We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for trade visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Ranked #30 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best location for trade visitors”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

There isn't a hotel that's closer to Cologne Messe. It's across the street and no more than 20 meters away from the East entrance to the trade grounds. Really helpful when it's raining outside or you forgot your jacket in cold weather :) So if you are lazy or want to be as close as possible to trade fair, look no further. It's 15-20 minutes walk from the city centre though (or 2-3 stops by public transport, and there's a station right in front of the hotel).

The breakfast is really, really good with great choice of food and drinks (variety of tea options really made my day) and there's even a special part with local food from Cologne.

That's about it for the good part and I'm a bit surprised that the hotel has 4 stars. Spa area is closed for almost two years, revolving door at the entrance doesn't work for at least the same period, the staff is really young and unexperienced. I had to call room service more than necessary because they always forgot something - new towels, refill of shower gel or soaps, taking out the trash and so on.

There's a catch with the Internet as well. There's a free WiFi throughout the hotel but with really unstable and slow internet connection (it's enough for checking the email and occasional surf but that's about it) that was working "ok" until hotel filled up with people going to trade show - then it just felt apart. There is a LAN connection in every room but you actually need to pay 10 euro per day (!) because it's the high speed internet that is actually an extra service from the hotel. So keep that in mind if the internet is really important for you.

Everything else was in line with the expectations - rooms were clean, enough space inside, clean bathroom etc.

I would personally think twice about booking again, mostly because of the need of constant and reliable internet connection, and that can be an issue since it's mostly business hotel because of the location.

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the inside of the hotel are more quiet but not much of a view. The ones with the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear client, your feedback is very helpfull and highly appreciated. It helps us to work on our issues and optimize our daily work for a better relationship to our guests. These important feedbacks gave us the chance to avoid further mistakes of our staff and to make further stays as much comfortable as possible. Our Spa will open on 25 th november 2014. It was closed because of a fire in sep. 2013.

Our team of the DORINT An der Messe Köln would be very happy to get a second chance to persuade you from our high service quality.

Kindest reagards from Cologne
Yours Team Dorint An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    291
    116
    27
    15
See reviews for
55
226
45
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

After a full day of driving we were looking forward to soak in the hotel spa. When we arrived, the reception let us know the spa was closed, due to a fire the year before. This puzzled us, since we had read about the spa on the hotels website.. This fact didn't really concern the receptionist who just shrugged at us. The room was ok and the hotel is close to the tram. We would never have booked this, had we known about the spa.. Book a room closer to the city. Parking is also 20€ pr night, and its much cheaper in the city centre.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasper T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much that you take your time and gave us your comments. We are sorry about the closure of our wellness area. In case of a fire and the renovation for it, the re-opening of our wellness area will be latest at the end of this year.
We are happy to let you know, that after the opening our guests can enjoy a fully new renovated wellness area with pool and different saunas in our hotel again.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!
With best regards
Yours Dorint-Team
Dorint An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a very good hotel, just 20 minutes walk over the bridge to the city centre and opposite Messe. Rooms were clean, shower in bath and well isolated from the noise of the busy street. Plenty of parking space, but signposting to parking could be improved. It was searching for the entrance, although when you know the way, not difficult to find. Breakfast is very good, wide variety, good quality and well presented.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear client, we thank you for your positive review.
We are looking forward to meet you again in Cologne and welcome you in our hotel!

With best regards
Yours Dorint-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is a five minute walk from the Messe Cologne and is perfect for visiting the fair. the Dome is a twenty minute pleasant walk from the hotel. After the business the whole city meets at the Dome. Service was excellent and breakfast was top class.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear client, we thank you for your positive review.
We are looking forward to meet you again in Cologne and welcome you in our hotel!

With best regards
Yours Dorint-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location for us and the room was fantastic spacious and comfortable, the staff were OK but only did their job and no more sometimes felt I was bothering them, otherwise would have given full marks

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jackieegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear client, thank you for your positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Dorint An der Messe in Cologne.
Your feedback shows us we are able to reach our goal: providing all our guests with perfect quality and good services! It motivates everybody working here to maintain and improve our standards permanently.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!
With best regards yours Dorint-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
253 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very nice Hotel right on the excebition grounds. Solid rooms although the AC didnt work very well. Bathroom was good but the ammninities not worth 4 star. The German and Internatiotional Bars on the ground floor were good and you need to have a local Koelsch beer. (lager)
breakfast excellent and thats one of the key elements in the Dorint offering. Unfortunaelly the city center is not in walking distance but a 10 Euro taxi ride. All in all good business Hotel

Room Tip: High and river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear client, thank you for your positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Dorint An der Messe in Cologne.
Your feedback shows us we are able to reach our goal: providing all our guests with perfect quality and good services! It motivates everybody working here to maintain and improve our standards permanently.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!
With best regards
Dorint-Team
Dorint An der Messe Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We chose the Dorint an der Messe, although it was slightly out of the town centre, mainly because of the good reputation of its swimming pool and sauna, so were disappointed to find out on arrival that the pool and fitness centre were closed long-term for renovation, I think they said all this year! We were not informed of this in advance, (neither were we told that we could use the facilities of a neighbouring hotel, which some other people were told about), however we discovered a fantastic thermal baths a short distance away called Claudius Thermalbad, which were well worth a visit.
The hotel room was comfortable and warm, our only complaints were that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, the towels were hard, not at all fluffy, and the only TV channel in English was the BBC world news!
We did manage to brush up our German somewhat by listening to the German channels, and the choice for breakfast at this hotel was gigantic, a difficult decision as to what the choose to eat!
The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean.
The hotel is located a short distance from the town centre, but right opposite trade exhibition halls, would be ideally situated for someone attending a trade fair at the Koelnmesse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBoy582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16patrice, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint An der Messe Koln, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much that you take your time and gave us your comments. We are sorry about the closure of our wellness area. In case of a fire and the renovation for it, the re-opening of our wellness area will be latest at the end of this year.
We are happy to let you know, that after the opening our guests can enjoy a fully new renovated wellness area with pool and different saunas in our hotel again.
The point that you think our TV channels in english language are inadequate for our international guests , we want to let you know that we know about and will try to find a solution for that point.
We hope that you will give us a second chance to welcome you with a professional and warm service. We would be happy to welcome you again as our guest in the future. Yours Dorint Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Stadtpalais
#28 of 261 in Cologne
245 reviews
Ibis Koeln Messe
#45 of 261 in Cologne
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#94 of 261 in Cologne
61 reviews
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#50 of 261 in Cologne
711 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint An der Messe Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Koln

Property: Dorint An der Messe Koln
Address: Deutz-Muelheimer Str. 22-24, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel An der Messe)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cologne
#11 Business Hotel in Cologne
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint An der Messe Koln 4.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint An Der Messe Koln Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing