We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
Nearby Hotels
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Cologne(Cologne)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
70
88
44
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
88
44
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomone nightbar downstairscity hotelpublic transportfantastic locationshopping areaexcellent breakfastcentral stationgermanydomchannelssheets
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have stayed at the hotel several times now and am absolutely excited about the service, the newly renovated rooms and the friendly staff. Great location directly in the city center with many restaurant options in the immediate neighborhood. Cologne at it's best!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Lemmy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed here for business every week, 3 days for 4 months and was never disappointed. It is not a 4 star luxury hotel for sure, what it is though is a very personal experience with no wishes left unfilled.
Each room with a bit of difference made it special, when staying often I do not like the same room each time.
Excellent breakfast with a hard to beat central location, ask for the owner, I forget is name but he is a great guy, very polite and always gives you a true smile.
A very nice small bar with a nostalgic feeling of yesteryear is a nice place to end the evening.
Woth the visit and very fair prices.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the "Gürzenich Street" are the quietest
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Right from the beginning I knew this would be a good stay. Nice modern feel to the place, not overly decorated, but with interesting art in the hallways. The woman at reception, and indeed, everyone else who worked here, was delightful. Very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early. The room had a little ante-room with 2 arm chairs and fridge with 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water. The bathroom had a wonderful deep tub. Great central location, near the main shopping street, Cathedral and other sights. If you drive, park in the Rewe City carpark. They will stamp your ticket to get a discount - 10Euro vs 16 for 24 hours. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWorldCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Good location, if a little bit noisy in the morning because of a nearby tram-line.
Room facilities almost non-existent - the room is small and rather spartan (OK to spend a night).
Pillow was very uncomfortable (but tastes differ).
Bath-room is tiny, albeit with nice towels and a fan.
Reception is friendly.
Wi-Fi is tooooo slow. PC in the lobby is very slow too.
TV is German only, with two free ugly porn channels.
NEGATIVE:
In the niche next to the bed's head under the reading light there were many tiny creatures about 2mm long. I guess it's because the shower is right behind the wall... They are NOT bed-bugs and they did NOTHING bad to me, but their presence was not pleasant, especially on my first night when I noticed some on my sheet and didn't know what to expect from them...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osakasenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed 1 night in business at a reasonable rate. Breakfast was above average for a 3 star hotel. Staff was polite and helpful. Single room as small but ok.
Negative: the free wifi is not very strong. Tv channels only in German including the horrible open access porn channels. If you bring children be aware of this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orbea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews