We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business hotel, high parking fees”
Review of Ibis Koeln Messe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Koeln Messe
Ranked #45 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Business hotel, high parking fees”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The ibis Koelnmesse is good for business trips to Cologne, Bonn and even Dusseldorf. Of course you are at the Koelnmesse fast but you can also reach the Autobahn and central Cologne by car or public transport fast. The rooms are clean and the beds feel comfortable and big. Bathrooms are built-in plastic cabins but I did not really mind though because mine was really clean. I really liked the breakfast in the morning, it had a good variety and tasted well. Still, there are some negative points about the ibis: It seamed a bit understaffed in certain times, so we had to take a lot of time for checking in and checking out, staff was friendly though. What really annoyed us was the parking lot situation at the hotel. You can either try to catch a public parking lot and pay quite high fees or you can use the hotel's garage which is expensive, even for guests. All together, I can still recommend the hotel for business stays.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank UpperEastSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    311
    144
    34
    10
See reviews for
56
247
55
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I find 175 Euros for an IBIS (breakfast not included!) very expensive but than I stayed during a trade show. The convenience of walking over to the fair ground in five mins. was really worth it for me. The rooms are typical Ibis style, no nonsense, small bathroom, spartanic bed and bedding, very basic toiletries. Small flat screen TV and free but slow wireless internet. Breakfast was all right, staff very friendly. There is a nice Brewery type restaurant in the basement of the Dorint hotel, just 200 metres away. There is also a nice bar in the Radisson hotel next door.
I would go again for a trade show. As a tourist I would not necessarily use the hotel as it is a bit far from the city centre. But you could also use the tram if you wanted to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Like other reviewers I stayed first in the Ibis Budget next door. This was far superior for a number of reasons. Having read some of the other reviews I suspect it is hit and miss as to whether you enjoy a good experience but my stay was certainly a miss. The check in staff were abrupt and a little rude, the room was OK and clean but the toilet and shower room had an overpowering smell of sewage which filtered into the bedroom even with the door to the toilet closed. The service in the bar was non existent (2 staff rather talk to themselves for 15 mins rather than serve customers - despite requests). The budget hotel next door was basic but happy staff and no nasty odours!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemoon099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivas(Madrid)
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Good hotel, good staff, good breakfast, very good Price and only three stops on the U-Bahn to the city center (Cathedral área). Funny restaurants in the área (Mongo´s and other). Railway station ten minutes walking and very close to the Arena (go the ice hockey in Winter!!!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloAnaEduDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I chose this hotel, which is VERY far from the city center (and we like to walk, but it's 45 still minutes, or 2 trams), and I wouldn't have chosen it unless the Ibis in the city center has such small rooms (13 sqm).

Anyway, it was pretty annoying to go every time from/to the hotel, and we couldn't go out at night, since the area doesn't feel safe (in my opinion). The only attraction close to the hotel is the Rhein park and the cable car.

The room itself (number 423) is very typical to Ibis - The spaceship like bathroom, regular bed. It says the internet in the room costs money, but when I came to purchase, the nice lady told me it's free. So, I DID have internet, but the slowest you could ever imagine. I rather pay.

We took breakfast everyday - excellent, for just 10 Euros you can have as much as you want, vegetables, cheeses, everything. A large variety.

We had a night train to Prague, and the receptionist allowed us to leave the room at 8 PM! We were very grateful for that.

I left an item in the room, and found it out only after 4 days. I e-mailed the hotel, and it took them 3 working days to answer me, and say it's not there (which it sure was).
Only after an intervention of the Accor chain I got a proper solution (This is the only reason why I give this hotel 3 and not 5 stars, because when we stayed the service was perfect).

Room Tip: Room 423, I guess it's like all the others, but it faces the back so there is no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimrod-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#50 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#32 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#53 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#98 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Koeln Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Koeln Messe

Property: Ibis Koeln Messe
Address: Bruegelmannstr. 1, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#10 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Koeln Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Koeln City Messe Arena hotel is in the centre of Cologne, a few min on foot from the old city, easily accessible from the motorway or by public transport. Close to the cathedral, the Exhibition Centre and the KOELNARENA, the recently built hotel has 180 air-conditioned rooms (3 are adapted for disabled guests). Wifi access, a restaurant, a bar, snacks 24/24, a terrace and private pay parking are at your disposal. The airport is 12 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ibis Koeln Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Koeln City Messe Arena Hotel Cologne
Ibis Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing