We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good”
Review of Thai Haus

Thai Haus
Ranked #166 of 2,416 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Neustadt-Süd
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Myself and work mates have been in the area for 2 weeks. We had a positive experience with the food of Thai huas, service was a little slow, but expected due to busy days.
Have heard only good comments from work mates who have been there also.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMIR_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great tasty food from Thailand”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I have been two times the last 2 week to Thai Haus.

Food is extremely good, tasty, a lot of flavours, spicy but not too hot.
I had meal with 3 spices and 2 spices, they were not burning the mouth, they were full of flavours.
Atmosphere is warm and you feel welcome.
Restaurant is relatively small so, you better make a reservation.

Prices are more than reasonable.

Went with a team and everyone enjoyed.

Would go there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XavierMelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagnola, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I too was transported to Bangkok!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I was skeptical about one of the previous reviews that talked about being back in Bangkok. Wow was I wrong to be skeptical. I had the duck in red curry. The flavors and the way the duck was cooked instantly reminded me of Bangkok too. Rarely do you find a restaurant outside of Thailand that makes food like this with all the proper ingredients and style of cooking the meat. I have been to Thailand quite a few times and I have eaten at a lot of Thai restaurants all over Europe. This place ranks right up near the top for Thai restaurants in Europe.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a very pleasant evening. The staff were very courteous, the surroundings were nice and the food was very good. I don't know much about Thai food, so I can't judge how authentic it is, but it certainly fulfilled our taste expectations. We came away after soup, two starters, salad, two mains (the duck was better than the lamb, but both were very good) and quite a lot of beer for 67 euros, which I thought was pretty reasonable. The soup (chicken with lemon grass) was best.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tones67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cold, Grey German Winter Weather Outside but inside with the first taste of my food, and I'm in Bangkok!”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Rarely do you find the tastes of real Thai food made with real Thai ingredients like kaffir lime leaves, galangal, Thai basil, etc. This restaurant does it right. I had a wonderful Shrimp lemongrass and coconut soup, a Thai beef salad that was lusciously flavorful with a nice hot tang to it. All the food was exceptional. I heartily recommend Thai Haus to you. If you are staying at the Barcelo Hotel, it is right across the street for you!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Limulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Haus also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Thai Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing