We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff; cool, convenient, retro luxury”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #22 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Feldkirch, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful staff; cool, convenient, retro luxury”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Two night stay on business. Always pleasant, helpful staff at reception. Train station was five minute walk, dome another five minutes. I wouldn't want to stay near the Dom, too many tourists and tourist-establishments and too noisy. But, the Savoy is on the other side of the tracks, in a quiet area, with mostly apartments around. The restaurant in the hotel produced excellent dinners both nights (had the Chanterelle Cream Soup both nights) and at decent prices. Very attentive staff. They ensured my pre-ordered early taxi to the airport was there right on time at 5.45 a.m. No stress.

The décor was retro cool, my single room was nicely furnished, A/C worked very well, Bose IPhone dock for music was a great plus. Free internet was a breeze to have all three of my devices online in seconds. I chose to find breakfast of fresh bread and coffee on my own in the surrounding neighborhood, not take the 15 euro add on to the price of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOY77, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear FEBennett,

thank you for sharing your experiences you made during your stay in our hotel. We are glad to read that you liked your room. Furhter, we are pelased to forward your nice review about the dinner in our restaurant to the employees.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel soon, then we would recommend staying in our design junior suite with integrated whirlpool. In the meantime we would be glad to welcome you also as a new Facebook Fan.

Best wishes,
Your Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    128
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
11
146
40
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I was amazed by the beautiful design of the hotel. Gave feeling of glamour and luxury.

There was a spa, but I didn't have chance to try it. They don't provide guests free entrance though :(

The morning buffet was grear, plenty of fruit and fresh juice for vegetarian eater! The food was great, but pretty expensive for the little portions they serve.

Rooms are clean and cosy. My colleague and I shared the twin room. The twin beds are not that wide and a bit too hard.

We used taxi's to go everywhere since they were very cheap.

Great luxury hotel, although dinner could be enjoyed in one of the local Brauhauses.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haitje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOY77, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear Haitje,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience in our hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable in our exceptional design. However, we are very sorry to read that you were provided with false information about entering the Savoy Spa. For all our guest the entrance including the use of the whirlpool, the sauna and the steam bath is for free.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel and to have the possibility of offering you a fruit drink in our Spa as an excuse for this wrong information.

Kind regards,
Your Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with courteous service, large rooms and closeness to the main station, this is the place to go to. I was there for two days on business. The location is also very quiet despite the nearness to the main station and the rail lines.

Online booking was a breeze. They speak good English at the reception and elsewhere, WiFi internet is free. The rooms are much larger that you would hope for this price anywhere in Europe. The amenities are modern, the beds comfy and the bathroom large. The room I stayed in had electronic temperature controls in the shower so you could set the temp to exactly 37 or 38 degrees celsius or hotter or colder, as you prefer.

The breakfast was the usual buffet spread, nothing remarkable. I did not have any other meal there. The main station is a 5 minute walk in one direction, and in the other direction in less than 10 minutes you can reach the famous Cologne Cathedral, walking past a busy road with plenty of restaurant options - Indian, Chinese, Italian, Turkish, and so on. The HOHO tour bus also leaves from close to the cathedral. The lane just behind the hotel also has restaurants and some shops selling souvenirs, textiles etc.

All in all a very good option whether you are a business traveller, single tourist or a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSDSVSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOY77, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear NSDSVSMS,

thanks for sharing your experience of your stay in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we could offer you a comfortable room for your trip in Cologne.
For your next visit we recommend to you a wellness package in our Savoy Spa, it exceeds even every stay in Cologne.

Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Your Team from the Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We wanted to try something different; When we arrived no A/C in lobby and it was the hottest day of the year. We had to wait for our room to be cleaned when we arrived. Didn't take long, but no A/C on each floor lobby either. The hotel smelled like old musky cigarettes. Decor in room was dark kinda vampirish. Big black granite jacuzzi in the middle of the room.
During the night we could smell strong cigarette smoke coming through the vents. If your not a smoker like us it was terrible.
Breakfast was very nice & included but then again very warm downstairs & was told A/C worked fine it was the opening of the lobby doors, but I beg to differ.
More of a place for artists & musicians who smoke to hang.
Not our style.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shlvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

If you like to discover hidden hotels which are unique n every way then this hotel is for you. Each room is beautiful in decor and the suites are simply breathtaking with the best jacuzzis in town. From the moment you step in to the hotel, the rooms, the spa and wellness centre to the food and the bar we could not fault this hotel. If you plan to visit this beautiful city and want a great hotel in a great location please make sure you stay here. They even parked our car for us! Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff and wonderful suite to make Cologne a perfect weekend trip. Thank you Savoy!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, truly memorable to make it extra special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulfi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOY59, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear Zulfi M,

thank you very much for this wonderful feedback.
We highly appreciate your positive remarks about the hotel, the rooms and the atmosphere.
Of course we forward your compliments to all our staff members.
For your next trip we would be happy to welcome you on our Sky Lounge where you can enjoy the breathtaking view on Cologne while drinking a refreshing Cocktail.

We hope to welcome you soon again and remain with kind regards,

Your Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Unfortunately i didn't have a good experinse with the Savoy hotel koln. i was excited for my stay and then all turned upside down. the check in was great, but all started when i got into my room... my junior-suite was small compared to the suites i have seen before and compared to the price i paid for.
then the surprise was , no shampoo no handkerchiefs and water goes onto the bathroom floor into the room's carpet making the smell in the room very bad.

i complained and all what i heard was: sorry i dont smell it!!! and the front-desk brought some shower creme instead of shampoo.

it all makes no sense because if the hotel management see a reservation for a couple in a suite for a weekend they should really prepare the room properly and not wait for the guest to call and complain.

i can not recommend this hotel i am really shocked to what i have experienced during my stay

Room Tip: i had Junior suite - venice ...603 dont you EVER book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khodord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOY59, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear khodord,

we are very sorry to read about your negative experience about the stay in our hotel. However we are also a bit surprised about your comment that we did not try to help you. Our service members tried hard to fix the problem by moving you to another suite which you rejected. We offered you different other Junior suites so you would have received a room which may have been more appealing to you. This is why we are wondering that you are stating that we did not help you out at all.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel to have another opportunity to convince and satisfy you.

Kind regards
Your Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The savoy is very conveniently located close to Cologne/Koln main station.
Check in- easy and quite rewarding, i was upgraded to a double room from the single I had booked originally.
Room- Clean, plenty of space. It is up to date in terms of equipment and heating facilities. Hotel wifi worked very well and was easy to log into. My room didn't have much of a view but there isnt much to see around in any case. Bed was comfortable but a little short in length. Anyone over 5ft 10 inches will have their feet sticking out.
Bathroom- toilet seat cover had a couple of stains but were cleaned out upon request. Daily cleanliness was well maintained.

Room Tip: Check in staff seemed to be customer comfort oriented so ask and I'm sure they will do their bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOY59, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear Karan b,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your time in our hotel.
We appreciate your comments and are forwarding the compliments to our staff.
We hope to welcome you in Cologne soon again and look forward to have you again as our guest.

Kind regards,
Your team of the Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,361 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,202 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 261 in Cologne
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 261 in Cologne
1,644 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,067 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#16 of 261 in Cologne
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Turiner Str. 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cologne
#5 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing