We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it ...”
Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
Ranked #37 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I liked it ...”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed there on a business trip for 3 nights , Just a few miles to city center taxi costs about 7 euros only. You can also walk down to Dom area in 15 minutes. Its a nice hotel to cater for all you needs in a business trip. Rooms are comfortable with satellite tv , minibar , nice bathroom , safe , and an open wardrobe. I have chosen a non smoking to stay which was perfectly clean. Wifi is available ( not free ) and works perfectly .Front office is kind and helpful . Breakfast is as good as it gets in this type of hotel. I haven't used but seen a sport center , sauna on 6th floor looked nice. I would recommend this hotel to any one looking for a good stay. Just dont expect charm and style though.

Room Tip: Non Smoking rooms on 3rd floor was fine for me .. everything worked well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerdarUcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear SerdarUcel.

We are more than happy to read that you have had a nice stay with us. This feedback is important for us and we will share it with our staff.

Thank your very much.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    613
    252
    52
    23
See reviews for
562
238
62
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I spent one night here on a business trip and whilst the wifi is good (had to pay) and the hotel modern it was a bit characterless, but would probably stay there again. The hotel is situated close to the river and about 15 twenty mins walk to the Dom area which is a pleasant stroll in the morning. I didn't eat or drink there I tend to prefer finding a café or one of the german pubs to eat in. So fine for a business trip and not too far from the center but overpriced compared with others in the chain I have stayed in

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear curlew.

Thank you very much for your feedback. For us it is very important to know about the likes and no likes of our guests. We hope to see you again in Cologne.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
508 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I spent 4 days here on a business trip and it was a good hotel but you need to make sure you ask for a non smoking room. My room had a faint hint of smoke but it wasnt bad enought for me to ask for another room. I didnt make the reservations or I would have asked for a non smoking room. My coworker had a room that had a much stronger odor. The breakfast buffett was included with the room and it was pretty good. It offered a large assortment of things so everyone should be able to find something. THe hotel was a little farther away from the city center than I would prefer but it wasnt too far. It is also about 1 mile from the train station. When we arrived there was a bicycle race going on so we couldnt take a cab and we had to walk. A mile is a long way to walk pulling suitcases and after traveling from the US.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidflemingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear kidflemingo.

Thank you very much for your comments here. We are not happy to read about the problems to find the way to the hotel because of the bicycle race. Sorry for that impression.

We hope to see you again in Cologne.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany/UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was a business trip and the hotel was well-situated for that. In fact, the location would also be pleasant for a private trip as it is just across the road from the Rhine. The room was big enough, very clean, with good sound insulation. W-LAN was free (but I couldn't get it to work). There is an underground garage which I think is slightly cheaper than the public car park opposite.

Most of all I enjoyed the breakfast. The restaurant is big and airy, the choice very good and the service pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear ian2109.

Your comments are very important for us. Thank you for taking time to let us know.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is a no-frills 'does exactly what it says on the tin' hotel. Which is probably okay for most people, but I stayed her specifically because it says that it has a gym and sauna. Unfortunately the gym consists of a row of cardio machines that aren't plugged in and don't work properly. Plus the sauna is badly setup so that you can't go there without seeing a naked man that you don't want to see.
The location is good but the road outside is very busy and the rooms are like student digs in that they are highly functional, boring, certainly clean but not at all pretty.

Room Tip: Don't stay here hoping to find a good gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasofitzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Jasofitzo.

Thank you very much for your direct feedback. We say sorry for the bad experience with your stay in our Novotel.
Our target is a satisfied guest. We are very unhappy with the situation you are describe.

We promise that we do everything to offer a bether service at your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

stayed here on a stag weekend and found it adequate for our needs. we didnt spend much time there to be honest,only to have a drink at the bar on our return from the days fun. it was clean,free wi-fi and about a 15 minute stroll into town so it was ideal in that sense,but the beds were pretty uncomfortable and they wanted 16 euros for a continental breakfast,no chance!! ok for a lads getaway,but not if you wanted to treat the wife.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougill88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear dougill88.

Thank you very much for your direct feedback. We say sorry for the bad experience with your stay in our Novotel.
Our target is a satisfied guest. We are very unhappy with the situation you are describe.

We promise that we do everything to offer a bether service at your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I am a regular visitor to Novotel, both on business and holiday trips. Most are great, many are excellent and the level of service has always been commendable. Not so Koeln (Cologne) city. Poor service, which included being kept waiting for over 10 minutes with no staff to perform the check-in preceded a poor room,the first room we were directed to had not been cleaned since the last occupant left! The next room had a poorly cleaned bathroom, with dirty carpet, and scum around all the walls.
The bed was not comfortable and the pillows of poor quality and lumpy. A most uncomfortable night spent by my family. The main restaurant was closed, and a very limited selection of food available in the bar. Not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bluebeam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Dundee.

Thank you very much for your direct feedback. We say sorry for the bad experience with your stay in our Novotel.
Our target is a satisfied guest. We are very unhappy with the situation you are describe.

We promise that we do everything to offer a bether service at your next stay.

Best regards.

Holger Berg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#12 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#17 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
art'otel cologne
#29 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Property: Novotel Koeln City
Address: Bayenstr. 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#28 Family Hotel in Cologne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing