We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne
Ranked #26 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 August 2007

The Radisson SAS is excellent value. We paid €80 per night, including breakfast (booked through [--]). The room was comfortable, nicely decorated and clean. The same goes for the bathroom. I disagree with a previous review that the furnishings were tired or dirty, this wasn't the case at all. We requested a non-smoking double room with seperate beds and got this, with a nice few of the garden area. The breakfast is good and what you would expect of such an hotel. The lounge is comfortable with sitting area's and the bar in the center. There is also a nice outside sitting and lounging area, with a few sun loungers too.

Do not let the location deter you. It certainly isn't a 1/2 hour walk in to the center. It's about 2km and will take you about 15 minutes. The walk over the bridge is quite nice! There is also an Ubahn stop just outside the hotel, with excellent and frequent connections into the center. The Ubahn runs all night, but after 11-ish the trains go less frequent. A taxi from the center tio the hotel will cost you around €9 / €10.

I'd definetly stay here again and do recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Iara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2007

As far as ultra-modern elegance, the hotel is designed with a calmbing-darkened ambience, with some "uber modern" twists, such as the lobby bar, sourrounded by a curtain. althogh extremely modern in design, the hotel gives a very calmbing and elegant feel. the fountain restaurant had a pleasant atmosphere, and the breakfast was good.
as far as the room, i wasn't extatic. there are much nicer rooms in the neighbooring sofitel hotel, but sill, the rooms were clean,large and spacious. the WC was terrific, with an incredible jet-steam shower which was absolutely amazing.
the hotel is just a couple of walking steps away from the adjacent koeln-messe tram station, which is exactly 7 tram stops from the neumarkt, the heart of cologne city center.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We were slightly apprehensive about the location of the hotel having read some of the reviews however the transport links are excellent. There is tram stop right outside the hotel along with a main train station and underground about 5 minutes walk away.
The ticket machines are a nightmare though and we did end up having to ask for help although the day tickets (9.30 Euros) for up to 5 people are good value. A taxi back from the city centre was around 10 Euros.

The hotel itself is clean, and bright. We got a non-smoking room as asked for. The shower is great although the shower screen doesn't stop most of the water going on the floor! The room itself is pretty standard, but clean and large.

The staff were all very helpful and polite. In particular however, was Piero in the bar. He went out of his way to help with tips for places to visit and assistance with travel, finding maps etc.

Would we recommend the hotel? Without hesitation. Would we visit again? Definitely!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carlr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2007

Dear all Cologne visitors.

For you to be reading this review, you must be at least slightly interested in this hotel. And so you should be. I recently returned from a two day stay in this hotel, and have to say I have severe difficulties in faulting it.

I know when I was doing my homework, studying the accommodation on offer in this very satisying town I was a little scared off by the location. I was there for pleasure, and not for the huge conference centre, directly across from the hotel. Fortunately I did not let this put me off. I will be totally frank with you. The location is not pretty. As others have posted, it is a bit more business park feeling, rather than charming city feeling. You can walk to the Cathedral in 30 mins. It is very easy, and really quite nice (as long as the weather is ok!), as you walk over the train/footbridge across the Rhine. The underground/tram option is also easy and cheap, and takes about 12 minutes from central station.

The SAS facility is smart. A long fountain welcomes you at the entrance, and the atrium reception is very nice, also housing the curtain enclosed Paparazzi bar. Receptionists were pleasant, friendly, and knowledgable, and we were off to the room on the 6th (top) floor within 5 minutes. Standard room, and it was great. It faced inwards to the nice gardens, which consist of grass, water feature and sun chairs.. Nice mix of minimalisitic, modern and retro style. Bathroom was great with its heated rough textured floor and green wall tiles. The refreshing shower is actually integrated into the ceiling - first time I have seen this design feature.

Was quite warm outside during our stay, and the A/C struggled to cool the room down as much as I would've liked, but it was no real issue.

Breakfast was very typical Radisson SAS. Every taste is catered for. Very tasty, and extra deliscious if you manage to get it included with the room!

Check out went as smoothly as check-in, and was left wishing I could've had another night or two.

Next time I visit cologne I will certainly be trying to get a room at the Radisson SAS.

Happy Travels!

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank worldofcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2007

Right from checking in this hotel and its staff were simply fantastic! The reception staff were really helpful and the bar staff at night were also really nice.

We went for the Christmas market and although it was a good 1/2 hour walk into Cologne centre, there's a tram stop just over the road if you didnt want to walk. We walked in every night and never felt threatened or uncomfortable. My feet ached when we got home though!!

The room was really nice, clean, decorated nicley. Maid service every day who replenished all the soaps, shower gel etc.

This is a really modern hotel and if you are looking for traditional german accomodation this wont be for you. We loved it and would definaltely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Pros:
** Good price - got a business class room and breakfast for two and half-price parking for115 Euro. So THANKS for that - good value for money.
** Hotel staff was very pleasant and professional (except when you could get them on the phone after 11 p.m.)
** Rooms are spacious and must have been nice when they were new.
** Italian restaurant was good, with great personnel and good food, and the breakfast buffet was very good.
** Free internet access!

Cons:
** We asked for a no-smoklng room when we made our reservation. When we checked in, we asked again for a no-smoking room. When we entered our room, however, it REEKED of cigar smoke. We went down to the desk
and asked for a new room. The lady at the reception desk was very kind and gave us another room, which unfortunately also smelled strongly - this time of cigarettes. We didn't even turn on all the lights (because we wanted to get away from the smell) so we quickly opened the window and went down for dinner, hoping it would be better when we got back. When we returned, the room smelled better --but then we noticed the dirty carpet. We were tired and had already changed rooms once so we decided to just tough it out. When we went to bed, however, we were once again assailed by the STRONG smell of smoke. It turns out that - although the duvet cover and pilowcase were clean - both the duvet and the pillows reeked of smoke. We called both "0" and the customer care line to request new bedclothes but no one answered. In the end, we used towels as pillows as coats for blankets. How can you put dirty duvets and pillows into clean bedclothes and think no one will notice?

We probably won't return to this hotel. They have great potential but
this kind of slovenly lack of care about things as basic as clean air
(despite the promise of "no smoking rooms") and clean bedclothes is just inexcusable.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jmc_in_gap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We stayed four nights at this Radisson and were extremely disappointed with our room. Upon check-in and room inspection, we immediately returned to the front desk to complain about a soiled carpet. The staff replied that all room carpets were soiled and that although the hotel was almost emptly, no other room with a cleaner carpet could be provided.
Head of housekeeping was sent to our room and she explained that indeed this was one of the cleanest carpets. Radisson should do better than this with their high prices ! Although promotional materials tout the central location of this hotel, it is poorly located: a15 euro taxi ride from the main station, a 2.4 euro train ride (and then a hike), and a 35 minute walk to the cathedral over the bridge.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Notacceptable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
2,452 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#31 of 261 in Cologne
706 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 261 in Cologne
1,695 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,806 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne

Address: Messe-Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cologne
#7 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#26 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £78 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from the historical city center, this hotel in Cologne stands directly opposite the Koelnmesse trade and fairgrounds and just 100 meters from the nearest tram station. Guests enjoy easy access to the airport, business destinations like Lanxess Arena and many cultural attractions. The 393 soothing rooms include desirable amenities like heated bathroom floors, video on demand and high-speed, wireless Internet. Enjoy the Super Breakfast Buffet at Pronto! Restaurant, or unwind with a cocktail at Paparazzi Lounge Bar. Travelers appreciate a fitness center and can take advantage of on-site parking for a nominal fee. The hotel offers 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 250 delegates class-room style and up to 1,500 attendees for stand-up events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing