We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot on our Tour”
Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
Ranked #34 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fayetteville, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Spot on our Tour”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Room was clean, spacious, and the breakfast buffet was beyond our expectations. We had plenty of space and convenient for walking since river and walking path was across the street. We traveled with a group and check in was handled expeditiously.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Inhaber at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Kristin C,

thank you very much for your kind feedback here. We are happy to see, that you have had a pleasent stay with us and we hope, you will choose our hotel again when you plan your next trip to Cologne.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    633
    261
    54
    25
See reviews for
581
244
62
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Your usual budget business hotel, except it was expensive and even more sparse than one would expect. The food was average to poor, the rooms were poor, the bathrooms poor, and the service was acceptable. I am confident there are better options within the same budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear David W,

thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenient you got. All our rooms have the same design and style. We are very sorry that you did not like it.
If you visit Cologne again, please contact us and we will recomment you some other hotels from our company between 2 and 4 stars.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Novotel in Cologne, while on business. This hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. I had a rental car on this trip and parking space was ample and easily located in the basement.

Check-in process was quick and efficient. I received a room on 2nd floor and even though I was just on second floor, I hardly heard any street noise. Wireless access was fast and free. I was easily able to make VoiP calls via wireless through my entire stay.

Breakfast was just fine with a wide assortment of food. I didn't try the restaurant for dinner so I can't speak to that. The bar area was accessible and active in the evenings with dozens of guests enjoying evening drinks.

My room was clean, though the bed was a little more firm than I desired, but that's purely a taste thing. The AC worked well and kept room clean on 25C days. The bathroom was fine, though a little small.

So overall a good experience and would visit again. My only negatives about the hotel were that I needed to go to front counter to get parking ticket validated to exit. At times in morning, the check-in/check-out counter can get quite busy adding about 5 mins of time before I can get my parking ticket validated. I also was unable to find a vending machine. Maybe it was there and I missed it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank N231SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear N231SD,

thank you very much for your kind feedback here. We are happy to know that you have had a pleasent stay with us. We hope to see you again in Cologne in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Late arrival so didn't dine, too late to order a proper packed breakfast, and out early so only managed to grab a couple of rolls to go, as wife running late and train for Brussels wouldn't wait.

Standard City hotel, we had a superior room which was quite spacious until you got to the bathroom which was tiny by comparison. Nothing luxurious, quite plain and Spartan. Free internet for half an hour (?) at a time if you haven't got WiFi like me. Ten minutes in the taxi from the Cathedral and the Station and across the road from the river.

Room Tip: Road outside is busy, probably need a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear jj-the-jetsetter,

thank you very much for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. For the inconvenient you have had we apologize. But we can't understand your comment about the Wifi. This is free of charge all day long and not for only 30 minutes.

We hope you will choose us again when you come back to Cologne so that we can use our second chance.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In many part of Wales, there are railway stations which call themselves "Someplace Road". After a while, you get to understand that really those places are not in "Someplace", but are indeed on the road to Someplace, and to get to that Someplace it is going to be a bit of a hike.
The Novotel Koln City has educated me that the same logic applies to hotels: whilst the hotel is indeed within the boundaries of Koln, it is a good 30 minutes walk from the Dom - although the local transit stop is probably within 10 minutes.
The hotel itself is fine. My room was *massive*, certainly the biggest I've been in for a while - a pair of binoculars were necessary to watch TV whilst in bed. The bathroom was a bit tired: works well, but the plastic bath/shower combination was somewhat yellows with age.
Also the room suffers from the belief that hot water is only required to be delivered at dribble speeds: at the price charged, well over a hundred quid a night, better is expected.

[Slight error in the above: for "hot water" read "internet access". But in this day and age, decent speed of both is needed in the standard price of a room.]

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear RobLeamingtonSpa_UK,

thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenient you have had. But we also wondering a little bit. The bus stop who brings you direct to the man station, DOM or shopping streets, stops around a 2 minutes walk behind the hotel. To reach the city center by feet is around 15 minutes and the DOM 20 minutes.

We hope you will visit us again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabriz, Iran
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

According to other German hotels that i have stayed , this is a real four start and typical Novotel hotel with big rooms(superior) and with coffee machine, big enough for families of 3 people.

Pros:
-Location is very good , almost 500m on the right side to Uberring U-Bahn (for going to night life place at Zuelpicher str.) and 900m to on the left side Severinstr. S-Bahn station(for going to HBF and exhibition)
-Room was big and clean
-Breakfast is pretty good
- Well stocked free minibar (2 sparkling water, 1 big regular water, 2 Apolonis sparkling juice,2 Bitburgers and chips, chocolates)


Cons:
- bathroom looks medium size but while moving in it you may hit to furniture it seems that bathtub designed not well for the size of place and location of toilet may be unreasonable.
- No slippers
- floor carpet looks very old
-No tooth brush/paste

Room Tip: Try to book Superior room which is bigger with free minibar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Babak1972,

thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We will share your comments with our staff. We hope you will visit us again in near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lobby and restaurant are fine, but the rooms are very poor: bathroom is very tiny and the furniture is minimal. The bed is little and the mattress is not comfortable. TV and water boiler are old. Few bags of tea and coffee. Towels are thin and not soft. Breakfast is ok but too expensive. I have been there twice and both times had the same impression.

Room Tip: choose a room that faces the courtyard; the street side is too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISALITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear LISALITE,

thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the impression you've got about our rooms. The mattrasses are new, just a couple of month 'old'. We are planning at that time a refurbishment of the room and bathroom. We hope to do so in the near future.

Best regards from Cologne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
art'otel cologne
#26 of 261 in Cologne
1,040 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#22 of 261 in Cologne
566 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#15 of 261 in Cologne
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#17 of 261 in Cologne
1,345 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Property: Novotel Koeln City
Address: Bayenstr. 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing