We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Ranked #17 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Fabulous hotel. Very neat, clean and wonderful staff. Buffet breakfast every morning was more than fantastic. Their restaurant had great food, too. Pool and spa area were great. Very clean and relaxing. The tram was right outside the hotel for easy access to anywhere. While there we took a train trip up the Rhein and then took the tour boat on the return trip. Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

My impression of the Dorint is based on the fact that I paid £133 for a twin room for two nights (if it were any more expensive I wouldn't have chosen to stay here). With that in mind, the experience was superb. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the hotel from Cologne Hbf or the cathedral. There's some construction going on at the front of the hotel, so access by car may be slightly difficult - but there was certainly no noise I could hear.
The room was spacious, modern and well-appointed, although the minibar was completely filled with expensive food and drinks which couldn't be moved (there's an electronic system that charges for items once they are removed from their positions). When we pointed this out to the staff after check-in, though, they sent someone up that night to clear out the minibar so that we could use it. Nice touches include bathrobes, slippers, shoe polish and a full set of toiletries all placed in the room before arrival. There is also free bottled water and (rather sour) apples in the lobby.
While the bathroom was large and included separate areas for the toilet, shower, and bathtub, and a convenient heated rack for towels, getting out of the bath and walking to the shower involves dripping a lot of water all over the floor, and the almost complete lack of ventilation is a rather serious oversight in what is on the whole a very nice bathroom. (Conversely, it is possible to open one of the windows in the room itself.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Dom (the cathedral).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I've been to this hotel last summer and i found it exellent. The rooms are large and confortables. The position is great because it's 10 minutes walk from the cathredal and the centre of Koln. The breakfast provides a wide range of foods, and the service was overall very good. In addition the concierge's suggestions about restaurants and place to have fun at night was very useful. Near the reception there is a very nice lounge bar which serves almost every type of cocktails and has a great atomsphere, thanks to the pianist. Yes, this hotel may be pricey but, if you want the quality and also a good position in the city, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I attend a trade show in Cologne every year, and have stayed in a variety of hotels. The Dorint is in an excellent location just off the Heumarkt so is within easy walking distance of the bars and restaurants. There is a tram stop nearby with direct link to the Messe, so getting to the exhibition halls is very quick. The Dorinbg is a spacious modern business hotel, and I'll be staying here on future trips.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Wantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here when it was named Intercontinental, 2010 spring. But wanted to review it because we remember it so well... because of perfect location and good quality in everything. Breakfast was the best we have ever been in. They cooked whatever you wanted and served special coffees to you table. At the time there was some construction (remember the metro line) beside the hotel, but it didn`t bother us. Rooms were above average, enough space and clean.

Recommended to everyone, you can walk to the shopping centres and sightseeings (churches and river etc.).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZorroF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location. We were in walking distance to the chocolate factory, the cathedral, hollenzoren bridge, the aquarium and the zoo! Lots of lovely restaurants and bars around too. I would recommend the apostal restaurant and the extrablatt cafe/bar for drinks. All staff were very friendly and the rooms were immaculate. All ammenties are available. We were able to leave our bags at the hotel for the day after checking out. The bed is very wide and pillows are so comfy. Couldn't fault it in any way. We booked through www.booking.com and got two nights for only 144 euros! Well worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaz281188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I used to stay at this hotel quite often in the past. It belonged to the Intercontinental Hotel Group before.
The new Hotel Chain Membership (Dorint) seemed to have changed the service in a positive way. The check in and check out was very efficient and a convenient experience. They even had my data of the "old" days still in file, so that I didn't need to provide all detail again.
My room has been quite large and very clean too. Some of the rooms give you a great view to the Cologne Cathedral, although mine did not. You may need to ask for it during check in.

It's noteworthy that the hotel bar offers great cocktails and a relaxed atmosphere. The hotel however is also perfectly located in the city centre of Cologne, very close to Heumarkt, where you will find all kind of shopping fun as well as good restaurants and pubs.

At the moment the hotel is not easy to reach by car as there is a big construction work going on right in front of the hotel. So be advised to arrive via "Deutzer Bruecke" and Heumarkt from the east. If you arrive from the west it'll be hard to hit their car park.
Although there is construction going on, this doesn't affect the noise level inside the hotel at all. It's nice and silent everywhere.

This time I also attended meetings in their Business center, which was a pleasant experience too. Would book rooms for a conference there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrueschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,506 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#20 of 263 in Cologne
2,163 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 263 in Cologne
1,842 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 263 in Cologne
1,729 reviews
Maritim Hotel Koeln
#31 of 263 in Cologne
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Address: Pipinstr. 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
#22 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £111 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologne Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing