We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good night sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Ranked #35 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A good night sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night during a weekend in November. We chose the hotel for its good reviews and location.

You need to walk a lil to find this hotel from the main railway station, but the walk is not that much. Anyways close to the hotel you can find shops, restaurants and nightlife.

We arrived at around 3pm to the hotel and the check in was fast and easy. They do charge you a little fee on your credit card as a deposit.

Our room was 210, close to elevators, but we were not molested by that. We had no views and small windows close to ceiling, which also was not a problem for us. The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed and had also 4 extra pillows! I love that. There was a tv and possibility to make coffee or tea in the room. No safe in the room was found, but they do offer you that service free of charge in the reception. The bathroom had good lightning, a nice make up mirror and properly working hairdryer. The bathroom itself wasn't big, nor super small where your knees would hit the sink.

We had a good sleep in the hotel. One thing was strange - we checked in at 3pm and went to room to rest after our travel. It was not even 4pm as someone knocked our door - minibar! A hotel worker came to ask if we need to fill up our minibar. I found it strange since we had just checked in and hadn't had time even to open the minibar to consume anything from it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    379
    141
    31
    12
See reviews for
48
293
74
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Most Mercures are rather better than this. It overlooks the Friesenstrasse, which can be noisy - I was woken by drunks shouting in the street several times at night. The area is OK, with plenty of restaurants and bars close by, and a tram stop just a hundred yards away. The service was adequate, the staff friendly enough. But I'm sure you can find better places to stay in Cologne. I certainly will next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
596 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Good and reliable hotel in a great location, 10 minute walk to the Dom and train station (a straight line, you will not get lost!).

There are many bars and restaurants (including the great Paffgen) right by the hotel.

Rooms are large, though bathrooms are tiny.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We staid for 1 weekend night. We arrived saturday at 6pm and had to wait 20 minutes to check in. Only one person was behind the reception desk and the other staff in the office behind were apparently not in the mood to help...

At around 8pm we tried to order in the bar and had to wait 15 minutes for someone to show up and give our order. 10 minutes later that person came back because he had forgotten the order. Another 10 minutes later he managed to arrive with the wrong order anyway. All without one apology...

so good hotel but lousy service

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is one of a dozen, cannot think of anything memorable good or bad. Location is excellent for any purpose in downtown Cologne, rooms are what one would expect from Mercre anywhere in Europe, comfortable with the usual amenities but nothing special. I woud consider it a bit pricey for the overall quality level, but so are all hotels in Cologne. I tried something a little cheaper last time I visited, got something much worse, so by Cologne standards this hotel is reasonably good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
#25 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#49 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Property: Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Address: Friesenstr. 44-48, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#48 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Cologne from up close: The 4-star Mercure Hotel Köln City Friesenstrasse is located in the heart of the Rhineland city. All 103 rooms have free WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel is ideal for your meetings with up to 200 people. The four flexible conference rooms are air-conditioned, with WIFI and the latest technology. The hotel is also in an easy-to-reach location. The main train station is 0.6 miles (1 km) away and the airport 11.2 miles (18 km) away. You can park your car in our garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Accor Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing