We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great location,but extra payments"”
Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
Ranked #35 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at Novotel whilst travelling through Germany to Munich and found it ideal for location to the Cathedral and town centre (approx 15 min walk)The bedroom was up to the usual Novotel standard of very clean and comfortable as were the rest of the hotel.
The only problems I have with the hotel are the use of Wi-Fi (chargeable of €3 for one hour or €9 for 5 hour and could only use one laptop or ipad at the same time) as I think this should be free for tourists especially with children (free at Novotel Genova and Reims) and €14 for the underground car park (I should have looked at the web before leaving).

Would have to think next time and think of the exrta payments

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear busterSolihull,

we are very happy to read your feedback here on Tripadvisor and we wish you a nice summertime with much positive impressions.

Best regards from Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Koeln City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a nice hotel with great breakfast and nice rooms. However, how can a hotel that claims four stars demand money for WLAN? I just don't get it! Besides, maybe Novotel Cologne should consider a brush-up since carpets look shabby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vintherbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Vintherbottom,

thank you very much for your response. Your feedback will help us to offer the best services we can. WLAN will be free of charge soon in a good quality. We know about the problem of some carpets. Because of that we have to change them in the near future. With the first onces we start next month.
We appologize for the inconvenient and we hope that you give us a second chance.

Best regards from Cologne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while visiting a friend in Koln. Dined in the restaurant which was very nice, and well presented. Staff all very friendly and multilingual which was very helpful. Even ordered me a taxi for my friend to the hotel at 5.30 am. A pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoggath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Hoggarth,

we say THANK YOU for your vote here on this site and we hope to see you again in Cologne.

Greetings from the Rhine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our non-smoking room at this 4 star hotel had an unbearable odour of smoke. Being sufferers of hay fever which is exacerbated by cigarette smoke, we had no alternative but to request another room. When we approached the receptionist she made us feel very unwelcome and scrowled at us at every opportunity. She was rude to the point of being nasty with her colleague in the background pulling faces at us and so we spent the first night with the window open to a noisy main road. In the morning we went back to reception and this time were greeted by an extremely efficient and friendly receptionist who arranged to move our luggage to a new room while we went out sight seeing. This gentlemen is worth his weight in gold Novotel and deserves your congratulations lest our experience with your company be sullied. He truly knows what customer service is and how to treat someone with a real problem. Perhaps you could pay him extra to train the other staff who are in desparate need. Unfortunately he didn't have a name badge but he will know who he is. Bravo for you sir and thank you. By the way, the breakfast is high quality and beds are comfortable. Overall, I think that the 4 star status is a little over the top given the staff when they have such control over your experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building which appear to be most even numbers. If you are iritate...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Louise L.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you wrote about and we will do our very best to offer better services as well.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A clean, child friendly and great place to stay in Cologne. The hotel is ten minutes walk to the cathedral, 5 minutes to the Choclate factory, facing the river Rhine it was great to go for morning walks.... Overall a great choice to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suchali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Aarzu605,

we are very happy to read that you did enjoy your visit in Cologne and the stay in our hotel.
May be we will see you again here with us.

Greatings from the Rhine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I spend 6 nights at this hotel. The food at the restaurant was very good, although a bit pricy as you will find in all hotels. The reception staff was friendly. Breakfast was good but not excellent. They can have a better selection of fruit. The room is average size and would prefer a cupboard than opwn hanging space for my clothes, especially in a 4* hotel. The bed is very uncomfortable with a very thin mattress that is a 100 years old. The shower is very small and uncomfortable. I asked for a flat sheet on the bed because I cannot sleep under a duvet in summer and it was impossible for housekeeping to understand this. I had to ask for a extra sheet every day.

Thank Hennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Hennie B.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you wrote about and we will do our very best to offer better services as well.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Well located, ten minute walk to cathedral and old centre. 
Easily accessed underground parking. Pleasant, airy rooms. Excellent breakfast choice and quality. For a city hotel, very good. 
"Fruh" is a popular restaurant in the centre for reasonable meals

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelicityBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear FelicityBirmingham,

we are very happy to read your comments here. Thank you very much.

Greatings from Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
art'otel cologne
#26 of 261 in Cologne
1,048 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#16 of 261 in Cologne
485 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#22 of 261 in Cologne
575 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 261 in Cologne
1,360 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Address: Bayenstr. 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £71 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing