We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three words: never ever again”
Review of Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conti Hotel
Ranked #113 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three words: never ever again”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Tobacco–smoked room (curtains, carpeting, beds..)? Check.
Chewing gum traces on bathroom floor? Check.
No air conditioning and hearable-at-nights tram line nearby? Check.
Shower plumbing leaking water? Check.
Elevator stops between floors, so you have to drag your luggage up several steps? Check.

To be objective, breakfasts are quite good and reception personnel is very friendly and sincere.
But overall — it was very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    55
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
14
42
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed two nights at the Conti Hotel in Cologne, in March 2013.
The hotel was very good value (I think University of Cologne have a special deal with the hotel). It was clean, with somewhat basic but comfortable and perfectly functional rooms. Breakfast was very good. Internet access was free, but I couldn't get a good signal in my room. It was fine in the lobby, where a PC is available for guest use.
My room smelled slightly of cigarette smoke, but was spotlessly clean. I would have welcomed a kettle and cups, but according to my German colleagues, this is not typical of German hotels. There was a vending machine in the foyer.
I arrived quite late, but the receptionist explained exactly where the rest of my group had gone. Every member of staff was helpful and polite, speaking excellent English. One of my group had a problem with their return flight and the receptionist spent over an hour on the phone and internet helping them sort it out - then made them a mug of tea at the end!
The location is good; the "Belgian Quarter" is close to the university and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. I felt quite safe walking alone in the evening. It is also convenient for trams and buses.

Room Tip: Internet signal varies from room to room, but I couldn't give a specific area to choose. Rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulietGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

the hotel is centrally located. nice and clean hotel with decent rooms. bed was comfortable. bathroom was small, but sufficient. the breakfast was good.

the room had no air-conditioning or fan; and hence it was very hot. since the hotel is situated amidst a busy neighbourhood, keeping the windows open resulted in an absolute lack of privacy. the other drawback was the noise.

but overall, the hotel is a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kshanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I visited this hotel with a group in February 2012. It is in a good location and the hotel staff were friendly. Breakfast was fairly standard but there was enough choice.
Overall I would be happy to reccommend this hotel for anyone looking to have a short break in Cologne.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hibee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was attending a very popular exhibition in Düsseldorf, and my travel agent found this hotel for a reasonable price in Cologne, as every hotel nearer the venue was either full or extremely expensive.

I wasn't expecting luxury, but I found the Conti too basic for a 3* hotel. Old furniture and TV, small bed, no desk... but at least there was free internet. On the positive side, breakfast in the morning was OK, and it wasn't too far away from some good restaurants.

Not bad, but I'd rather go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

i stayed here for one night because it was close to a client. I came late in the evening and left early but I have to say I'm glad I didn't stay longer. Even a 3 star Hotel should offer something like a little desk, a chair or even a pencil. In this room where I stay, you will only find a bed/television/cupboard. The television is very small though (round about 15x22cm). My laptop has a bigger screen. And half of the channels come with noise... Apart from that there is no picture on the wall, only streaks from suitcases... bleak would describe it best...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

good hotel :)
nice morning meal. much of noise outside hotel, in evening. But we are in bigger city. it never sleeps :)

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mea67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#56 of 261 in Cologne
501 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Hopper Hotel et cetera
Hopper Hotel et cetera
#140 of 261 in Cologne
134 reviews
Hotel Weber
#87 of 261 in Cologne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#53 of 261 in Cologne
198 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Hotel Marsil
Hotel Marsil
#144 of 261 in Cologne
40 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#106 of 261 in Cologne
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conti Hotel

Property: Conti Hotel
Address: Bruesseler Strasse 40 - 42 | 50674 Köln, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Süd
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conti Hotel is a familiar and modern hotel with 49 non-Smoking rooms - 8 single and 41 double rooms. In the year 2001 / 2002 the hotel has been extended and completely renovated, atgain in 2012. We own a underground car park with 12 spaces. You just need a two minute walk to reach the tram, which takes you into the city, to the exhibition centre KolnMesse or to the Rhein-Energie-Stadium. The Conti Hotel is centrally situated, in the middle of the Belgian quarter with small boutiques and galeries and near to the big Shopping streets. Quite near you will find a great multitude of restaurants, cafes and bars. WIFI is available free of Charge in the whole hotel for our guests during their entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conti Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing