We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit out of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
Ranked #37 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    605
    248
    52
    22
See reviews for
553
235
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

The hotel was convenient and its breakfast was incredible delicious as same as in the other Novotel hotels. In addition this holtel located at a good place, it was near to the old town and the museums like the museum of chocolate and sport therefore we could reach them on foot. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a nice modern hotel, well located close to the river about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Cologne. The room was well furnished and the sofa bed was already setup when we arrived. Breakfast was especially good in terms of quality and variety - in fact better than some other Novotels that we've stayed at.
Staff were very helpful without exception... they never tired of giving us directions to the various tourist attractions. All in all, a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

As a wheelchair user ,the first thing that counts is the accessibility of the bathroom . In this hotel there is not a roll in shower but a bathtub , so it was not possible to have a shower . the hotel's location is perfect to visit on foot the city . the parking was ok

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheelchair-user1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Standard Novotel which is in a good location.
15 minute walk to Dom. Easy access by nearby bus 132/133 and trams 15 or 16.
Nearby shopping street with bars and restaraunts going towards Clodwigplatz, which has lots of options.

Whenever my family join me in Cologne I always switch to the hotel. You can get good bargain rates during the school summer holidays and Christmas time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas_JK_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We picked this hotel for a couple of days break because they had an offer which was good value. It turned out to be a reasonable choice. It's about 2km south from the city centre along the river and is easily walkable. In terms of location the chocolate museum is about 5 mins walk away and Volksgarten is not too far away. The room was a reasonable size and clean. For me there were two problems with the room. The first is quite personal, I found the bed to be the most uncomfortable I had stayed in for some time, my sleep quality was quite poor. Second I didn't really like the shower. This was combined with the bath which was sort of i-shaped, with the shower in the dot of the i. For me this arrangement meant the shower curtain just kept sticking to me, which was really annoying.

The staff were helpful and polite, and we were able to get a cot for our baby quite easily.

For convenience we ate at the hotel one night. The food seemed fresh and reasonably prepared on the night we ate. Breakfast was the standard buffet, and that was fine.

This was better than the average Novotel,, and it was a reasonable base for sightseeing particularly on the offer we had. Unfortunately there is no free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giraffeoftruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#9 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#15 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
art'otel cologne
#29 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Property: Novotel Koeln City
Address: Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing