We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but will not return either...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Ranked #39 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Meldert, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad, but will not return either...”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel has everything you can expect in this class.
Rooms were clean, and size was ok for a city-center hotel (no more, no less).
Breakfast also had everything that can be expected and was prepared,presented and served well.

Although there are some points that make this hotel too expensive for what you get:
- we stayed on a saturday, and were kept awake all night by beats and basses bouncing into our room from the neighbouring nightclub(s). If you want to sleep well, never come here in a weekend !
- wifi is available, but charged. It should be free for a hotel priced in this class. Besides, the payment process is very unhandy.
- parking under the hotel is great, but again, should be included or at least priced lower.

Conclusion: i follow former reviews, saying that it's too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoDC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    391
    145
    35
    12
See reviews for
49
304
75
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I spent a week in Cologne during a trade show and had a great experience during my stay at the Mercure. The rooms were comfortable for a European hotel; there a some rooms with balconies (ask for those). The rooms on the street side could get a little loud weekend nights as Friesenstrasse is full of great bars and restaurants and a hotbed for nightlife. Since it was the summer I left my windows open and could hear the hum of music and revelry which didn’t prevent me from sleeping at all. The breakfast buffet is well stocked and well worth the price. There are a ton of options for food nearby so I didn’t eat dinner at the hotel. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the Dom Cathedral/Centre City. There didn’t seem to be any air conditioning so leaving the windows open during the day/evening was a must during hot days.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on the street for a better view of the Dom from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJEM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Somehow I had managed to book myself into a "superior" room, I'm not sure how. I was amused to be told I was to get a free bottle of water! However once in the room I found a coffee maker and there was also free wi-fi, which is important to me. It's not the hotels fault that there was what sounded like a rock concert took place nearby on my first night. This is all part of the fun in a city centre hotel. I have stayed in this hotel several times before and just wish that wi-fi access was standard, not an expensive extra or only "free" as part of the superior room package.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very good room, good staff service,very good breakfast selection and evening meals.
Quiet location, would revisit

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjansengc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eschborn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is just as every Mercure, nothing fancy but nothing much to complain about as well. Everything is clean and the service is to standard. I really liked the breakfast buffet but the best thing about it is the location. Very close to many bars and shops and also public transport.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeokiGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Friesenstrasse from 23-30 June. Had a room at the back which was very quiet which was a good thing as Germany had not then been knocked out of the Euros and the bars in the front were packed with supporters - not doubt things changed the week after.

Room was clean and up together - slightly on the small side but what you expect for a city centre hotel. As other reviews have stated the bathroom was small (but big enough for what you normally do in a bathroom!) all the facilties worked well and were clean and overall fully satisfactory.

Breakfast was a bit pricey but had an excellent choice of food to start the day. The breakfast staff were particularly helpful in accommodating some of the more eccentric English requests, to europeans, such as cows milk to have with tea!

Parking was available which was a bonus in a city centre.

Location good - about 10 minutes walk to the centre - all in all would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Back rooms will be quieter as the street at the front has numerous bars. Try to avoid football tourn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_CT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I only stayed one night here whilst on business in Cologne. The hotel was recommended to me because its central location meant that I could make the most of my limited spare time to see the tourist attractions.

The room was an average size for a city centre hotel, albeit the bathroom was very small. The view was non-existent however. The room had only a high window and if you looked through it all you saw the the roof next door. I cannot recall ever having had a room anywhere in the world (even in London) with such a limited view.

If it is a view that you want, do not stay here. If you are more worried about price and location, then this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 260 in Cologne
1,770 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#17 of 260 in Cologne
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
#28 of 260 in Cologne
711 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#11 of 260 in Cologne
387 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#16 of 260 in Cologne
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Property: Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Address: Friesenstr. 44-48, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#47 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Cologne from up close: The 4-star Mercure Hotel Köln City Friesenstrasse is located in the heart of the Rhineland city. All 103 rooms have free WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel is ideal for your meetings with up to 200 people. The four flexible conference rooms are air-conditioned, with WIFI and the latest technology. The hotel is also in an easy-to-reach location. The main train station is 0.6 miles (1 km) away and the airport 11.2 miles (18 km) away. You can park your car in our garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Accor Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing