We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet rip off!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Ranked #34 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Internet rip off!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

Their Internet access "rip-off" scheme ruined an otherwise pleasant stay.
If you ask for Internet access, they sell you a password for 10 Euros. If you foolish plug into the well-marked connection with the prominently-displayed cable, (instead of using WIFI) you will be charged an ADDITIONAL 22 Euros!
This is not-so-coincidentally the identical price for breakfast, (which is hidden by adding it to your room rate on the bill.)

Most folks would not notice. It is just an underhanded way to make a few extra bucks. It reveals the true nature of the owners. Thus, I won't do business with them again (and I will write many reviews exposing this rip-off.)

  • Liked — Clean, very tasty breakfast
  • Disliked — Internet rip-off scheme. Very unethical. Purposefully deceptive. 32 Euros for 24 hrs! (but you think it will be just 10)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BillDbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    285
    111
    25
    15
See reviews for
54
219
45
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Our company just exhibited at Koelnemesse during Intermot. We booked through the tradeshow organizers and received decent rates. However, once we checked in, our rates were changed to 20 Euros more per person, so a double room was up charged 40 Euros and single rooms were up charged 20 just so they could say the buffet was included. Two of my double rooms only had one person in them due to staff changes, but those rooms were still charged the extra 40 Euros. Initially I informed my staff that the buffet was extra so some people skipped it and ate at the fairgrounds, yet they were still charged the extra cost. Just pay attention to your bill.
Other than that, this hotel is in an ideal location for the fairgrounds. The East entrance is across the street. The Dux restaurant has good food and the bar is nice (if you do not mind the smoke). I had a single room and it had plenty of space. The bed was comfortable and the whole room was clean.
If you are bringing kids, you may not want to let them have the TV remote. The mid-range channels are PayTV. You need a code to see them, but previews of shows in progress run for a few seconds. Some of those shows are adult films.
There is a clever safe in the room that runs off of your own magnetic strip card (credit card or otherwise) for locking and unlocking. To unlock, you have to use whatever card you used to lock it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rate change without notification
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nyee1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samm65
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

My husband , daughter and i stayed here in February.

The hotel is really well placed as mentioned already. Trams stop right outside the door and you can walk to the train station in 5 mins which gives more trams and trains.

We walked into the centre to the Dom on the first day and this was a really pleasant 15minute walk with some fabulous views across the Rhine.

The hotel room we had was spacious, had a proper bed for our daughter as opposed to a sofa bed. The bathroom was clean and adequately filled with the usual shampoos etc.

The mine bar and coffee machine were well stocked too, it was lovely to have filter coffee in our own room!

Breakfasts were vast and plentiful with variety which delighted our daughter.

The spa facilities were fantastic though must admit my daughter was a little shocked (and giggly - she's at that age) at the naked businessmen, but they seemed to stay more in the jacuzzi/steam area and we were mainly in the pool so it didnt worry us too much.

This hotel was a great base, staff were friendly and helpful, the room spotless and very peaceful, all in all an excellent stay and we would go back.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

Good location, near lots of shops & restaurants. Walking distance to the train station. Clean, functional.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveUrkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

Ok it's impersonal and lacks architectural charm - but I slept so wonderfully. It's completely quiet. V good connections to the city across the river, tram stop outside, three minutes to underground or more trams/buses. Or maybe 15 minutes walk to the Cologne "Dom" (cathedral) with the best view of the city as you cross the river. Great breakfast buffet.

  • Liked — Quiet and convenient
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

Stayed for one night while attending the Koln Messe. Nice classy modern hotel. Rooms are a little on the small side, but absolutely ok. Nice Marble bathroom. Perfect business hotel. Great if attending the fair, if you are not, stay on the other side of the river, thats where everything is happening

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms are on the small side
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank M747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

We stayed at the Dorint for a long weekend just before Christmas, to visit the city and the Christmas Markets. We got the train from the airport to Koln Deutz Messe station and walked from there - 5 to 10 minutes walk, but we only had hand luggage. (Try and have some coins for the ticket machines at the airport, as they don't take notes or credit cards and there's no ticket office!)
The hotel is just as you'd expect a modern hotel to be, clean, comfortable, warm with good service and friendly staff. Breakfast was a bit pricey, but well worth it. Spa facilities were good, but the swimming pool's more of a wallowing pool - three or four strokes and you'd done a length.
The tram stops right outside the hotel to take you into town - again, keep some coins for the ticket machine - and they run every five minutes or so. And it was perfectly placed for the Arena, where we went to see an ice hockey match. They have good concerts there too.
The Markets and shopping were great, and we found some good little places to eat - although that wasn't as easy as we expected. Perhaps if we'd had longer to get to know the city centre it would have been easier. Would recommend the large cake shop opposite the Cathedral though......

  • Liked — convenient transport links
  • Disliked — limited selection of toiletries!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Stadtpalais
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Ibis Koeln Messe
#48 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#94 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#51 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint An der Messe Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Koln

Property: Dorint An der Messe Koln
Address: Deutz-Muelheimer Str. 22-24, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel An der Messe)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cologne
#11 Business Hotel in Cologne
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint An der Messe Koln 4.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint An Der Messe Koln Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing