We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel not too far away from town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
Ranked #36 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
237 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good Hotel not too far away from town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is another nice and pleasant Novotel Hotel situated along a river. Check in was fast and trouble free and front desk staff English speaking, friendly and professional.

We were given 2 rooms facing the river which was quite nice. Hotel rooms were as usual Novotel standard, clean and comfortable. Didn't use any of the hotel facilities including the restaurants as our objectives were to visit the city. No free wifi in the rooms but 2 computers were available at the hotel lobby for guests to use.

We had a great time walking along the river to visit almost all the Christmas markets in town but had a long walk back to the hotel as we got a bit disoriented when it got dark.

Parking is underground and if I'm not wrong, it cost 12 euro a night. Was given a free bottle of mineral upon check out the next day. Would stay in this hotel again should we visit Cologne the next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    607
    248
    52
    23
See reviews for
555
235
61
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Quite good hotel as good location, good breakfast, good fitness, good parking, good room
the only thing is the system of free internet in the lobby
some people log in more than once after 20 minutes session although other people are queing (including me)
Althoug I made remark of this to them, they ignored me completely

I the did make complaint to staff but staff said they could not help me
actually log in should be based on room / person / time
and if people want an extra 20 min after first session (because nobody waiting) they should get the second log in from reception who can control it at that time

for the rest hotel worth to stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCCCHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Family friendly service as every year,
More information must be given at service desk for bus line time and ticket to have a possibility to use transfert to City center.
Good Internet reservation platform.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

The Novotel Cologne City is not in the heart of the city. The hotel is on the river Rhein 25 minutes walking distance from train Central Station.
It is not more than a 3 star hotel and the staff was not really friendly.
I stayed there in december 2011 and the climatronic in the room was not really working, it was cold in the room the hole time.
There are better hotels in this area: NH Hotel for example, and for the city center hotels in cologne my favorite hotel is the hotel: Mondial am Dom.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMiles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Bartdog continues his travels - this time to meet friends & former work collegues Cologne, & to enjoy the Christmas markets
Having worked in Cologne occasions in the past, i decided it was time to return to the Rheinland city of Cologne, and cathc up with some of my friends. My wife & i stayed in the Novotel hotel on Bayernstrasse. Must admit i took pot luck on this one , but as it turned out i was pleasantly suprised. The Novotel is located right on the north south Cologne main road, which runs parallel to the River Rhein. This is a very busy road, but i have never stayed in a hotel with this amount of effective window sound insulation. No way were we aware of this busy road at any time in our room. Rooms are minimalistic, but are very comfortable. Cable BB is available in the rooms & wifi in the reception. The staff (Bar & reception) were really friendly, and one good point the bar prices are definatley not a "rip off". Having said that breakfasts are - at 16 euros per person, this must be one of the most expensive breakfasts going. No problem though, a short walk into Cologne, and your spoilt for choice - all reasonably priced. The hotel is very close by to the Schocolade museum (chocolate museum) but dont expect a Cadbury word here - its mostly shows machinery works - sorry not many free samples either. There is a small christmas market just outside called the harbour market (used to be the medievel market). Again very friendly atmosphere & plenty of opportunities for the bratwurst & gluvwein. a walk into town however reveals the big markets of the Dom (Catherdral) Heumarket (hay market) Niewmarket (New Market) & the Alt Market (Old Market) The atmosphere in these markets is amazing, plenty of eateries, craft stalls, Gluvwein stops, skating rinks, filled with all ages just enjoying themselves - little or no evidence of any plonkers, out to ruin the fun. If you trvel further afield, try the markets in Bruhl, Bonn & Siegburg - great times in them all. Cant wait to return next year, & will definatley go back to the Novotel>>

Room Tip: I really cant advise on this, but we were on the first floor facing the road - no problem at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We were happy to be back in Köln, in our 'Home-Hotel' ! You could say with a finger-knip
everything is always at your disposal. Persons working everywhere in the Hotel name it
in which position are always smiling, friendly, and ready to help you if you should have a
problem. Amazing breakfest(s) and diner(s) , fantastic win(s)!
W e g o b a c k n e x t y e a r ! ! !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel is a nice quiet hotel which is not too far, walking distance, from the "alt stadt".

The staff is very friendly and all is as to expected at a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BjornvdBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#13 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#11 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#15 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
art'otel cologne
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Property: Novotel Koeln City
Address: Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing