We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
Nearby Hotels
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hyatt Regency Cologne(Cologne)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
141
327
193
47
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
327
193
47
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminutes by carcity centretram stopovernight stopnice swimming poolsafe parkingnice hotelsolid hotelspoke very good englishspacious roomfresh fruitfamily roomcoffee machinewi fipublic transportmotorwaysumit
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter, along with a friend with her 2 children. My room was fully equipped with Tea & coffee making facilities, while my friend had none. On requesting a kettle the front desk handed it over to us on our way out!! The hotel was clean, a basic chain hotel. Check in staff were too interested in each other than giving info re the hotel.
18€ for breakfast did seem rather expensive.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank ajbritt1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Mercure Hotel Koeln West is one of the hotels during my European tour with my friends. The hotel is clean, and the food nice. The hotel prepared fried rice, very helpful for our Asian stomachs.

Unfortunately the security system is not so good. My friend lost his bag (containing passports and money) when we're having breakfast. There's is no CCTV in the dining room and the hotel staff looks familiar with the incident.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrynuriman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I combined a trip to Koln with a 1-night stay at the Mercure hotel. Che k in was efficient and staff was really friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 441, clean and cosy, exectly what we expected. The bathroom was rather small, so when staying multiple nights with more than 1 person, I would consider asking for a different room. Breakfast was very good. A wide variety of food was offered, going from fruits and yoghurt to breads to bacon and eggs. Check out went very fast. When after check out we returned to ask for help with our next destination, a very friendly receptionist helped us on our way. We would recommend this place!

Room Tip: If you stay more than 1 night, you might need an upgrade to a room with bigger bathroom, especially when you are not traveling alone.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie_scarlett86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Köln West. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Bart Vaessen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Evaluation of overnight stay¹
Date : 26/12/2013
Location : Mercure Hotel “Köln West”
Price : 33€/person – breakfast inclusive (Flair Magazine promotion)

Summary : score : 3,5/5
Convenient modern style hotel, which can be rated 4 stars (european rating)¹. The hotel is located near the city ring (not centre), in an area of shops with construction material, car centers, etc. The hotel is mainly focussed on overnight stay of business people related to surrounding companies or people with their own car for visiting Cologne. The price/quality ratio is tending towards the expensive side, certainly for the breakfast. It is a convenient hotel for overnight stay under promotion conditions, with nearby public transport to commute to city centre.

Details :

Environment : score : 3/5
• Located 20 minutes by car from City Center (Dom – Shopping malls)
• In between company commercial buildings but not shopping buildings (refer to Google Street view) :
o No restaurants and bars around (except a Burger King and Mc Do)
• Public transport (tram) nearby (500 m)
o Cost of ticket : 2.50 €/adult (1h validity for line change)
o Approximate 20 mins to reach city center.
• Very well reachable by car.

Outside : score : 4/5
• Outside of the hotel is clean. Some plants surrounding the hotel some hold garbage of beer cans, wrapping paper and other crap : this could improve.
• When arriving by car, entrance to hotel is self-explanatory. Entrance well-lit and inviting.
• 2 Taxi parkings before the hotel. Always at least one occupied by a free taxi.

Reception : score : 3/5
• Service :
o Professional, but the young receptionist had some trouble with his English when I asked about the ticket you are supposed to buy when entering the centre (for the CO2 reduction).
• Explanations :
o Received the key to our room, with clear indications how to reach it.
o Received public transport indications only on request.
• Speed : Each time we were at reception we had to wait at least 10 minutes. Coincidence ?

Parking : score : 3/5
• Located around the hotel.
• Closed off by lever. But on foot, easily accessible (also for people with bad intentions), does not really give a safe impression.
• Need to take ticket and pay at reception when leaving, cost 15€/24h.
• Parking was not clean : cans and wrapping paper between plants, broken wine bottle with all glass on some parking spots.
• Parking spots are sufficiently big to park normal European family car.
• No problem finding a parking spot, but doubts if there is sufficient space in full-season.


Elevators : score : 4/5
• Separate elevators, depending on where you are located, with modern hotel quality degree.
• Elevators are very clean.
• Elevators are very silent, inside as well as outside when waiting.

Corridors : score : 4/5
• Covered by full carpet limiting footnoise.
• No marble or stone risking echo of noise.
• Clean, but not giving the impression to be in higher class hotel, just plain German soberness.

Room : score : 3/5
Room : double.
• Electronic entrance via room card.
• Electronic lightning triggered via room card.
• Very clean but light smell of glue. Gave the impression of recent refurbished room.
• Full carpet covered floors.
• Located at the side of the hotel, facing busy street.
• Insulation :
o Window : Traffic noise penetrates strongly in the room.
o Door/Walls :
 Corridor noise only penetrates faintly into the room.
 Next Rooms noise only penetrates faintly into the room.
• Built-in airco available, with analog temperature setting.
• Bed : stable matrass, pillows slightly soft, standard bed cover (duvet).
• Water heather with coffee/tea/chocolate bags – free of charge.
• Convenient television with sufficiently big screen.
• Extra chair+table.
• Room service available.

Bathroom :
• Bath-shower combination.
• Batch sufficiently big for 1m70 person.
• Separate sink with regular mirror and hairdryer.
• Orange colors in bathroom did not convene with our taste.
• Showergel, other soaps and hairnet available.

Breakfast : score : 4/5
• Buffet style.
• Large choice in types of bread.
• Warm (eggs, bacon,…) and cold different types of salami, ham, cheese available.
• Different cereals available.
• Orange juice, milk, etc. available.
• Different types of tea, hot coco, coffee available.
• Personnel is very friendly.
• Different newspapers available, but mainly German. Very few international (English only) newspapers.
• Breakfast area was well-lit and well decorated.

Breakfast was included in the overnight stay. If not, price/quality ratio is not good (too expensive for what you get : 18 Euro is too much).

Fitness : score : 5/5
• Presence of Bicycle, Running, and Langlauf exercise equipment of professional (Techogym) standards.
If you have a personal heart rate chest belt and similar exercise equipment in your own local gym, you can bring your Technogym USB and perform a full work-out !

Sauna : score : 4/5
• Regretfully we had to look hard for the sauna, it was hidden after a series of doors.
• Separate dressing rooms where you can change clothes.
• Lockers : Separate lockers available.
• Finnish Sauna :
o Convenient size sauna with normal electric heating.
o No towels available.
o Water bucket for moisture increase of air available.
• Showers :
o Regular type showers.
o Showering gel available.

Pool : score : 3/5
• Small to convenient size pool for a hotel of this size.
• Every guest visiting the pool agreed that the water was way too cold, and quit swimming relatively quick because of water temperature.
• Pool area is decorated poorly (no plants or other to make it more inviting).


Bar : score : N/A
Not visited.

Restaurant : score : N/A
Not visited.


¹ : Ratings of this evaluation are subjective and depend only on a personal experience on the indicated date. They are indicative given the described context. The writer cannot be held responsible for an experience not according to above evaluation/rating.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room on the side of the busy street as street noise penetrates in the room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews