We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, location, service, food! Top place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Ranked #17 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week on a work trip. Well impressed with everything. Service was faultless, food was fantastic, room and facilities were excellent. Clean, modern, stylish, new and fresh. Breakfast buffet was vast and fresh. Fried breakfast, selection of fruits, cereal, pastries, yoghurts and much more on offer. Ill be back to this hotel- a real find.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

When you pay for 5*, you expect 5*, maybe 4* at worse, not this. First of all, the hotel had no one to help with the luggage. No concierge service, so you walk in, and there's 2 unmanned luggage trollies, not even someone welcoming you. The only 3 visible hotel employees are at reception, and they seem uninterested to help. The hotel was not filled to capacity so I am unsure why we were given a view of another building. It's also ridiculous that 50% of rooms have no view. The TV had 5 English channels, ALL news Only. If you wanted to watch a Movie, it costs 7+ euros. The Internet was very slow and not even substantial to watch YouTube. That's not all, absolutely no notification beforehand that both the bar, the lobby, and the restaurant were going through construction work. Breakfast was served in the conference all, and very very limited compared to what others have previously reviewed. The room Ac was not controllable. Only on/off and warm/cold.

The only good thing was the location, and the room was nicely furnished, with very comfortable pillows. There's also a supermarket right next to the hotel open till midnight.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Ahmed-asmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 days while in Cologne. It's about 10 minutes from the main train station and also has a U station right outside the entrance. A word of caution, it is a little tedious to roll luggage to/from the train station through cobblestone roads, but it can be done.

The staff at the front desk spoke perfect english, which was greatly appreciated! They were always very helpful and answered quite a few questions throughout the week for us. Our room was large and clean, although didn't have an alarm clock and electric outlets were a bit sparse. The bathrooms were large enough and nicely done. The shower did have a tendency to leak water out onto the floor from the glass door, so use the bath mat! The mini fridge in our room was not very cold and the drinks were only somewhat chilled, but that seems to be typical in Germany.

Our room didn't come with breakfast or the gym pass. I did visit the gym one day which cost 10 euro per day per person. It was actually a public membership fitness center that allows the hotel access also and was really nice. Every type of machine and weights imaginable there, worth the cost. We just had breakfast nearby at different places throughout the week for much less money.

The hotel is also right at the end of the pedestrian shopping district. You are right next to many blocks of shopping and restaurants, fantastic location. It's also a short 5 minute walk to the riverfront where there are many cafes and restaurants. If we return, we would consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddess2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Hotel is located in the center of Cologne and the Metro station is just next to it. The room was very big and had everything we needed. The breakfast offers a huge variety of food and on weekends you can eat there until 12pm. What we did not like so much were the opening hours of the spa and that there wasn't a brochure with information about the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laurue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was huge, clean and quiet, great shower, great bed, free wi-fi with a fast connection.
Breakfast was excellent, the location is very good about 15 minutes walk from the train station.If you stay in Cologne this is a good choice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thebeach2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had 4 days in Cologne over the time the world cup final was taking place. Superb time to be there. Hotel was very good, clean and would go back any time. Will recommend the hotel to friends. The food in the hotel was good no complaints from me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ExiledinAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days in July 2014. Our package included breakfast and access to the pool, and was at a very reasonable price.

We found the accommodation and the service excellent, On arrival, we were given vouchers worth 80 euros to spend in the bar or restaurant.

The pool and saunas were good; the bar was a bit pricey, but luckily we had our vouchers; the hotel is conveniently situated near the river and lots of good restaurants.

All in all, this was a good, clean hotel in the centre of the city at a good price. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jaygeemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,557 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,276 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#18 of 263 in Cologne
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 263 in Cologne
1,873 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 263 in Cologne
1,763 reviews
Maritim Hotel Koeln
#28 of 263 in Cologne
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Address: Pipinstr. 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £121 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologne Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing