We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Ranked #39 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We selected this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor. Hotel is very near to the Cologne main station, which is very convenient. We requested for an early check in before our arrival and the hotel was kind enough to accommodate us. Staffs at the counter speaks good English and very polite.
We had a room with a view of the DOM. Room size is big enough and comfortable size. Very clean rooms, fluffy pillows, comfortable beds as well as a good size toilet. Good air conditioning and heater. Security of the hotel is one of the plus point as well. The lift up to the rooms only work with the room card.
Many restaurants to choose from around the hotel area. And the shopping streets are just around the corner. The Rhine River is just a short walk away.
Breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: You may request for rooms that have a view of the DOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gg0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    222
    73
    22
    15
See reviews for
44
128
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here for a convention in town and was able to get room 506 which has the best balcony and view of the Dom. It's the Dom in your backyard. Clean and comfortable rooms with nice air conditioning. The staff is friendly and helpful. You are a small walk to the Dom, Praetorium, Museum Ludwig, Town Center, Aftermarkt, Heumarkt, Rhine river and the Main Centrail Station. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 506 has a wrap around balcony that gives you an amazing view of the Dom while you sit at your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feutzefeutze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Had been to this hotel last year somewhere in August. Dom is visible from your room all the time.. good continental breakfast. Rooms are not big but you get all the required things.
The most important thing is it's near Dom & thats what make it most convenient hotel. Indian restaurant are quite nearby approx 1Km ... a walk of 10 - 12 minutes.
Only problem is of parking. If you are travelling in car... avoid choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: choose rooms on maikn road side. U will get fascinating view of Dom !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PankajIndore_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I selected this hotel based on the reviews on this site. The hotel was great, it was clean, the staff were pleasant and its location is perfect. However its the little things that make a difference that were missing. The hotels location whilst being a benefit is also one of its downfalls. on arrival we found that there is no passenger or bag dropoff parking. I was fully aware that carparking was offsite and was subsidised (it wasn't included in the tariff) so I found a public carpark and parked the car so that I could unload the bags and my passenger. We walked back to the hotel, bags in toe and checked in. I questioned the receptionist about the carparking and was promptly told there was none. I mentioned that I knew it was offsite and subsidised to €8 per day. I was told "Sorry but there is none left". There was no offer to make alternative arrangements, no suggestions and no offer to subsidise the carpark that we actually parked in. The carpark cost over double what we were expecting. Remember their website states that there is ample parking and bookings are not necessary. Not a great start. Ok, so up to the room we go, there is no tea/coffee making facilities, no extra pillows (trust me you will need them) and no Television channels in English. Actually there was one, but it didn't work. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but it was missing the small things that make a place memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbug61u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

in walking distance to central train station,dom cathedral,old town,chacolate museum,rhein riverside and main shopping area and so cologn nice bridge.hotel is very clean with best view of dom from its windows,staff are very kind .there are many beer garden around hotel, i think its location is perfect for a family trip especially with train.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel looked good on the net when we found it, and it matched up to our expectations. Clean room, awesome location; just a quick walk from the Dom - we could see the Dom from our window! The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparksau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Great location: Short walk from station, close to cathedral, close to two of the main Cologne Christmas Markets and a short walk away from the Rhein. Very friendly staff. Nice modern, clean and comfortable room albeit a bit on the small size. Good typical German breakfast in a relaxed environment. Stopped for 3 nights

The Christmas Markets were great with lots of entertainment, food and quality goods. The trip up the cathedral tower is over 500 steps but well worth it. The cathedral guided tour in english was also very good and allowed one to get closer to the shrine of the magi than is otherwise possible. Do walk over the river via the railway bridge and see the padlocks, I estimated that there were 150,000! Brauhaus Sion just around the corner is good for typical German eating and drinking. Cologne is a great city to walk around.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one on the back. Limited view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PairfromThornbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#33 of 261 in Cologne
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#41 of 261 in Cologne
306 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#31 of 261 in Cologne
850 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom

Property: CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Address: Am Hof 38 - 46, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europa am Dom ****Wake up and see I'm in Cologne! From a view of the Cologne Cathedral everyone dreams - you enjoy this exclusive look at us!Located in the heart of Cologne, in the immediate vicinity of the Cologne cathedral, the extensively renovated 4-star Hotel Europa am Dom in 81 rooms, understated elegance, modern comforts (air conditioning, flatscreen TV, wireless) and attentive service.For small break in between loads the open round-the-Clock Bar lounge of the hotel up on a wide selection of drinks and snacks and separate smoking lounge.Whether you come to explore in and around the cathedral city or for a business visit to Cologne, select the Europa Am Dom as the focal point for your activities: main station, fairground and shopping are within walking distance to the airport, the train leaves in 15 minutes.Cologne City GuideWhether as a refuge for a city tour, as a convenient "obvious" place to stay after a concert or theater, or as a "home away from home" for business activities - the three CityClass hotels in the heart of Cologne for every occasion, the ideal choice.Gladly we reserve a table for you in the most beautiful old town restaurants or hearty beer halls or book tickets for the currently trendy musicals and plays. Our professional staff can help you in choosing your shopping or at the "Route Planning" for your excursions into the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityclass Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing