We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOP eless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hopper Hotel et cetera
Ranked #142 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“HOP eless”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Still in pain after my 2 nights here, I know some monks are into self inflicted pain but there must be better ways of doing it than getting an aching back and sore neck from sleeping on a cheap mattress with a hollow pillow. Hopeless.

Otherwise the connection with monks is rather slim, only the creepy life size model in the entrance and the out size painting in the breakfast room. This is a dull, wholly refurbished suburban building (not a charming mediaeval monastery).

The room was large, but other than the uncomfortable bed it had little in the way of furniture: a tiny sloping shelf stood in for a desk. This meant that that books, magazines, food and drink all had to go on the floor. There were a couple of tiny chairs of the type you get in places you aren't expected to sit, so we sat on the floor too. It may have aimed to be minimalist, it succeeded only in being basic and mean. Hopeless.

Towels in the bathroom were small, thin and frayed. Not sure about the ones in the sauna, it was off the tiny basement exercise cupboard and at €10 a time cost almost as much as a full size thermen cologne (which would have huge, thick, new towels). Hopeless.

Staff friendly enough but not up to much when it came to advising on how to use public transport.

Huge mistake staying here, not a good location, not a good hotel or even a decent place to crash, certainly not cheap and not at all value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    43
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
7
25
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

It is very well located in the city - you just step outside and all the cafes and bars are around. The outside of the building, the restaurant and the yard look really nice, but the interior of room 307 reminded me of the ICE-train (not charming).
I dropped a glas in the bathroom, which bursted into 1.000 pieces. We informed the counter to please come with a vacuum, but they didn't manage to remove it during our stay, which made the bathroom a "shoe-wearing bathroom". Unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cp3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I booked 5 nights Hopper Hotel as I was attending a conference in the same hotel. 2 days before end of my stay I had the invitation to stay with a friend in a nearby city. 36 hours before my last night stay I informed reception I would be leaving a day early. "No problem sir but that will cost you 72€" - I would have to pay 80% of the room fee for the pleasure of not staying, even though I had stayed 4 nights out of the 5. I chose to stay in the hotel an extra night , so thanks to Hopper I missed the opportunity of seeing another part of Germany. Such a shame the hotel puts money before customer satisfaction.

If you enjoy minimalist style you will enjoy the rooms at this hotel. Over-priced for what it was.

On a positive note the staff are very friendly and helpful and the buffet style breakfast has a great range to offer. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet street but close to local transport for getting around the city. Conference facilities and buffet lunches are great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarklW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The hotel is located in an lovely old building. The rooms are simple but well designed. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were excellent. In the neighborhood there is a large quantity of trendy restaurants and bars to discover. The mattress was ok, but not particularly comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHGZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Travelled from France to Italy on a honeymoon tour of Europe and Cologne was truly a highlight of the trip, in large part due to a great experience at the Hopper Hotel. Very friendly staff, extremely clean rooms. Trendy hotel in trendy neighborhood, with a lot of options for dining and nightlife. Definitely would return and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This exceptional bargain hotel delivers on its promise: unique accomodations at reasonable prices. The rooms are spotless and very well designed. The bathroom is well laid out, and the public areas decorated with inspiring art. The included breakfast is satisfactory and the location is close to public transportation that can take you downtown in minutes (it's not very close to major tourist destinations).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

my 17 year old son was in Cologne on work experience and stayed here on his own - which they were really cool about. I I went over to meet him, and I've travelled a lot and am fussy about hotels, but the Hopper was just really really good. They looked after him while he was on his own and nothing was too much trouble. Its in a good location - 5 min walk from the main shopping area and has a tube stop 2 mins away.
would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huytondebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Hopper Hotel St. Josef
Hopper Hotel St. Josef
#100 of 262 in Cologne
119 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
#89 of 262 in Cologne
155 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#126 of 262 in Cologne
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Süd
Conti Hotel
Conti Hotel
#116 of 262 in Cologne
119 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#48 of 262 in Cologne
480 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopper Hotel et cetera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopper Hotel et cetera

Property: Hopper Hotel et cetera
Address: Brusseler Strasse 26, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hopper Hotel et cetera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hopper Hotel et cetera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopper Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing