We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe Choice for Road Trip”
Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you drive into the city, the location is pretty great along the Rhine, easy to find, central with a 15 min walk to alt stadt, and with a convenient parking. The rooms were small for the price (we were in a premium three people room with pull-out sofa bed and could open only 1 suitcase at a time!) and not fully insulated from the street traffic noise. Hotel makes noticeable efforts to welcome families, with a (small) play area for kids and a little toy at check in.
I was not able to try the breakfast buffet as Novotel chose to not honor the promotion I was eligible for, called Early Break if you book 21 days in advance. They blamed it on a rate error (I paid more and did not lock the promotion according to them) and just ended up discounting the breakfast to 10 Euros per person instead of 17. I declined their offer as I was still aggravated by the situation, and 17 Euros for breakfast is grand thief larceny.

Room Tip: Away from the street as traffic gets intense and you can hear some...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpinchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear fpinchon,

thank you very much for you detailed feedback here on tripadvisor. You have talked about the situation about the special rate with our Front Office Manager. We hope that he cleared everything.

May be we can host you again at your next trip to Germany.

Greetings to beautiful California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Koeln City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Overall it's a nice hotel. We had three people so we stayed in a room with a pull-out sofabed that was VERY comfortable. It's a short walk to the tram line that takes you anywhere that you need to go around the city. The room was nice and clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. Prices were a little on the high-side but they were comparable to others on a short notice. Was 10 Euros by cab from the HbF which is easier than taking a bus or subway if you have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toledokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Toledokid,

we are very happy to read your positive comments here. May be we have the chance to hostg you again in Cologne.

Greetings from the Rhine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Went in late September for a hen party. The staff were helpful and the rooms were clean, tidy and a nice decor. Prices were reasonable also for the central location. The breakfast was a rip off at 17 euros but otherwise an amazing stay. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank NSParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear NSParker,

thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to read that you have had a nice stay with us. May be we see you again in Cologne?

Best regards from the Rhine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BrenoRecBR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for a trade fair in Cologne, in September 2013. To start with, the location is badly misrepresented - 'Koeln City' - is a joke. It's at least a 25 minute brisk walk from the centre city, and it's barely on the edge of the metro map. It rained most days we were there, so the walk was really unappreciated. The only public transport is another 5 minute walk away. There is nothing at all in the local area - not even shops.

We found the staff to be completely disinterested - the airconditioning in the hotel was stuck on 'heat' and the whole hotel, including rooms, was set at around 28 celsius. We asked many times for this to be repaired, but just shrugged shoulders in return.

They provide sachets of tea and coffee in the room, but only one type of each. They claim this is their policy - so if two people want coffee, you need more. Then when we rang to get more, we were told to come to reception to get it.

I have stayed at more than 500 hotels, but the lack of concern, coupled with the misrepresented location, made this one of the worst. The staff couldn't give a stuff. Don't stay here - there are so many better options.

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else - for example the Savoy in Cologne is terrific.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnstrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear johnstrahan,

thank you very much for you feedback here. We are very sorry and apologize that you not have had a nice stay with us.
But on the other side we can't understand some details that you wrote here.

Shops and restaurant are just around the corner within 3 minutes to walk. A bus station is behind the hotel within 1 minute. The subway (5 minutes to walk) brings you within 3 station in the city center. Walking distance in the center is around 15-20 minutes.

For the inconvenient you have had with your room we apologize. That is not the normal standard of our hotel.

If you like to contact me you can use my mail H3127-GM@accor.com.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Juanito635
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
art'otel cologne
#26 of 261 in Cologne
1,048 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#17 of 261 in Cologne
484 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#21 of 261 in Cologne
575 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 261 in Cologne
1,358 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Address: Bayenstr. 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#28 Family Hotel in Cologne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £71 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing