We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Centro Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centro Hotel Royal
Ranked #161 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We took a suite for three persons and its size was good. The service isn't really good. They didn't bring tissues and soaps after they're done we had to tell them until they brought us one. There is no fridge or coffee machine .. The room has a small t.v., sofa, and closet. I loved our room because there is a balcony and big windows. There is space to put our bags. Free wifi is available and the hotel is almost 10 minutes away from the cathedral by walking. Around it there are plenty of restaurants and cafes.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    45
    17
    6
See reviews for
19
35
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a very cheap hotel and as cologne was only a one night stay for me I wasn't that fussed and didn't want to spend a lot of money.

The hotel is easy to find about a 10-15 minute walk from the main station and cathedral the check in staff were good our room wasn't ready on arrival but we popped out and back later and check in was pretty quick. The rooms however are very standard and extremely dated it reminded me of a prison camp dull and grey walls with big metal doors. The bed was ok comfortable had a decent nights sleep the shower could do with a revamp as was small and awkward but I can't complain as like I say does what it's purpose is there for. The hotel needs modernising and I think it was starting to happen when we we there as new flooring was going down.

One major compliment I can pay is we had to miss breakfast as we had to leave at 7 but the reception staff kindly made us a packed breakfast to take away which we grateful of and the first time I've ever known a hotel to do that.

I would stay here again but if your after something other than somewhere to sleep wash and get changed I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moses1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through booking.com. The hotel is very close to the hansaring tram/tube station (approx 4 mins walk) and is just the next station from cologne central station (Hbf), and 2 stations away from messe cologne. As we were three person travelling together we booked a triple sharing room, to our surprise, on arrival we were upgraded to a large suite room on the top floor with a huge private balcony. The morning breakfast is not a large spread, and could be improved. Overall would definitely recommend this hotel as it's reasonably priced, good room size, and excellent location close to the city center with many shops, pubs, restaurants nearby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank heemanshuagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were in Cologne for only 1 night and wanted to stay in a budget hotel. This is good option as its 10-15 min walk to Cathedral/Padlock Bridge/City Centre/Koln Train Station. The rooms are warm, basic and small. The beds are a bit soft if you dont have severe back problems then it should be fine. Shower everything in bathroom worked fine, sufficient cabinets. There are restaurants and shop nearby. Breakfast has good options. Staff is very friendly, helpful and guided us on directions to city centre. Cons - no kettle and safe in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel has close proximity with hansaring Station.But please dont go there.The warned us for water dripping in the bathroom and did nt specify the room number. We stayed there for 4 nights in 3 rooms.The next day during check out the claimed 250 Euros without any warning and when asked to explain the threatened to call police, we had our train to catch o couldnt fuss with them, so had to pay and leave. The food was very basic not much choices ...cooked food basically only scrambled eggs or boiled eggs and other choices were tinned fruits, bread, yoghurt, turkey and ham slices for all the days..Due to the K Fair in Dusseldorf we also paid 170 euros per double room and 190 euros for trip room per night in advance.Horrendously expensive for the type of rooms and their service.
Please dont stay in this hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdhivya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

10 - 15 minute walk to central station and cathedral. Hotel was clean but average in all ways. Breakfast was continental, again average to poor. No Bar or other eating facilities and rooms were very hot with no tempurature control, but could open windows. CNN was only english speaking TV channel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Location is great, the continental breakfast is also good. But the third bed is a catastrophe, it is a camp bed with a mattress. When we asked the staff if we replace the room said they would not be able to without bosses in Berlin so far not been at work for several days. In the end, we have added a mattress on the bed and it was just like camping.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerbiaIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Central Hotel am Dom
#206 of 260 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Azimut Hotel Cologne
#41 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#184 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#59 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#48 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Hotel Royal

Property: Centro Hotel Royal
Address: Hansaring 96, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Royal Hotel Am Hansaring)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Centro Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Centro Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing