn. The room was OK but definitely not 5 star with a large stain on the carpet that it appears no attempt has been made to remove. The service was OK but NOT 5 star. To be fair the breakfast buffet was above average and quite nice but again I've had the same or better in many other hotels with fewer stars. Yes the hotel is unique insofar as it is probably the only one in an old water tower but that alone doesn't cut the high star rating. I would either call it a low 4 star or a very high 3 star. Another thing the video display in one of the lifts (elevators) was still showing pictures but the side lighting was gone so you could barely see them. In a TRUE 5 star this would have been fixed immediately but his was that way the whole 5 days- doesn't say much for the management or the place.

Room Tip: Ask for the 9th floor as this has an outside balcony right round the whole hotel affording good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_MarthaMildenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

About 10 mins walk from the main area but worth it. Superb building with one of the best designed bedroom/bathroom configurations I've seen. The rooms are not large but the storage, lighting, design is excellent.
The bar is lovely and convivial with a great young barman the evening we were there (7 Nov).
Recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very bad service. Client is the last thing importante. Bad attitude from the staff. If you ask something for sure it will be not done and only with lucky they will answer you. Nice hotel with nice rooms but the staff from the front office is realy bad. Internet not included!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCarvalhoPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The building itself and how the rooms are designed is really unique! I have seen a lot of hotels in the world, but never something like this. To be honest - the bathrooms are a litte bit "old-fashioned", but even this is for me the charm of this special place. It is not a "faceless" hotel, which you can find everywhere, but I think you must be the character to feel and understand the attraction of this environment. And even the "inner life" of that old tower is noteworthy.

The breakfast buffet offers a big variety and is made with a lot of love in details. I loved the small bowls with salty and sweet content - you can taste a lot, but do not have to eat a lot...

I cannot agree with some of the reviews, because the quality of a hotel can not or should not be measured at the room service.

Nevertheless everybody can have his own opinion, but for me it is a wonderful place and I can recommend it with all certainty!

Room Tip: Room over 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDH321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanjo K, Director of Sales at Hotel Im Wasserturm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear guest,
many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back the next time you visit Cologne.
With kind regards,
Hanjo Koch
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A really well thought out conversion, resulting in good size well appointed rooms with plenty of storage space. Towels could have been a little larger and tea/coffee facilities would have been nice. Staff very attentive but there could have been a few more of them. A short and very easy walk into the heart of town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanjo K, Director of Sales at Hotel Im Wasserturm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Dr Ford,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel im Wasserturm.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the historic water tower.
Kind regards,
Hanjo Koch
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,227 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#18 of 261 in Cologne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
2,457 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,806 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Im Wasserturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Im Wasserturm

Address: Kaygasse 2, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £103 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Im Wasserturm 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Im Wasserturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Im Wasserturm Hotel
Im Wasserturm Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing