We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing experience, low to no customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Ranked #35 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing experience, low to no customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We love Koln, we take a trip there every year around christmas. We visit the beautiful christmas markets the first day and the second day we relax in the spa area of our hotel.
This year though we had a very disappointing experience.
The day of our arrival, we get to the front desk early afternoon to check in. We were asked to wait in the lobby while all the staff at reception was counting the money in the register. We waited for 10 to 15 minutes, but didn't think much of it at first.
At night, after a long day of walking around, we wanted to have nice cocktail at the hotel bar. We were informed it was closed, but we could have a drink at the hotel restaurant. When we got to the restaurant the waiter couldn't take our order because, I kid you not, he was counting his money...
The next morning, still eager to be happy and not let little things bother us, we started packing our things. It was then that we discovered a sausage under the desk in our room. Now, this is a 4star hotel, this means I think that you can expect a certain level of cleanliness. if there is still food from the previous guests lying around on the floor this makes me seriously doubt if this room was properly cleaned at all?
We were happy to be on holiday and eager to get to the spa so we wasted no more time on the issue. Then when we got to reception we found out that the spa area was closed. Granted, the hotel had communicated this to the travel agent through which we had booked and they in turn had neglected to inform us. We fully understand that the root of the problem lies with our travel agent concerning this matter. Still, in my opinion, I believe a good employee at a hotel front desk will try to find a solution together with his guests. Now I'm not talking about money, I'm talking about the simple service of kindness and hospitality. The man at the front desk could only repeat that he had no money to give us. We were just looking for a way to save our romantic weekend a little. Was it too much to ask for a good suggestion? A little positive effort?
It's a shame, because we take this trip every year and I don't know for sure if we'll ever consider to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lies U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Client,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us Feedback and constructive critique. It is essential for us to ensure a good service and pleasant stay for all our guests. We want to give you some information. All of our guests have the option to go to our neighbor hotel ‘’Radisson Blu’’ to use the Spa and Fitness area that we are not available to provide at the moment. Towels and Bathrobes are always available at our front desk and the Reception is always here for your questions or concerns. We are very sorry, that due to the Christmas Holidays our Bar was temperary closed, but it is open the rest of the year. If you may have any more questions or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.
We promise you to take more attention for service requesting guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!
With best regards
Yours Dorint-Team
Dorint An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    285
    111
    25
    15
See reviews for
54
219
45
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We checked in here after having moved house. We had two nights before leaving for Bangkok, Thailand, to live for one year.
Staff were friendly, and the lobby looked modern and clean. Unfortunately, the room was horrible. The bath had hairs around the shower door, and it was really grubby and old looking. The bed was hard, and overall the place was definitely not worthy of 4 stars.
My husband went to reception to ask for bathrobes and slippers for the spa area, where he was informed that the spa had burnt down, so we could use the spa in the neighbouring hotel, a fair walk across the parking lot. Bearing in mind, it was the end of November and freezing cold outside, we had no intentions of wandering back and too in order to go to the spa.
As there was nothing else to do in the area (we lived just 30 mins from Cologne centre, so we really had only booked there for the spa to relax after packing and moving house), we asked if we could be moved to the city hotel. The staff were great and moved us without argument, and we got the same rate.
Overall, perhaps and ok hotel to stay in if you visit the Messe, and I expect the spa will be lovely when it is rebuilt. The rooms were practical, but could do with updating and more care with regards to detailed cleaning. I definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoinetteKerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear client,
Thank you for your comment and your stay in our Cologne hotel.
We appreciate the positive feedback about the Lobby and our hotel staff, those comments are always nice to hear.
Like mentioned we did have a hotel fire at the end of September, putting our Spa area out of service for the time being. We are very sorry about this, but have organized that our guests can go to the next door hotel ‘’Radisson Blu’’ so that our guests would at least have a second option. All Internet booking platforms were directly contacted in September, therefore nowhere states that we have a wellness area in the hotel since September. Of course we will still give all guests Bathrobes and Slippers that ask for them.
We also apologize that you were under the influence that you were too far away from the City center. Train Station ‘’Deutz Messe’’ is a 5 minute walking distance from the hotel entrance, and with the train you are there in only one stop (all together 10 minutes) and you will be right in the middle of Colognes biggest shopping area the Hohestr , Schildergasse, and the Cologne Cathedral.
As far as your room is concerned, we apologize for that as well. If you had contacted the Reception about this matter we could have given you a different room right away or we could have sent the housekeeping department to your room right away if the shower was unacceptable, we always appreciate constructive criticism and the chance to improve our services.
Best regards yours Team Dorint An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Located right across from Cologne Expo East Entrance but 4km (2.5m) from the city centre / Cathedral.
Well appointed room, small bar/lounge area and great breakfast buffet.
I was however disappointed by the gym not being available. They referred me to the Radisson some hundred yards away but their gym was extremely poorly equipped and maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie bald wieder in unserem Haus begrüßen zu dürfen. Herzliche Grüße aus der Domstadt, Ihr Team vom Dorint An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East-Flanders
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

After visiting several hotels, and also several times the Dorint An der Messe, this hotel has become our abolute favorite. Situated near the Lanxess arena and yet close enough to the city center.
Rooms are nice and modern, good bathroom facilities, friendly and helpful personnel, and all is really clean. Breakfast is a super buffet with different types of bread, cheeses and meat, eggs, vegetables, fruits, cake, pancakes, fresh ham and nespresso!
Altough the price of this hotel is not that cheap, it surely is worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipperke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear client, thank you for your positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Dorint An der Messe in Cologne.
Your feedback shows us we are able to reach our goal: providing all our guests with perfect quality and good services! It motivates everybody working here to maintain and improve our standards permanently.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

With best regards
Dorint-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

On October 17 2013 my wife booked this hotel through booking.com for 4 nights for October of 2014. Unfortunately as it turns out she booked it for 2013 and the first I heard about it was when I received a cancellation notice for 1143 Euros. I called the hotel (they never responded to my e-mails) and was told that if booking.com agreed they would reduce the cancellation fee. As it turns out booking.com was fine with this but the hotel then said they would not consider any reduction in the price of the cancellation. I realize it was my mistake and suggested that they apply part of the cost to a future stay, charge me for two or even three nights or even offer a discount on a future stay. The hotel was abrupt and rude and told me they would not consider any reduction whatever. I am left having paid over $1,600.00 for a hotel I have never seen. I can't comment on what the hotel was like but certainly customer service is not good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear client, thank you for your comment. We are very sorry about what happened., but when booking hotel rooms through the internet, you are asked to enter the exact date before the search starts, once more before confirming the booking, and after the booking has been confirmed there is an E-mail sent to the E-mail address with all of the exact booking information.
The rate that was booked was a non-refundable rate, which also states in the confirmation before the room is booked. If you would have noticed before the reservation had occurred, we might have been able to change something.
The hotel held this room free for you for four full nights with the information that you would arrive, because we had never heard otherwise. Because this was a guaranteed booking, we cannot sell it further without your notice. And because we never heard from you this was impossible to do.
Because the reservation had already occurred, it was a no-cancellation rate, and we were not given the information beforehand that you will not arrive, the invoice is not something that we can change at this time.
Feel free to contact us directly for future bookings to avoid any further complications, and if you may have any other questions or comments feel free to contact us at any time.
With best regards
Yours Dorint-Team
Dorint An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

If you want to experience mails full of nonsense and complete mix-ups, please try to reserve a room directly with this hotel. The booking department is an absolute catastrophe,prime example of arrogance and people who completely do not understand what they are doing. If you do manage to get a room then you arrive at the front desk, they are nice but would need a lecture or two on the exact meaning of ,,,being helpful... Breakfast is alright with very limited choice of fresh fruit and vegetables, service is reasonable.
The best place of this overpriced hotel with bad internet connection is the DUX steak restaurant. Great food, very pleasant and nice service, good wine selection maybe the food could have a wider selection too, but that would be wishing for too much, The restaurant is great with really nice staff, worth a visit and you can enter from the street, you do not have to go through the lobby of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the parking, the rooms facing the street are subject to noise and all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear clienet,
thank you for the information about your stay. I’m sorry to hear about your experience with the reservation department. If you can give us further information as to what has occurred we would gladly investigate this situation.
We are not aware that we had any concrete internet problems in the full month of October, but a problem that does occur every now and then are Business guests trying to log into the internet with company computers with a strong firewall that blocks the internet access. For that you would have to contact your companies IT department. Otherweise all Apple ios7 devices we can gladly connect for you at the front desk.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!
With best regards
Dorint-Team An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here on business as we were going to be going to the exhibition centre, which is only a stones throw away from the front door of the hotel. The location is excellent for this but is also ideally located a two minute walk from the train that goes to the airport and has a tram service that takes you into town right on the door step. The staff were very helpful at the front desk and did not wait to check in. The rooms were nice enough for a small stay and the breakfast was good for ones on the continent and it also has a pretty decent restaurant for night time. Admittedly we paid too much for the room however when trade shows are on you can't get a room cheap and we saved a lot on the taxi fairs to the airport, venue and town centre. If you are planning on going to cologne for the trade shows there is not a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear clienet, thank you for your entry. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to welcome you to cologne again sometime soon!

With best regards
Dorint-Team An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Stadtpalais
#33 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Ibis Koeln Messe
#49 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#96 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#51 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint An der Messe Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Koln

Property: Dorint An der Messe Koln
Address: Deutz-Muelheimer Str. 22-24, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel An der Messe)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cologne
#11 Business Hotel in Cologne
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint An der Messe Koln 4.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint An Der Messe Koln Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing