We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Ranked #18 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Hotel is located in the center of Cologne and the Metro station is just next to it. The room was very big and had everything we needed. The breakfast offers a huge variety of food and on weekends you can eat there until 12pm. What we did not like so much were the opening hours of the spa and that there wasn't a brochure with information about the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    306
    94
    31
    25
See reviews for
98
264
49
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was huge, clean and quiet, great shower, great bed, free wi-fi with a fast connection.
Breakfast was excellent, the location is very good about 15 minutes walk from the train station.If you stay in Cologne this is a good choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebeach2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had 4 days in Cologne over the time the world cup final was taking place. Superb time to be there. Hotel was very good, clean and would go back any time. Will recommend the hotel to friends. The food in the hotel was good no complaints from me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExiledinAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days in July 2014. Our package included breakfast and access to the pool, and was at a very reasonable price.

We found the accommodation and the service excellent, On arrival, we were given vouchers worth 80 euros to spend in the bar or restaurant.

The pool and saunas were good; the bar was a bit pricey, but luckily we had our vouchers; the hotel is conveniently situated near the river and lots of good restaurants.

All in all, this was a good, clean hotel in the centre of the city at a good price. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaygeemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for a few days as this used to be my favourite hotel in Cologne. I always liked the slightly ancient modernistic designs of the rooms and the excellent service, but since Dorint have taken over the place from IHG, everything seems to be going downhill. The minibar has been denuded to 2 beers and a few soft drinks. Room menu is rudimentary and after midnight almost non-existent. Night staff got my orders wrong twice in a row.

The usually impeccable service at reception has clearly suffered cutbacks. I couldn't see a concierge at work anymore, also the usual limousine pickup service has gone.

While I still like the room design, this is not enough for me to return. After 20 years of regular visits I will now move to a hotel that takes service more seriously.

What a shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tortellinipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for business in June 2014

+ location
+ room sizes (executive)
+ bar
+ very friendly service

- the welness area is shared with a fitness club (all but quiet)
- no wifi connectivity in at the pool
- long walks from room to elevator

Room Tip: Executive rooms - 6th floor - Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here one night and would recommend it. Large modern hotel - takes up kind of a whole city block. Large lobby. Friendly check-in.
Location is great - located in the Heumarkt area which is right at the south end of the closed off street where all the main shops are - where you'll find H&M, Zara, Lacoste etc, That street leads right to the Cathedral and Koln Habf (main train station), which is a 10 min walk. A 2 min walk to your choice of 10-15 bars and restaurants in the Heumarkt square. Right across the road is the tram line. 2 min walk to the Rhine.
Has one of the largest hotel fitness areas I have ever seen - largely since it's a private Holmes Place branded fitness centres which hotel guests can access for 10 euros a day per person, which is well worth it. The facility takes up most if not all of the 2nd floor of the hotel. Workout area with machines is typical size of a facility that has thousands of members. Lap pool, 4 saunas and steam room. I upgraded to the executive room for 15 euros extra which got a slightly larger room on a separate floor and the fitness access was included, and got a 10 euro credit in the bar and restaurant which was a great offer. Be forewarned if you are not from Germany, the saunas and steamroom were "textile free" meaning you are expected not to have a swim suit when entering, but sit on a towel. But for swimming and in general walking around people were clothed.
The room was quite modern with some nice touches - a lit glass corner column with a circular ball that was an extra light. Master light shutoff is always appreciated at the end of the night. Separate bathtub and class enclosed shower. Closet large enough to put your large suitcase which is great to get it out of the main room area. I also stayed at the Pullman Cologne on the same trip and really prefered this hotel over the Pullman. If you arrive via the train station it was an easy walk down with a rollerbag - I didn't need a taxi.

Room Tip: The hotel footprint is quite large so you can have quite the walk from the elevator - so if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachman727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Property: Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Address: Pipinstr. 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
#22 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologne Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing