We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
Ranked #68 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!!”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Went to Cologne for a short break to visit the Christmas markets.
Hotel was perfect. Great location, less than 10min walk from central train station. (Taxi cost £6.)
Immaculate room. Great shower and bath. Excellent customer service from staff.
Had a brilliant weekend and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    76
    36
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
44
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in the main shopping area, only 10 min. walk from the central station and the Cathedral. There is no need for a taxi or public transport.
We took 2 double business rooms for 2 nights and it was brilliant. The rooms are located at a specific location at each floor, so if you wish to have rooms next to each other it's not possible. We stayed at 202 and 101.
The rooms were specious and the bathroom has a great bath.
The price was a bit hight (122€ per room per night), but I think it's worth it. It took me forever to find a nice hotel in Cologne - either the price was around 200€ or it was very far from the city center. I think that this hotel was a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitizenVictoria_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel is right in the city centre and very close to the cathedral and shops. Hotel secure parking was very important to us. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was extra, but we went to a lovely bakery at the end of the street. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DervM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Hotel Am Augustinerplatz is a nice hotel especially when you stay in cologne for a few days to explore the city. The location is really great, right at the edge of the city center. It's just a short walk away from all the sights (cologne cathedral...), shops and restaurants (hard rock cafe is just around the corner). Rooms are clean, comfortable and really nice. We booked a junior suite. Unfortunatley the renovated some of the rooms during our stay so there was some noise during the day. Or rate included breakfast and that was really great. Great variety. Perfect for a good start into the day. We can reccomend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side should be quieter because they are facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

located at the edge of the shopping district and just 300m away from the old town (party district) but quiet, so this non-smoker hotel offers a quite idel location. The negative side of getting there by car is quite complicated, especially with some blocked roads a navigation does not help much. Also parking is difficult but the hotel cooperates with a car park where one day costs 10 Euro for hotel guests
The room (I had a single room) is small, but clean and all necessary equipment is there. I would not like to stay in there for hours, but if you just use it to sleep, it is fine. WLAN is free, which is by far not yet normal in germany.
I can not judge the breakfast since I did not take it. The breakfast was an extra 12 Euro and a bakery is just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Privatkunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This has to be one of the hottest hotel rooms I’ve ever stayed in, and I’ve stayed in quite a few. The air conditioner may as well be blowing hot air into the room, because it certainly is doing nothing to cool the room. I’ve got the window wide open, and it is letting in some air flow, but not really cooling it either. When it is time to turn in for the night, I'll have to shut it due to the noise in the area. I guess when the weather is chilly this wouldn’t be an issue, but when it is warm, beware.

So, the hotel is fairly easy to find from the main rail station. Just head down the main pedestrian street and once you get to the Galleria Kaufhof store, you are there. All in all, about a 1 km walk and it is also fairly close to the Rhine River and the many little bars and restaurants of the Altstadt. I have a single room, and it is fairly small but comfortable enough, with a small bed. The pillow isn’t really worth much and there is no second pillow in the room. If you fold it in half, it may provide enough support. There is also an empty minibar where you can put your own stuff in (and a free bottle of water), and a small desk. Just around the corner is a decent Rewe market with everything you might need. The shower is wonderful, although the bathroom is somewhat small.

The TV has a plethora of channels from all over the world, including many Middle Eastern channels. The internet code they provided for the wireless network didn’t work for me, but I’ve got a German T-Mobile stick so it really wasn’t an issue for me.

I doubt I’d stay here again. I understand that some people like it hot, but some like it not and while I can always turn up the heat, if I can’t cool the room down during hot weather, I’m not going to be able to get a decent night’s sleep. If the price is right, the Hilton has never failed me in Cologne. The city itself is absolutely remarkable and is one of my favorite travel destinations in the world. There is so much charm rolled up into this entire region, it is hard to stay away (that, and the Kölsch beer is fantastic). A walk along the Rhine River and some time in the Rhein park across the river will cure what ails you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK-in-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel several times now and am absolutely excited about the service, the newly renovated rooms and the friendly staff. Great location directly in the city center with many restaurant options in the immediate neighborhood. Cologne at it's best!

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemmy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Engelbertz
Hotel Engelbertz
#102 of 262 in Cologne
102 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
#84 of 262 in Cologne
110 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Hotel zur Malzmuehle
Hotel zur Malzmuehle
#54 of 262 in Cologne
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Augustinerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Augustinerplatz

Property: Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
Address: Hohe Strasse 30, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#47 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Augustinerplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO COLOGNE. The Hotel am Augustinerplatz is centrally located in the heart of Cologne's city centre. The historic old quarter, cathedral, main train station and banks of the Rhine are all within walking distance. After a sumptuous breakfast, explore the city of Cologne with its numerous places of interest or embark on an extensive shopping trip. Just a few steps from the hotel you will find the popular retail areas Hohe Strasse and Schildergasse. Just take a look at our Around-Me-Map and discover the area around the hotel. Our 53 modern rooms combine comfortable and sophisticated design. Business travellers can take advantage of our business package and proximity to Cologne's trade fair and exhibition centre. Our friendly team are on hand to deal with individual requests to ensure that you have a wonderful stay in Cologne!Our rooms - Wi-Fi and pay TV always included! Do you set great store by comfortable and sophisticated design? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Augustinerplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Augustinerplatz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing