We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”
Review of A&O Koln Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A&O Koln Dom
Ranked #190 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was a clean and decent place, in an exceptionally good location near the cathedral and central station - with a price which is low despite this. The room was clean and comfortable. The receptionist was helpful and efficient. However, I was in a room beside the lift(elevator) and it was a noisy, tight, quite old fashioned conveyance. The noise from it was extremely loud. The WiFi is also not free in the rooms. It is in the lobby, and perhaps you might be lucky enough that the lobby WiFi reaches you room.

Room Tip: Avoid 210 (and possibly 211?) and anything else beside the lift(elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    28
    36
    22
    13
See reviews for
16
45
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This clean small hotel fit our visit perfectly. it was close to the train station, and Dom Cathedral. We toured the city on foot visiting some of the closest museums and Dom Cathedral. The staff were helpful and restaurants were nearby. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Dont get the room with the bunkbed in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BETTY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zielona Gora, Poland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We’ve stayed there during Interzum and actually by the time of very late booking didn’t have much choice left. A&O had great location and fair price so we decided to take a chance. During January Fair in Cologne we’ve stayed in 5* so we were worried if it will be acceptable. To our surprise it is a lovely small place right by the Dom with very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, good breakfast and fast and cheap wifi in prime location
I recommend this hotel to everyone who is on a budget or travels with bigger kids but want to stay close to the Dom.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxflyMaxfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a 4bed room with two twins and a bunk. The rooms are very very basic. No wardrobe space or drawers. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The location is very handy approx 400m from the train station but a bit to close to the cathedral. The bells start at 6 and chime every quarter of an hour so don't expect a lie-in. Staff where friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedvoidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A&O Koln Dom was what I expected it to be - a no frills hostel that is really nothing to write home about.

Our room (en suite) was clean, which was the most important thing to me because I've stayed in a few disgusting hostels in the past. I would rate A&O as an average hostel.

I have no complaints about the price because I found a good discount online. There was a mix of tourists and people who were there for a conference/business.

I can't rate the breakfast because we didn't opt for it.

The best part about the hostel is its location - it's a short walk to the train station, the river, the Dom, shops and many kolsch brewhouses.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kanaduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here with my family on our Europe trip in May '08. The good thing about the hotel was it was easy to find and close to both the Dom and main train station. After that, it was a simple disaster. Perhaps it was because it was our first hotel in Europe, but we were surprised and disappointed by the quality of this hotel. Reception area was tiny with just the check in desk and a couple of chairs. There are several floors and their was no elevator. We got in at around 5pm and checked in and when we saw the rooms that's when we felt like we were dooped. We had made a couple of reservations for rooms with bathroom. Apparently that did not mean there was a bathroom in the room. I went down to talk to the management, but the spoke limited English and they just kind of shrugged. The worst was still to come. The rooms were terribly hot so we decided to sleep with the windows open since there was no AC or even a fan. So of course all the noise from the outside made its way in. Apparently there had been a soccer game and when it was time all the bars let out and the main street was flooded with rowdy Germans. That wasn't too bad cause after a while at least there was no one else around. For some reason though, the bells of the Dom starting ringing really early in the morning and they were loud. Even when we closed the windows!!

We had booked 2 nights, but we left after the first one. Luckily we got a good price on the hotel so even though we lost the payment on the last night, it was a small price to pay to get the heck out of there. Good thing we found another hotel a little further away and 10 times better though it was twice as expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Located right in the city centre.
Only partly reformed it would seem.
Double room with bathroom had little space to move around.It was sparse and anticuated.
Heating,hot water and towells were OK.
The bathroom had been modernised.
A little overpriced for a hostel of this type.
Staff were correct but not friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANACARLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
#133 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#31 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#68 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel am Dom
#209 of 262 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#183 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Sandmanns
Hotel Sandmanns
#76 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Koln Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Koln Dom

Property: A&O Koln Dom
Address: Komoedienstr. 19 - 21, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Good Sleep)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — A&O Koln Dom 1.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Koln Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing