We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonata Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hyatt Regency Cologne(Cologne)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
13
51
32
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
51
32
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationshopping districtminutes walking distancelarge roommain train stationbreakfast was includedold townvisiting colognereceptionisteuro
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Its location is very central, just 10 mins walk from the train station and Dom. Close to the shopping streets, and a few restaurants nearby, or 10 mins walk to the river front. Buffet breakfast included was not too bad, hot or cold, but cold looked the best with cereals, toast, fruit and yoghurt.

Price was ok for 2 nights. Single room was a good size. Bathroom was neat and tidy. Only down side was the room was very hot during the hot weather they have in August, and there was no fan or air cond. The window opened, but the street was noisy from quite early in the mornings. The free wifi was crappy, worked very slowly, and sometimes not at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Rooms are not pretty, but large and bright though. Clean hotel, beds ok, perfect location for tourists (town center, quiet at night). Simple breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed at the Sonata Hotel for three nights and on the whole it was very good and the location was superb, however when we went to check out the receptionist tried to bill us for two movies that we had not watched. After a long discussion she finally agreed not to charge us but clearly thought that we were liars because "the computer said we had watched them for more than 2 minuets".
This spoiled what was nearly a perfect stay so if you stay here be warned!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukmktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in December 2008, visiting the Christmas markets and doing a little Christmas shopping. The hotel is actually in a fantastic location, it's literally a couple of steps up a side street off the pedestrianised shopping area. Advantage being that it's quiet and also that a taxi can get right up to the front door of the hotel, but you're still right in the thick of things.

The room was great, more than adequate for two adults, with plenty of space. A little sparse but all we needed was a bed each and a bathroom, there was a wardrobe, a minibar, and a TV on top of a very high cupboard (you could only use the remote if you stood on the bed and pointed it at the TV, but we didnt go there to stay in the room anyway, so it didnt matter). The bathroom was fine, no bath, but a decent shower & basin, loo etc.

Breakfast included was ok - first day there was lots of fruit, but not available on 2nd two days. Always something to eat though, so did the trick.

The door of the hotel was right opposite the back door out of the mens dept in C&A, less than a minute away, so I would use this hotel again purely based on it's fantastic location. If you're shopping, seriously consider this place.

The staff were pleasant and friendly, left us an extra couple of pillows when we asked, although they couldnt get the radiator working, said they were waiting for a 'college' to come & fix it.. !

Not cheap, but a good basic accommodation in a really great location.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Went to Cologne to visit the Xmas markets and picked this hotel for its location,all in all everything was excellent. It is a no frills hotel, ie no bar no restaurant but the rooms and the breakfast are great and everything is on your doorstep, places to eat,bars the Xmas markets, the Rhine, the wonderful shopping area. Well worth a visit at this time of year and would love to go back next year just to soak up the great Christmas atmosphere. Highly recommend their 'Gluwhine' lovely winter warmer of a drink.
Cologne would be a lovely place to visit no matter what time of year but if you just want to get into the Christmas spirit this is the place to go and this is an excellent hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews