We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Viktoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viktoria
Ranked #113 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The photos are very misleading. This is a cheap hotel with very cheap furniture, cheap doors. The two little windows in my room are too high for me to look outside.
Their cancellation policy is tough and no wonder why.
I am in this hotel and I want to escape. Escape, yes, I feel in prison.
HELPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Blaise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2007

The hotel is not situated 900m from the Dom as some descriptions might have you believe. The room was fine but the bathroom was very small. The hotel does not look old or classic as shown in the pictures, only some parts do. Overall, the service was good and the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2006

I have just returned from a long weekend at the Christmas markets in Cologne with my mother, We had a twin room on the 2nd floor which was very spacious, clean and in good order. The breakfast was plentiful and restocked right up until they stopped serving at 10am. Cologne Cathedral is a 15/20 minute walk (at a fairly fast pace) down the Rhine which was ideal. I would definatley stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsara4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2005

The reservation was handled efficiently and my room was ready upon my arrival. The reception staff spoke excellent English and offered many different kinds of assistance such as wake up calls, recommendations for restaurants, transportation, etc. They even offered free umbrellas for their guests if it was raining.

The hotel is relatively small and the decorations outside the rooms were good. There was a shoe polishing machine in front of the elevator along with an original manuscript of Johann Sebastian Bach's Brandenberg Concertos. The hotel was formerly a museum of historic musical instruments. Music is the theme of the decorations. There is also a gallery of photos in the breakfast room. Unfortunately, decorations within the rooms were virtually non-existant. It would be a fair description to say the rooms were Spartan. While very clean there wasn't much to look at in the room except for a small TV. There was no art or any sort of decorating in the room. The furniture was minimal. While I had a double room, there was only a single small desk chair in the room. There was not even another place to sit except the bed. The bed was comfortable but there was not even a bedspread. It was just the matress and bottom sheet with a nice but plain feather duvet (covered in linen.) The lack of furniture precluded meeting with a colleague in a room but rather the lobby on the third floor. Reception is on the ground floor, the lobby upstairs.

I found breakfast to be typical of a small hotel in Germany and I found it quite good. It was not an extensive selection but included breads, cheeses, meats, cereal, juices, yoghurt, fruits, jams, honey, etc. Service was prompt and efficient.

The hotel offers no food except for breakfast. Nevertheless there are about 5-6 restaurants a short walk away.

The hotel has high speed wireless internet for 3 Euros per hour as well as a higher but much, much longer time period. I did not need more than an hours. Even on the sixth floor there was sufficient signal that I had not problems connecting to the network.

The hotel is located to the North of the city center, near the Rhine river. While it is within walking distance of the old gothic cathedral, it is a long walk. I took the convenient U-Bahn or subway to the Dom or cathedral and the main shopping area. The closest station is about 2 short blocks away. The main train station is close, about a 4 Euro ride away. The hotel is in a quiet area with little traffic noise, an advantage when one leaves the window open at night.

I will likely stay here again simply because it is extremely close to my office, a 5 minute walk away. In summary, the hotel is clean and the staff efficient and friendly. The outside is decorated well but the rooms are small and bland.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2005

I stayed a night at the Victoria hotel 3 months ago and unfortunately I was very dissapointed.First , the lady at the reception was not friendly at all but I must say her english was ok.The room they gave us was underground and we had to go trought the dinning room to get to our room...which means that the room was very close to the kitchen.
The room vas very simple and did not correspond for a 4 stars hotels.
The bathroom was very small as well.The breakfast did not match as well with a 4 stars standart hotel.
I will not go back to this hotel.

9  Thank fozziesAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MobyDick1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Rheinblick
#86 of 262 in Cologne
59 reviews
Servatius Hotel
#88 of 262 in Cologne
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#34 of 262 in Cologne
586 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#53 of 262 in Cologne
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viktoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viktoria

Address: Worringer Str. 23, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £96 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viktoria 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viktoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viktoria Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing