We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for those with lightweight luggage, staying there on weekdays”
Review of Lint Hotel Koln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lint Hotel Koln
Ranked #73 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Lint for 4 nights in August. Lint is a small boutique hotel, with comfortable (even if not large) rooms. We were accommodated in the first floor, so wifi worked fine in our room. TV was very small, and only with German channels (it did not bother us).

We didn’t have much contact with front desk (occupied until 9 PM) staff, and when we did, they were polite, although not totally helpful. We asked for tips on city tours and the receptionist advised us to go to Koln’s tourist information center…No tips on local restaurants either. He helped us carrying our luggage upstairs (hotel doesn’t have a lift), though.

About Lint’s location:

Pros – it is wonderful for visiting the main points of interest in Koln’s Old City Center. The street is pretty quiet during weekdays, except for groups of German tourists laughing at the statues of Tünnes and Schäl (figures from the puppet theater of Cologne), which are located in the square at the back of the hotel (our room faced this square).

Cons – Lintgasse is a pedestrian road, stone paved, and so pulling our luggage from and to the train station was a little challenging (there are some steps on the way too). Noise (music and people talking aloud) from many bars in the neighborhood can be a bit disturbing on Fridays and Saturdays.

All in all, I’d surely recommend this hotel for people with lightweight luggage, staying there on weekdays. On the other hand, I’d be more cautious to recommend it for people traveling by train with standard luggage and staying there for the weekend.

Room Tip: Hotel doesn't have a lift, so try the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

Lint Hotel is a comfortable and mildly chic hotel located in the heart of central Koln. Lint is within a minute 1, 3 or 5 minute walk from three different Christmas Markets (obviously this only applies during holidays) so if holiday shopping is your thing the location for Lint will be perfect. If you're more interested in the sights the Dome is within 10 minute walk as is the Roman History Museum and the central train station. Lint was an all around conveniently located hotel.

The hotel was clean and stylishly designed, though fraying a bit around the edges. Within a couple of years the drapes and some other minor room accessories will probably have to be changed to keep the place from going down the road to shabby-town. Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and they cooked up a very tasty breakfast (included in room). Considering the location and the quality of the room the hotel was a bargain. Fancier hotels cost double or more than what we paid and during the Christmas season a private room in a hostel was more than Lint. Great Location and great value!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpmurph133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This place is privatly owned and situated right in the middle of the old part of town. So beware, that it is hard to reach by car, since its a pedestrian only zone. Best advice: Drive into the "Gross Sankt Martin" parking facilities. Its a new small building right in between older parts of the city. Interior rather modern and stylish, but very quaint and peacefull choice of meaterials and colors. Rooms are spacefull, very comfortable, large glas windows go back to a nice courtyard (church). I would highly recommend this place to every first time visitor, since you really in the middle of everything but still in a quiet surrounding. Due tu the courtyard and people trafficing it can get a little noisy at night, but noting really serious. Breakfast is very good. Restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJEGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I stayed at the Lint Hotel for a week. The staff in particular were very friendly and helpful; I was especially impressed by them. The location is also fantastic - a short stroll down the street to the restaurants and walk along the river, close to the Dom and other city attractions. Even in the midst of the big CSD celebrations, it was also surprisingly quiet in the back room off the street. If you want five-star accommodations, perhaps this is not the hotel for you. But it is clean and pleasant, reasonably priced and in a great spot.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

My wife and I wanted a base to visit the Christmas Markets. The Lint hotel is situated in a quiet, narrow cobbled street in the Old Town within easy walking distance of the train and coach stations, five of the six Christmas markets, the Dom, several museums, the fabulous shopping areas, and good, reasonably priced eating houses.
The young hotel staff were very welcoming,spoke good english and made us welcome. (A replacement light bulb was fitted almost immediately in our room.) The rooms are accessed by a fairly steep spiral staircase, minimally but more than adequately and comfortably furnished with modern built in units. The rooms have their own thermostats to ensure a very pleasant temperature.
Self-service breakfast is good and substantial.(Coffee could have been hotter.)

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DickandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

A fantastic find in the heart of Cologne. We selected this hotel for its location and reviews, and weren't disappointed. Myself, my husband and my daughter , along with another couple, have just spent 2 nights at the lint for the christmas markets. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of all the sights, and the station, and very central for the markets.

All the staff were extremely friendly, and went out of there way to help us. We were travelling with our 16 month old daughter, and the hotel managed to rustle up a fantastic travel cot for us to use.

The rooms are compact but adequate, and very warm and cosy! Breakfast is the usual continental style, but beautifully layed out, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

We had some lovely meals, The X11 apostles just around the corner (italian) served us an excellent evening meal, and we discovered a local gem near to the chocolate museum called the "witches house", serving fantastic local dishes. The pub looks uninspiring from the outside , but the warm welcome and food made up our initial misgivings.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Lint-Hotel in July 2008.
The stay was perfectly satisfactory. Lint-Hotel is a small, presumably private (non-chain) property located in the heart of Cologne's AltStadt 2 minutes from the Rhine and 7-8 minutes from the Dom. Location is ideal. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are small and basic but comfortable. Moderate price (E129) includes good breakfast and wired Internet. No toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.), are provided.
Our room looked out over a very quiet, albeit public, square where the main distractions were tour groups at all hours (up to 10 p.m.!) admiring the nearby Romanesque church Gross St. Martin and an odd pair of bronze sculptures which were described to us as representing German comedians analogous to Laurel and Hardy.
We'd stay at the Lint-Hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ShirazSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
#85 of 261 in Cologne
125 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#45 of 261 in Cologne
91 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lint Hotel Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lint Hotel Koln

Address: Lintgasse 7, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £97 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lint Hotel Koln 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lint Hotel Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lint Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing