We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cologne
Ranked #3 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
princess239
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt for three nights as part of a trip to Cologne to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I was a little worried as I usually book the hotels when we go away, but this time my husband booked it as a surprise, and I was unsure of what to expect.

However there was no need for concern - the stay was absolutely amazing and we had a great time from start to end.

The hotel was in an ideal location - situated right on the river next to the bridge, with a perfect view of the cathedral. The centre of town (cathedral, the shopping centre) is a five minute walk across the bridge. There were lots of hotels in the main square outside the cathedral but for me I preferred the more peaceful, less crowded location of the Hyatt - everything was accessible and nearby despite being on the other side of the bridge.

The hotel impresses both inside and out. It is a huge, distinctive building which can be recognised from anywhere on the river. The inside is calming and tranquil- an impressive water fountain display welcomes you in at reception. Staff were friendly and wished us happy anniversary. They took the luggage to our room which sadly is something a lot of five stars fail to do these days. The room itself was fantastic - we had room 426, which had an amazing view - we were right on the river with full view of the bridge and the the cathedral. Every morning I would draw open the curtains of the huge window and see this gorgeous view! The room itself was big, with a good spec. The bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom was also good- separate bathtub and shower, the shower was a walk in power shower, which is vital for me when I travel! There was a little storage room in the corner of our room, which was a bonus as all the luggage could be stored in there.

When we arrived in our room, there was a huge chocolate cake already there, wishing us all the best for our anniversary, along with a welcome message. This was a lovely personal touch, and the second day this continued with a bowl of easter fruits and chocolates.
Staff were extremely hospitable at all times. For example, the restaurant staff asked us what we were planning for the day as we were leaving from breakfast on Easter monday, reminding us that stores would still be closed. They were helpful in recommending things to do and where to eat.

We ate mainly in the hotel - the first night we ordered room service - I ordered a kids meal but the portion was large enough for an adult. Unlike other hotels the portions were large and sufficient, well worth the prices.

We had breakfast at the hotel every day - and were very impressed with the large selection. There was a large selection of cold meats, fish and cheese, wide variety of breads, pastries, and fruits, and eggs and waffles were freshly made to order. There was also a hot buffet and also a japanese option too. Certainly the best breakfast I have had in a European hotel.

Just outside the hotel is a riverside bar with very reasonably priced food and drink. There was ample shaded seating and we had a pleasant dinner there the second night.

On the third night we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was very tasty and portion size was good- and the food was high quality produce- I think this was reflected in the price, overall well worth it. I would definitely recommend eating at the restaurant.

The spa was very good- there was a pool, sauna, steam and jacuzzi area, and an outside relaxation area. It was never over-crowded and it was clean and relaxing.

We travel quite a lot and usually stay at 5 star hotels but the Hyatt impressed me incredibly. The personal touches and helpful approach from staff made us feel very welcome and we were quite sad to leave! We will definitely be returning and will be staying at Hyatt hotels whenever we travel from now on.

I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    650
    169
    49
    25
See reviews for
363
857
127
720
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We were two families - occupying two sets of interconnecting rooms. Huge rooms with amazing views of the river, the beautiful bridge and the Dom. The beds are large ( even the singles) . The breakfast was fantastic with all you can wish for, even dim sum. The service excellent - always with a smile. We walked over the bridge to the old city and visited the nearby theme park Phantasialand one day - all 4 kids loved it ( ages 10 - 15 ).

Room Tip: A river/city view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The hotel faces the River Rhine and the Cologne Cathedral. Maginificent views off the windows!
Multi lingual staff and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast with choice of eggs and south east asian counter!
Just a 10 min walk across rail bridge to old town and city centre.
Definitely would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaminiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soderkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Hyatt Cologne has a beautiful location at the Rhine river with a nice view from the breakfast restaurant towards the famous cathedral on the opposite side of the river.
The rooms are spacious with perfect cleaning and the personnel are very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is among the best including a chef who makes omelets to your choice, waffles or pancakes.
The Cologne trade fair is located around the corner and sometimes jack up the room price very much.

Room Tip: Check the room price - sometimes it is very high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedishglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Without doubt one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Amazing lobby and fountain hits you as you enter, you get a feel of its quality without any stuffyness. A little pricey but we wanted the extra room space and Catherdal view. Booked via Travel Republic that had a good deal with an extra supplement for an upgrade. Was nervous we wouldnt get the full view but got exactly what we wanted. Was in awe when walked in to the room and the room width high windows let you look out to the River and City. Bed fantastic and large, bathroom spotless and roomy. Breakfast very good with the fantastic view, some people had to wait in line at weekends though. Pool and spa area great too. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast a little earlier on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyTraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Did not stay overnight in the Hotel but was invited to attend an event that was hosted by one of my clients in that Hotel.

Excellent Service - excellent Food - excellent location (directly at the River Rhine)

The event took place in the Graugans Room

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasHerrmann1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel...good quality rooms and amazing choice for breakfast! We booked via Quickrooms - £810 B & B for 7 nights not bad for a 5 star hotel!

The hotel is just a short walk from Koln Messe train station.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,742 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,036 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 261 in Cologne
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cologne

Property: Hyatt Regency Cologne
Address: Kennedy-Ufer 2A, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cologne
#1 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#2 Family Hotel in Cologne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Cologne is a luxury hotel in Deutz near Cologne trade fair. The 306 luxurious guestrooms and suites of our 5 star superior hotel located directly at the River Rhine offer a beautiful view of the city centre with its famous Cathedral and the Old Town. Additionally, Hyatt Regency Cologne features the Glashaus restaurant offering regional and international cuisine as well as the Legends bar and our popular Hyatt Beer Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hyatt Cologne
Cologne Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing