We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #21 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

overall a hotel that we will never return to. they said they had a wellness centre which is just what we were looking for but really it was just a few lounge chairs and a couple of public baths. not appealing at all. then when we asked where to go for dinner they directed us somewhere which was a $15 cab ride away and when we got there the place was DEAD. where was everyone. up the other end of the city, no where near where she told us to go. the rooms are small and dark and the room we had there was a shower on one side of the room and the bathroom was on the other. really weird set op. we did get our breakfast in the morning for free though. haha. so they were too slack to check us in or out of the breakfast room, so their loss. the service we go at this hotel overall spoilt our 24hours in Colonge and wont be somewhere we head back to.

Room Tip: do go here. find somewhere closer to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasoooooooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    126
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
10
144
40
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed over New Years Eve - including dinner and party.
Party was a bit lame as people were sitting rather than dancing. Music was ok though.
Dinner was exquisite.
The room on the Paris floor was really stylish.
We enjoyed the spa very much. Steam bath, sauna, calmly decorated and comfortable rest room. A good choice of treatments (massage, facial, steam bath).
The staff overall was extremely friendly, forthcoming and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay very much.
(P.S.: you should visit the café about a 3 minute walk called Café Extrablatt - we very much enjoyed having lunch, dinner and drinks there)

Room Tip: get a floor higher up - you can see the Dom (cathedral) from high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvercj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Be careful in this Hotel, and try to have nothing with value or liquid money with you ...or better look for other place.
I did not sleep for 2 days as the trip was too long, I specially choose a kind of good hotel to have a rest in peace, but it was not a case in this dum hotel - while deeply sleeping someone from the personnel has enter and robbed all the money and my watch!!!!!!!!! when I waked up I see no money, and no watch, I called the police, but nothing was done just writting down what was happened!!!, the administration of the Hotel was unemotionnel, too cold...(no reaction) just reapeating the same...we will wait the police investigation.....wwhat kind of investigation that was, I do not know!!!.As my stay was prepaid, the 2days left I really did not sleep each dum noise I waked up, and I did a kind of traps in near the door!!!!!!
I believe that everyone in the hotel is involved in this kind of operation, so be carefull!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbed f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOY77, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear travellers ,

Regarding the latest accusation we want you to be sure that security and safety of our guest has always been one of our top. Of course we handle any suspicion seriously and support any investigation with everything being in our power.

Kind regards,

The hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

pricy for what it offers though good location helpful staff clean rooms / single seperate beds and old fashioned TV (one bed may not be seeing the TV as well)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recentguest2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This hotel was interesting in decor, very close to the train station but a little off-the-beaten-path, and overall a pretty average hotel experience. The hotel was very clean, so I'm giving it 4/5 rather than 3/5. I wouldn't stay there again, but only because I like to find hotels that really stand out as something exceptional, and I just didn't feel that this one did. The front desk was extraordinarily accommodating and helpful though, so I really think that the service of the hotel was not to blame at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookMeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

While the Savoy may appear ugly and unspectacular from the outside, as a 70s concrete block next to the loud Turiner Straße, it really is a spectacular jewel among Cologne hotels. Frequented buy the very liberal intelligentsia and art scene of the city, you will always meet a well know face in the lobby. The bar is perfectly equipped from Champagne to the hard stuff, and their is a fantastic roof top, but the real highlight are the suites, each of them individualized. Spend for example a night "Out of Africa", with zebra skins and a juge bath tub of black marble, under an artificial, glimmering nightly skye covered with stars.
Besides, the Hotel is well located next to Cologne's Central Train Station.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

An excellent hotel. Location is very central, with Dom Blick, as they say in german.
The staff was very friendly and cool, the rooms spacious and well-furnished. I highly recommend the hotel - ideal for a ONS;-))

Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank loox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Turiner Str. 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#5 Business Hotel in Cologne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing