We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castles, castles, castles”
Review of KD Day Cruises

KD Day Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.76*
and up
Rhine River Cruise to Königswinter with Sea Life Visit or Drachenfels Cliff
More Info
US$12.42*
and up
Cologne Sightseeing Cruise
More Info
US$28.24*
and up
Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: KD, the White Fleet of the Rhine, is the most experienced river cruise company in the world. With a history going back more than 185 years, KD is the only shipping company to run daily services along the entire stretch of the Rhine between Cologne and Mainz. On the Romantic Middle Rhine between Rüdesheim, the Loreley in St. Goar and Boppard our modern ships cruise the whole year round. The 14 ship strong KD fleet gives guests a choice of countless ways to enjoy the sights.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Castles, castles, castles”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

You can use a German Rail Pass day so that you can ride the boat for free. Getting on the boat at Mainz at 8:45 is the only way you can make it the entire journey to Cologne in one day. Getting on at Mainz means you get your choice of spots as well because many people do not board until later (there isn't much to see for about an hour). After Koblenz there isn't very much to see so it might not be worth going past that location.

You can bring luggage onto the boat. On the lowest level below the steps there is luggage storage but it isn't locked so use at your own risk. You cannot bring luggage into the dining room but you can bring it to the very top deck if you don't want to leave it unattended. There is some small snacks available on the top deck, and the food in the dining room is good but can be expensive for some items. The dining room (even when it's not busy) can take quite a bit for you to get food at- it took my brother 40 minutes to get a bowl of pasta with the dining room only having about 7 tables with people at them.

If you want to make sure people don't jump in front of you to take pictures sit on the right side of the boat (leaving Mainz) along the railing as more is on the right then on the left.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank wonderguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    71
    27
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Rhine cruise”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Took the boat at Mainz in early morning going downstream. Fortunately, got good seats before it got crowed a few stops downriver. Views of castles were spectacular. Snacks were available on board. Got off boat at Koblenz, had lunch and took train back to Mainz in time for evening meal. Could have taken some time ashore at a few of the small villages.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, CA
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hindsight is 20/20”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Purchased two KD Rhine day passes. Dock in Cologne is in the Rheingarten, between Hohenzollern and Deutzer bridges. We had planned to travel from Cologne to Koblenz the first day but didn't realize the boat turns around in Linz. Got off in Linz and took the local train to Koblenz where we spent the night. Booked on TravelToe.com for 31 euro per person per day pass. I see in another review that you can book directly via international phone call for less. Hindsight comes in here because the scenery from Cologne to Linz really isn't very interesting so in hindsight, I would have only used the KD Rhine day pass from Koblenz to Mainz. The scenery along the Rhine between Koblenz and Mainz is spectacular, filled with castles, quaint towns, old fortresses, etc. Food on the boat was very good. It is a long day of sailing but was quite interesting the second day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank BoydChicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great trip up the rhine”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

took the KD Boat from Mainz to Koblenz. Got the 8:45 am in mainz with very few people. Had breakfast ( scrambled eggs and local ham) on the boat before it got crowded. Saw all the World Hertiage sites from the top deck as more and more people got on. Many got on in Bachrach and then off in Rudesheim. Got to Kobelnz by 2:10 pm with enough time to take our bags to the hotel, go to the train station and go back to Marksberg castle for the 5pm tour. Could have done the same short train trip to any of the villages along the route. Saw the whole world Hertiage site and marksberg all in one day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cruise from Cologne”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were in Cologne over the weekend so this was an obvious choice. It was a lazy day cruising from Cologne to Linz with an option of getting off and going exploring at the stops along the way. Although we were not told about our surroundings at all times we were told of Castles and other attractions of importance. Got to see what was left of the Liberation bridge and some beautiful fairytale castles. The boat has a lift so is easy accessable for wheelchairs and prams. If you are going to sit on the deck plenty of sun block. Although we brought our own water and cooldrink we made good use of their catering on board. If you have time do this

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KD Day Cruises also viewed

 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Konigswinter, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to KD Day Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing