We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service to be improved”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
Ranked #36 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service to be improved”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been for a five days family journey and the hotel has a comfortable rooms for small children. Unfortunately the service in particular from waiter Fr. Müller needs to be improved, being less arrogant and without so very bad manners. On the other hand, reception clerks and other waiters try to make your days as better and friendly as possible

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zamarriegot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear zamarriegot,

thank you very much for your feedback that you also forwarded to me direct to me after check out. I would like to apologize for the bad impression you got about on of our staff. We will talk with here when she is back in the hotel this week. I will come back to you by mail soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    607
    248
    52
    23
See reviews for
555
235
61
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very nice breakfast. Hotel very dog friendly. Polite and helpful staff. Great location. Enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to staying at the hotel again. Excellent car park, very secure. Hotels near catherdral





Room Tip: Could have more selection of hot drinks in room. More vegetarian choices for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Asha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Asha R,

we say THANK YOU for your great feedback and we will share your comments with our staff.
See you again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

There's nothing special to this hotel, but it was good for the night we were there. The staff were nice, the room was average & breakfast was adequate. We walked about 10-15 minutes to find some restaurants, but it was a nice walk along the river. Parking is underneath the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani8369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Dani8369,

thank you very much for your kind feedback. We hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Best regards from the Novotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel was easy to find and has secure underground parking. Location on old wharf that is now converted to office and apartments. Room was a good size for 3 adults. Breakfast is well worth opting for, bags of choice and you will not be disappointed.
Generally staff were great apart from one day at breakfast when staff were surly and ill mannered, we put this down as a one of as the other days the team were fantastic.
Ideally situated for chocolate museum and about 30 minute stroll to the cathedral, great eateries within 15 minute walk (search via trip advisor).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear StuartM,

it makes us happy to read your feedback. Thank you very much and also sorry for the inconvenient you have had at one day with breakfast time. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards from Cologne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel area, location and value for money good. Our room was on the rear of the building on the top floor and found it to be nice and quiet. Overall was pleased with the stay on what I paid & would return again at the right price.

In my opinion the below are areas that this hotel could be better:

-No welcome as Le Club Accor platinum member and no free drink offered
-Breakfast was adequate but found hot items to be a little cold on both days.
-Hotel bar understaffed, tried each night to get a drink and gave up as one person struggled to serve a handful of people in the bar area
-Air con turned off both when I got into the room and then again turned off again after the maid service had been in

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear copleycop,

thank you very much for your feedback and the detailed informations. We apologize that you did not get your free drink as a Le Club Accor Hotels Platinum Member. Please be so kind and contact us with your reservation detail by mail to h3127-gm@accor.com. We would like to check the situation and benefit you.

Thank you very much and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for one night and found everything working, and in the right place. The bathroom was a little small, but all was clean with comfy beds. Parking is underneath, views are good, and the hotel generally gives a spacious feel, with decent decor. Everything is clean and I can't fault the check in and check out. Breakfast was abundant with good quality food.

Room Tip: River views are on the front of the hotel. Don't forget to get a ticket before going to your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceDove2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear AliceDove2012,

thank you very much for your feedback here. We will share your comments with our staff and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Best regards from Cologne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

As other Novotels, this offers clean and fairly new / newly-revamped interior, and are kid-friendly. Location is decent. It's easy to walk to the city centre (Kölnerdom), but it might be a bit too long and too many streets to cross for others. For those, there is a tram/metro stop a few blocks away. There are also few shops and cafes in the immediate area, but we found a gem (Rheinau) just behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear TPost,

thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are happy to read that you have had a good time with us.

Best regards from Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#13 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#11 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#15 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
art'otel cologne
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Property: Novotel Koeln City
Address: Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing