We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savoy Hotel Cologne”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #21 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Bergisch Gladbach, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Savoy Hotel Cologne”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

this is the hotel where the stars meet - many of them already been there and the hotel is absolutely excellent in all points ! the hotel is just next to the center railstation and next to the cathedral and even to the great shopping streets, like Hohe Strasse !

Room Tip: it's a top hotel next to the main city and the cathedral !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    126
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
10
143
40
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Savoy is just 5 minutes away from Cologne's main train station (the Hauptbahnhof). It was important for us when we need to leave for the airport at 2am the next morning! Savoy is extremely central to where ever you wish to reach by foot: sightseeing, shopping, eateries, etc.

The hotel is tastefully decorated although you can't really figured out the theme. Staff are friendly as they never fail to greet you when ever you enter or leave the hotel. Umbrellas are plentiful in case of rain which helped us a lot.

Most importantly, it is clean and quiet although right in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was the second time I visited Hotel Savoy. Last year I visited along, this year was part of a work group. The hotel is conveniently located. The bar and café-restaurant on the ground floor are well laid out and offer great options for a drink or meeting.
The room for a double is small. They don't have twin beds set up, as a guest you have to physically move the beds apart to a maximum of 6-8 inches. This had to be done after telling them that I'd like twin beds.
Upon check in, the staff was not aware that I had stayed before, there was no mention of this. I found this very odd. Hotels love and thrive on repeat customers and ensure they offer something extra but not Hotel Savoy.
We stayed during an exhibition period and the rates were sky high.

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Unfortunately, we only stay in Cologne one night, but the hotel was exquisite. The lobby is beautifully decorated, and the bar a nice place to have a drink. We were there for a small business meeting. The rooms were perfect and very elegant. It was unlike any other business meeting I have had with plush seating and beautiful table settings. Lunch was in an adjacent room also wonderfully decorated. The food was good. The hotel rooms were exquisite with all of the amenities of a high class hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bech-Kleinmacher
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a wonderful hotel room, amazing massages and a super delicious kitchen !
Very friendly and helpful staff !
Even late in the evening or at night you can order warm food and beverages to your room, they even have their own champagne!

It was an expensive weekend but the price is reasonable

Room Tip: We've had the James Bond suite and i can only recommend this one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Going back out to what is probably my favourite hotel. Although the exterior is not the best when you walk in the wonderful experience begins. Most of the staff on the desk remember you if you have stayed before. The bar and bar staff are great nothing being to much trouble and if you are male and want the toilet, it got to be the best toilet in any hotel in the world. The two main wall are massive Tropical fish tanks with exotic fish of many types. Each floor has themed bedrooms i.e. Africa, Asia etc. Even the standard rooms offer great luxury and the walk to the centre to Dom Square is 5 mins to Papa Joes, The Old Corkonian and if you walk in the opposite direction NADA bar & restaurant with great cocktails, food & Indika the best cocktail waiter I have come across

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feldkirch, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Two night stay on business. Always pleasant, helpful staff at reception. Train station was five minute walk, dome another five minutes. I wouldn't want to stay near the Dom, too many tourists and tourist-establishments and too noisy. But, the Savoy is on the other side of the tracks, in a quiet area, with mostly apartments around. The restaurant in the hotel produced excellent dinners both nights (had the Chanterelle Cream Soup both nights) and at decent prices. Very attentive staff. They ensured my pre-ordered early taxi to the airport was there right on time at 5.45 a.m. No stress.

The décor was retro cool, my single room was nicely furnished, A/C worked very well, Bose IPhone dock for music was a great plus. Free internet was a breeze to have all three of my devices online in seconds. I chose to find breakfast of fresh bread and coffee on my own in the surrounding neighborhood, not take the 15 euro add on to the price of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVOY77, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear FEBennett,

thank you for sharing your experiences you made during your stay in our hotel. We are glad to read that you liked your room. Furhter, we are pelased to forward your nice review about the dinner in our restaurant to the employees.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel soon, then we would recommend staying in our design junior suite with integrated whirlpool. In the meantime we would be glad to welcome you also as a new Facebook Fan.

Best wishes,
Your Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#24 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Turiner Str. 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cologne
#5 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing