We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“savvy savoy”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2006

a fantastic hotel with original styling, we got an upgrade to the bora bora suite, I have never seen so many artifacts packed into a hotel room...amusing, provocative yet very comfortable, with a view of the cathederal so near you could almost feed the pidgeons from your 5th floor window! the staff were all genuinely friendly, the bar/cafe had a real buzz. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. Aircon was a big plus due to the hot weather at the time. Reception and breakfast staff were friendly and professional. Our double room was of good size and nicely decorated in Asian style. Design is accentuated at the cost of a few practical things. e.g light switches were a bit difficult to manage and getting the right shower temperature was a challenge. Otherwise we loved the hotel. Breakfast was magnificent! We didn´t have time to try out the spa, but it looks very inviting! Convenient location. Would absolutely stay here again and can highly recommend it to anyone not just looking for standard hotel room in a big chain hotel.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank crmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2006

stayed here for one night. it was very hot outside and I had choosen this hotel because of the aircondition and the aircon in the room worked excellent. Not so in the public areas like hallways, lobby and elevators, the air was very sticky.
The room was very small, bathroom very very small also with narrow shower and no bath tub.
Room was clean but no athmosphere at all. Avoid room # 715 this is where I stayed. Got a good rate through [--](95 Euro incl. breakfast) but parking is 18 Euro, very expensive and walk to the city is not nice (lots of construction, behind the railway station, not nice area). Only because of the good rate I say it is ok but not worth more.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schaeferrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
France
12
Reviewed 2 December 2005

I highly recommend this hotel, i really had a wonderful experience over there, its not like a regular hotel the rooms are more a live i mean the room carry is own soul, its for sure one of the best hotel i have beeen.....

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Savoy Hotel at the end of May 2005. It was an unseasonably warm time for Germany and I'm happy to say that the air conditioner was a nice feature. Our room was clean and nicely decorated but sacrificed practicality for a certain "look". For example the bedside lamps had black shades with low wattage bulbs. Impossible for a person to read in bed at night without getting eye strain. Also, the bathroom was very clean but again, whoever came up with the design obviously didn't use it. The shower door is glass and not adjustable. It extends approx. one third the way down the side of the tub and the shower head is mounted across from the end of the shower door, i.e. at the midpoint of the tub. The water is not kept in the tub but sprays everywhere so you end up with a slippery floor and soggy toilet paper (unless you had the foresight to remove it). There is no handrail in the tub and no non-slip prevention. There was a large wicker basket right next to the tub so it got drenched with every shower use. Lastly, there was a wicker tray with glasses and amenities setting just above the flush button on the toilet. It overhangs the edge a bit so if you aren't very careful you can knock it onto the floor which is what happened with us...my husband knocked the whole thing over in the middle of the night and we had broken glass everywhere.

The buffet breakfast was good with both hot and cold dishes. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is just a few short minutes walk from the train station and from the Dom. Also not too far from the U-Bahn. The bed was very comfortable and our room was extremely quiet (we had a non-smoking room on the 4th floor). Although the room was not overly large it was comfortable and we would probably stay there again. Our rate for the holiday weekend was 125 euros per night and included breakfast and taxes.

For the money we thought it was a pretty good deal (just watch out for the lack of safety features in the bathroom and bring a flashlight if you want to read in bed at night).

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 52tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2004

It seems that all of Cologne is under construction. This makes the 300m walk to the Savoy Hotel from the city's main rail station a bit more challenging but worth the effort.

The hotel has a very interesting and restful room decor. My bed was very comfortable and the room was relatively quiet, though traffic noise was evident. The breakfast buffet was, as is the norm in this part of the world, more than adequate. Staff was very accomodating and respectful.

The Hotel maintains a very active spa, with massage and various beauty treatments available. Didnt' have the time or budget for these, though they seem quite interesting.

A block behind the hotel, you'll find a bit of the real Cologne -- off the tourist track with stores and restaurants serving the local neighborhood. It's worth a stroll, as is, of course, the Dom area and Alt Markt.

Cologne is one of Europe's great cities and the Hotel Savoy is a great value, especially if you've got US$ in your wallet.

3  Thank eurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Den Haag, Netherlands
26
Reviewed 14 November 2004

We got a room in the first floor that was very small, and had almost no view on the outside due to external glass pannels, apparently to protect from the noise and to display the hotel's adverts. It was a bit dissapointing for a 5 stars hotel.

The service was excellent, and breakfast was very good.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,789 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,680 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 261 in Cologne
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Turiner Str. 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cologne
#5 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £110 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing