We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel near station and Dom”
Review of Brandenburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandenburger Hof
Ranked #77 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A good hotel near station and Dom”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived by train , just a 4 minute walk from Koeln Hbf, we could leave our bagage and check in later.
The Hotel is in a quite street near the station.
The rooms are clean and large enough, good (hard) beds and a bathroom with shower and toilet. Complete with soaps etc and hairdryer.
We had a good nights sleep and in the morning a very good breakfast with fresh fruitsalade and plenty of lovely German ham etc..
An alarmclock would be handy and it might be a good idea to open the window once in a while to get some fresh air, you could smell the old tobacco smoke. This is a good hotel with friendly staff in a good location.

Room Tip: a room at the back might be a good idea in the wekend, there is a pub opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    103
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
67
40
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hotel is appr 5min walk from train station, close to river and Dom. good places to eat near by. excellent breakfast with lots of good coffee. Staff very helpful my suitcase handle had broken and they lent my husband a tool kit to fix it, Beds good and not noisy at night.

Room Tip: No elevator so if trouble with stairs let them know.. We emailed them about our late arrival and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wawa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This review is late.

We stayed in Dec 2012 on a road trip from Munich. We had trouble looking for reasonably priced hotels and was happy to find this that had private parking and near the center of town. As you may know, local hotels in the city center seldom have private parking. That being said, the private parking was good for only 4 cars. So we arrived early just to make sure we get to park.

The hotel has no lift and the stairs are narrow. So we left our luggage in the car, and only took we we needed for the 2 nights stay. Bathroom was tiny, room was also small, no space for the luggage anyway.

Breakfast was good.

If I were to visit Koeln again, I will still stay here because of the good value rooms, free private parking, relatively good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Brandenburger Hof from 14 - 19 Feb 2013. We chose it because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a quiet location ideally situated for getting around central Cologne on foot. About 5 minutes from the Cathedral and start of pedestrian shopping areas, 20 mins from chocolate museum or zoo. The family (owners) and staff are most welcoming, informative and helpful. English, Italian and French are spoken. The breakfast is bountiful with a wide range of good quality food. Our room was not over large but the en-suite was immaculately clean. Would happily stay there again if visiting Cologne. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank R5Bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel weekend 1st/2nd February. Booked after positive reviews on Tripadvisor.
Pros. Great location (about 5 minutes walk from the main station) and in a quiet street. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Good value at 70 euros for a double room (with tv).
Cons. Although the bathroom was small it was immaculately clean and seems recently refurbished, however the shower water pressure was poor.
I liked this hotel which is conveniently placed in the centre of Cologne which is a really nice city.
(Having travelled reasonably widely in Germany,it has gone straight to my number two spot behind Munich.)
Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had room 13 on the first floor which faced the rear....very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wood-burners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked this hotel because it was close to the Cologne Central Railway, but it turned out to be a really great find! The room was comfortable and really soundproofed, and the breakfast was lovely with lots of nice things to eat. The staff were all really helpful and knowledgeable and the Hotel was indeed very well placed in central Cologne. Would recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey-mummikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for a night at Brandenburger Hof in June 2013. Seeing as we were traveling by train, and were only in Cologne for one night, we wanted a place that was centrally located. We couldn't have asked for a better location. Although the rooms were a bit sparse (no tv/phone), they were clean and comfortable. Perhaps one of the best parts of staying at Brandenburger Hof was the buffet breakfast. It was one of the largest we saw our whole time in Germany! If you are looking for a place close to the train station/major sights, I would recommend checking Brandenburger Hof out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TACK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#27 of 260 in Cologne
343 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#31 of 260 in Cologne
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#73 of 260 in Cologne
191 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#117 of 260 in Cologne
280 reviews
Hotel Weber
#87 of 260 in Cologne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandenburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandenburger Hof

Property: Brandenburger Hof
Address: Brandenburgerstrasse 2-4, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandenburger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brandenburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandenburger Hof Cologne
Brandenburger Hof Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing