We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa of Spas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mauritius Hotel & Therme
Ranked #124 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Spa of Spas”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What do you do when you are in Cologne, having just seen Chelsea win away in Germany? Visit the Mauritius Hotel and, specifically, the Spa. 5 saunas (one female only), 2 steam rooms, 2 hot tubs, an outside pool an indoor pool. There is an inexpensive restaurant, good, secure changing facilities, amazingly comfortable seats all over the place. If you can't relax there, you can't relax anywhere.

Excellent location in the centre of town. 15 euros for 3 hours (but they don't watch the clock) is pretty good value where I come from. The only downside, ladies and gentlemen, is that clothing is banned in the 'activity' areas.

The Cathedral is worth a visit, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    86
    80
    28
    24
See reviews for
19
86
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed one night at the smaller sister hotel, which was nice, but had free access to the spa at the larger hotel. The spa was just what the doctor ordered! Did not know about the nude bathing, but was not an issue for us. The mineral pools and saunas and foot baths were amazing. Very relaxing, subdued lighting and open late in the evening.

Breakfast at the hotel was very good and healthy.

Room Tip: Find a room away from the street if you want to open your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrothski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have read the reviews of this hotel , however , my experience is totally different.
We were there during the Anuga show , and we picked it up because it was near to the exhibition center.
We had outrageously small rooms not in the hotel itself , but around a whole block of buildings.
You could not move practically.Very dreary, no slippers , no robe , nothing save a shampoo bottle , more of a dish washing liquid , which served for everything.
Luckily I took my soap and everything with me.
I had to close the doors of the shower cabin to reach the toilet.It was almost double the normal price , as all hotels increase the price during the show , but without the spa , it would have been a total disaster.Spa is excellent and well kept.
Reception staff , not friendly at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is a little ways from the Cathedral and main train station but definitely walkable. You can ride the metro and the tram but it's a nice walk through shopping area. I enjoyed the spa in the hotel but wish I would have been given a key to a locker in the spa that I could have kept for my entire stay. I had to pick up a key at the front desk or either leave my room key with them each time I went. The spa was very relaxing and not crowded at all. All of the facilities were kept very clean. My room was huge....there was a divider wall so you had a definite sitting area with a desk on one side and the bed on the other.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent one night here and wished it had been a week. The hotel is centrally located with private parking. Very clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The spa is one of the most relaxing places we've visited. Apart from a few textiles it was a great place to feel comfortable and at ease. If you're in cologne it worth a visit.

Room Tip: Take your own towel, robe and suitable poolside foot ware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnJamesL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We picked this hotel because we were travelling on a motorbike and it offered secure parking.
The parking facilities are very secure.
Huge room, very clean and equipped with all the equipment you could need to assist you during the stay.
Bed very comfortable and large resulting in a great nights sleep.
Staff were helpful, knowledgable and friendly.
We didn't use the spa/sauna/pool so can't comment.
Breakfast had a great range and selection of food but there were a lot of flies which wasn't good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THUMPER553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel is clean. Rooms are nice. Exercise facility minimal. Restaurant OK. The thing that makes it interesting is the spa. The indoor pool is nice, but indoors. The outdoor pool is small, but nice. There are many different saunas with different temps, etc. Several different hot tubs. About 90%+ of the equally divided male and female guests were nude, so if that is an issue this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdebusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cologne
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 260 in Cologne
425 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,302 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauritius Hotel & Therme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauritius Hotel & Therme

Property: Mauritius Hotel & Therme
Address: Mauritiuskirchplatz 3-11, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#42 Business Hotel in Cologne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mauritius Hotel & Therme 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mauritius Hotel & Therme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauritius Hotel And Therme
Mauritius Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing