We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in order not be too far from the city center..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Ranked #25 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersGold level
Michelfeld, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
“The perfect place to stay in order not be too far from the city center..”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Spent a very nice weekend at the Radisson Blu Hotel. Very close to the Lanxess Arena, if that is your place of choice to go to a sporting event or concert. The tram is a brisk 90 second walk away from the hotel. And for all you trade fair people the hotel is practically at your doorstep being across the street from the tram stop. My wife and I had a very nice time in Cologne, and that was very made very accessable by the Radisson Blu. The room was very comfortable and the staff friendly. My wife and I cannot wait to make a return trip to Cologne, because the Radisson Blu will be our destination for our hotel stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter John M.,

Wir wissen es zu schätzen, dass Sie sich die Mühe machen, unser Hotel hier bei tripadvisor.com zu bewerten.

Ich möchte mich im Namen des gesamten Personals hier im Radisson Blu Hotel bei Ihnen für Ihren Besuch bedanken und freue mich sehr darauf, Sie erneut bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen, wenn Sie sich wieder in der Gegend aufhalten sollten!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Köln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    570
    172
    56
    28
See reviews for
131
410
67
531
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The hotel itself is very nice, clean, with big spacious and comfortable rooms.

3* not because of the location (which we knew about in advance, however it is quite far away from Central Cologne in a very built up business park) but the staff were not great. We booked a double room but were dissappointed to find that this constituted pushing two single beds together (albeit we had to ask for this to be done). The staff claimed there was nothing that they could do, and stated that whilst Radisson Blu offered a double room, it didn't in fact have any double rooms. There was no effort to apologise and we were treat as if we should have known this......

I would also advise you to head into Cologne at the start of the day....€25 for breakfast seems VERY steep!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger_bob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Radisson Blu Cologne as destination hotel for your last trip to Cologne.

We regret that you did not feel most comfortable during your stay with us and were not satisfied with the room provided.

All guest comments are most welcome and carefully read as they help us in pinpointing strengths and weaknesses in the hospitality we offer. Therefore I shared you feedback with our senior management in order for improvement.

We are hoping to get another chance to earn your business.

Kind regards

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Radisson Blu Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed at the Cologne Radisson Blu for 2 nights to enjoy the city and a concert in the nearby Lanxess Arena. I booked the hotel via the Radisson Blu homepage including a special offer for an upgrade to a Junior Suite if available upon arrival.
The hotel is located next to the Cologne trade fare park and the Lanxness arena where concerts and sport events are held almost daily is also within 10 minutes walking distance.
Not more than 300m from the hotel you can take the city tram or bus to go on the other side of the river Rhine and into the inner city.
The hotel offers a nice wellness area with massages.
The rooms are of good size and offer good comfort. In the business class levels also free WiFi is included as well as free choice of Nespresso Coffee coming from a proper machine in the room.
The breakfast buffet offers a tremendous choice of food in the morning. Unfortunately the restaurant can become to small pretty quick if the hotel is booked to a large extend. Even then the service staff worked quick and efficient but always with a smile. Unfortunately some guests started disappointed arguments with other guests or some staff as they were not able to find a place to sit down, because to many people came at the same time for breakfast. This was the only negative bit I can tell about the breakfast.
Included in any business package was a 50% discount for the parking garage which made the hotel even more comfortable as it is also not too far away from the Autobahn crossing Cologne east offering exit to all directions.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room to the inner yard of the hotel, so it is guaranteed that no traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XO_621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Cologne, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dera XO-621,

we sincerely appreciate your feedback on tripadvisor and are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies that the breakfast restaurant was very busy during your stay. We usually have fluent proceedures when it comes to a booked out situation and open a second breakfast room to our guest, however we regret that it has been so busy during rush hour.

We would be very happy to welcome you back in the near future andwish you a great christmans season.

with kindest regards,

Nicola Thomas Grupp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

We have just arrived back from 4 nights in cologne staying at the Radisson Blu and I honestly say that this hotel is fantastically run! We arrived at 730pm on a Friday night and we were in our room less than 5 minutes later. The room was gorgeous and the bathroom was to die for! It was clean and luxuriously decorated with a rainfall shower and beautiful bath! The bedroom was really well set out, comfortable and warm! We had booked for b&b and the breakfasts were fabulous! Fresh hot and well prepared! You could even ask the chef to make you an omelette to your own specification!! Just great!

The hotel itself is a 15 minute walk from the Dom or a 2 minute tram ride away. We really enjoyed walking over the bridge morning and night and had a padlock engraved to put on the bridge too!! I would recommend going to the Christmas markets and to the zoo!!!! Overall cologne really is a wonderful city with lots to see and do

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dolphinlover85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Cologne, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Dolphinlover85,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with other travellers and us. We have been delighted to welcome you.

We will share your experiences with our team and will let them know what a great job they have done.

Whenever you come back to Cologne, we would love being your host again!

Thank you and kind regards,

Nicola Thomas Grupp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I usually write reviews when I'm gladly surprised or disappointed. In this case I was quiet disappointed:

The room was terribly cold. The thermostat did not seem to function on the temperature settings. When we called the reception they said that "it's normal and the only way to warm it's to switch it off in order to get at the hotel temperature (which was quite warm)". Therefore in the morning we switch it off and when we came back the room was still cold!
Spa: I usually like to book hotels with spa. In their brochure it is written that there is a "diving pool" which in reality it' some sort of cold tube for after sauna. I found the description misleading
Parking: I expect that when we book hotels far from downtown we can have parking for free but it was not the case and it is quite expensive (something like 18 euros for 12 hours !)
Location: far from the center
Good points: The hotel is nice, the food tasty

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Cologne, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Francesco Z,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences about our hotel and regret that you did not fully enjoyed him

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne we apologize for the concerns you raised.

It seems that there was a misunderstanding in regards to the temperature control in our rooms. As a part of our responsible business initiatives within our hotel chain, the so called Green Key programm, all of our rooms have been supllied with special key card master switch function, which controls the entrire electricity in the rooms. The key must be inside in order to start the heating system. I sincerely regret that we provided you with wrong information about that.

Our diving pool is only designed to refresh after using one of our two saunas and swimming is not possible in there. We will re-consider the an ever clearer description on our web site, however diving pool is the official one.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nicola Thomas Grupp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Excellent business hotel (great for touristy trips too), with its location near the Messe, Cologne's convention centre and in walking distance to Köln Deutz train station (Cologne Central is a hop by train across the bridge - you could even walk it; great walk on these impressive bridges). Pleasant check in (great lobby design, Scandinavian accents, browns, blacks, wood tones - as in the room), quick and unfussy. Given two key cards without even asking for them. Room over the lobby (652), nice size, has everything it needs. Bathroom fine, if somewhat small with a shower which was too low for me (no possibility to move shower head up, just one position). Bathroom floor made of nice and warm non-slippery material. WiFi (quick and simple access) and minibar in room - both worked well. ;>) WiFi considerably cheaper than minibar. Didn't have breakfast. The joy of this hotel: perfection. Everything in this hotel works and worked well. Not a single complaint, however small. Looking forward to coming back, hopefully to enjoy the room for a bit longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Cologne, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear TaxiFaber,

we sincerely appreciate your wonderful comment on this website. Be assured that we will share your feedback with our entire team and thank you kindly for sharing your experiences with other travellers.

I is a pleasure to read that we have convinced you of our service and look very much forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicola Thomas Grupp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Chose this hotel as start and finish of marathon only 500 yards away. Guess it's normally a business hotel but room was perfect for family. Bit far out for normal tourism but knew this when booked. Service and food excellent, bed comfy. Only gripe was extortionate price for breakfast, but I imagine most people staying here are on corporate expenses. Would stay here again if running marathon, but would stock up on food for race day breakfast in advance!!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Cologne, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Ben,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel here at TripAdvisor.com regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Sascha Benoit
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,394 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,090 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 261 in Cologne
1,657 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#29 of 261 in Cologne
692 reviews
art'otel cologne
#26 of 261 in Cologne
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Address: Messe-Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cologne
#7 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#26 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from the historical city center, this hotel in Cologne stands directly opposite the Koelnmesse trade and fairgrounds and just 100 meters from the nearest tram station. Guests enjoy easy access to the airport, business destinations like Lanxess Arena and many cultural attractions. The 393 soothing rooms include desirable amenities like heated bathroom floors, video on demand and high-speed, wireless Internet. Enjoy the Super Breakfast Buffet at Pronto! Restaurant, or unwind with a cocktail at Paparazzi Lounge Bar. Travelers appreciate a fitness center and can take advantage of on-site parking for a nominal fee. The hotel offers 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 250 delegates class-room style and up to 1,500 attendees for stand-up events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing