We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Nearby Hotels
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
57
164
75
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
164
75
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townsmall fansmall squarerestaurants and barsdrag your luggagefloor heatingthe riverexcellent locationto central train stationsmall balconybreakfast roomnoisy at nightam domthe staff were extremely helpfulshort breakhotel locatedopening the window
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Initially, the place looks great : polite receptionist, clean room, nice location in a closed square and very close to the city center.
But then you start to notice the flaws, some of which can't be helped, but some that need to be worked on.
First, the neighbourhood is pretty noisy. Not really a surpeise in the city center, but on a sunday night at 3 am (Flamenco bar next door) and as soon as 8 am? Due to the heat, sleeping with closed windows was not an option (no AC).
Second : breakfast is adequate but nothing more, but hey, what do you exepect for 8€? Much more irritating is that breakfast is supposed to be until 11 am, but they were alreasy cleaning up the buffet at 10:40.
Third point : paying Wi-Fi.
Fourth point : room service owns the place. You will not be able to sleep through their racket. My room didn't have the "Do not disturb"-sign so I was confronted with a guy cleaning the bathroom while I came back from breakfast.
Fifth point : Fire alarm at 6 am sunday morning. Persistent noise coming from somewhere in the hhotel, a few people outside. No extra warning, no safety measures, no explanation afterwards. The message about the nature of the incident was only broadcasted in german and of course, no compensation whatsoever was possible for this not-so-minor incovenience. I shudder at the thought of how things could have gone with something worse than burning bacon ...

There is a positive point however : the hotel has special rates for the public parking (8 €/day) that is less than 100 m away.

If things had been a bit more customer friendly, this review could have been way better, but the lack of respect and the "we don't care" attitude makes it impossible for me to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian_H1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel in Köln in March 2014 and the location is wonderful. It is a very quiet hotel located off a main square, thus you can easily walk to the Dom, along the river, to the Chocolate Museum, shopping, restaurants and it is close to the Haupt Bahnhof, however, if you are schlepping luggage, I would suggest a taxi. It is not too far, but more than a few blocks. Taxi ride was very inexpensive. The lobby is clean and comfortable. There is a lovely little sitting area outside with a little park area in front. The room we had slept 4 (we were 3) and it had a little kitchen and 2 beds were in a separate little room. Very neat, clean, included a little sitting area. The breakfast was included and it was wonderful. Large buffet selection and very good. I give this hotel a 5 rating as it was very nicely priced, good value and excellent location. Front desk staff was very helpful. Allowed us to keep our luggage there for the day while we toured the city. Great stay for us! Would definitely stay here again. Cannot think of anything bad to say about it. It is not ultra fancy and for one night it worked great for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very average hotel in an excellent location. Other than the location, nothing special to write about this hotel. It is very near to the all happening place in Cologne. Average size rooms but not well maintained.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PGPSAMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

When I arrived to the hotel I was surprised how hotel was centrally positioned. Almost the whole city, the Altstadt (Old Town), is pedestrian zone, and the hotel is situated at such place that everything can be visited on foot. In four days of our stay in Cologne we used transport only twice, from and back to the airport. The hotel is outstanding, clean, tidy, the rooms are quite comfortable, bathroom too, there is a mini bar in the room, television (which I never watch and I don't need it), there's really all you need for a pleasant stay. The staff is friendly, breakfast is solid, I do't know what else to say except I recommend it!
Only they would have to to do something about the elevator, it's very small and barely two people and two pieces of luggage can fit in it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellovelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel located in the Old Town of Cologne. Just seconds away from the Christmas Markets. It is also surrounded by bear-houses, bars, restaurants and is just a few minutes walk from the river and other sight seeing attractions.
Hotel itself was nice is located on a little square, which to be honest is required to be sign posted better as it was a little awkward to get to, taxis cant park right out front of the hotel as its closed off to cars.
Breakfast was in the basement but was cool there compared to a few other hotels, which we have stayed at in the past, which have their breakfast room below ground. Food was great and there was plenty to choose from.
Our room was of a decent size and we liked the under floor heating which warmed our room quickly (it was cold out).
The thing about the room we didn't like was that the bed was positioned underneath the window. We had to move the pillows to the other end and sleep away from the window due to the draft.
The other thing that we didn't enjoy was not being able to get a good night sleep, because of the noise coming from other people in the hotel. There was doors banging and shouting from one end of the floor we was on to the other and this was in the early hours of the morning for two of our three nights stay at this hotel.
There was noise from outside of the hotel due to the close proximity of local bars, but this didn't bother us as the noise in the hotel was the main problem.
Was a shame as this is a really nice hotel and would recommend it for people who want to be in the heart of the city and don't want to pay over the top price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews