We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lint Hotel Koln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lint Hotel Koln
Ranked #74 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
kansas
1 review
“Great staff and location, good value”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I stayed at the Lint Hotel for a week. The staff in particular were very friendly and helpful; I was especially impressed by them. The location is also fantastic - a short stroll down the street to the restaurants and walk along the river, close to the Dom and other city attractions. Even in the midst of the big CSD celebrations, it was also surprisingly quiet in the back room off the street. If you want five-star accommodations, perhaps this is not the hotel for you. But it is clean and pleasant, reasonably priced and in a great spot.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    37
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestreshire, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

My wife and I wanted a base to visit the Christmas Markets. The Lint hotel is situated in a quiet, narrow cobbled street in the Old Town within easy walking distance of the train and coach stations, five of the six Christmas markets, the Dom, several museums, the fabulous shopping areas, and good, reasonably priced eating houses.
The young hotel staff were very welcoming,spoke good english and made us welcome. (A replacement light bulb was fitted almost immediately in our room.) The rooms are accessed by a fairly steep spiral staircase, minimally but more than adequately and comfortably furnished with modern built in units. The rooms have their own thermostats to ensure a very pleasant temperature.
Self-service breakfast is good and substantial.(Coffee could have been hotter.)

  • Liked — Convenient, quiet, central location in Old Town
  • Disliked — Warm coffee
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

A fantastic find in the heart of Cologne. We selected this hotel for its location and reviews, and weren't disappointed. Myself, my husband and my daughter , along with another couple, have just spent 2 nights at the lint for the christmas markets. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of all the sights, and the station, and very central for the markets.

All the staff were extremely friendly, and went out of there way to help us. We were travelling with our 16 month old daughter, and the hotel managed to rustle up a fantastic travel cot for us to use.

The rooms are compact but adequate, and very warm and cosy! Breakfast is the usual continental style, but beautifully layed out, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

We had some lovely meals, The X11 apostles just around the corner (italian) served us an excellent evening meal, and we discovered a local gem near to the chocolate museum called the "witches house", serving fantastic local dishes. The pub looks uninspiring from the outside , but the warm welcome and food made up our initial misgivings.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and extremely clean rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of lounge area / bar with comfy chairs to relax
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Lint-Hotel in July 2008.
The stay was perfectly satisfactory. Lint-Hotel is a small, presumably private (non-chain) property located in the heart of Cologne's AltStadt 2 minutes from the Rhine and 7-8 minutes from the Dom. Location is ideal. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are small and basic but comfortable. Moderate price (E129) includes good breakfast and wired Internet. No toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.), are provided.
Our room looked out over a very quiet, albeit public, square where the main distractions were tour groups at all hours (up to 10 p.m.!) admiring the nearby Romanesque church Gross St. Martin and an odd pair of bronze sculptures which were described to us as representing German comedians analogous to Laurel and Hardy.
We'd stay at the Lint-Hotel again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location; free internet; breakfast; staff
  • Disliked — Bedroom floor was never vacuumed and dust showed on the outside of my black carry-on no matter where I put it.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirazSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Booked a room at the lint the same day I was to arrive. Used another booking service, not the hotel directly. (Hotel website rate was 120 Euro, the booking service rate was 82 Euro, not including parking or breakfast)

The hardest part is finding the hotel. You can't drive directly there, since it's in a pedestrian only area. You CAN enter the Gross St. Martin parking garage...drive underground for about 2 blocks and if you park in the right spot...walk up the stairs directly in the courtyard behind the hotel. Once this was explained to me (By the hotel Staff) the rest of the stay here was great.

There WAS a fair in town, (street fest) but it didn't extend down the small Lintgasse, so the hotel was alot quieter than some of the larger hotels around the Dom would have been. Still - as with all hotels in Europe - you will be awakened by a drunk guy serenading the town at around 3am, on his way home after the bars close.

The staff (the two I met) were great. Very accommodating and helpful. The room was exactly as described, but had the bonus of a large shower with GREAT water pressure. Like an earlier writer mentioned though...no toiletries, other than a hand soap pumper.

If you don't like stairs, or if you have a load of luggage...consider this - no lift. Just a circular staircase. The staff did offer to help me with my bag though.

Didn't get the breakfast, had somewhere else to go, but coming down the stairs - whatever they were cooking in the morning smelled great.

  • Liked — Close to almost everything
  • Disliked — initial difficulty finding the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBadRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
210 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

The Lint is a very modern boutique style hotel although I think it was a little pricey for what is in reality posh Ikea style with no bath and no wardrobe. The rooms have a lovely juliet style balconey overlooking a small square although we found this to be quite noisy at night (it was 2 weekends before Christmas though)

Location wise it is brilliant near the main sights and in the Altstadt. We had two great Christmas markets around the corner and several more within walking distance. This was the main attraction for us. The catherdral and some of the surviving churches are spectacular but a lot of the city was very heavily bombed and consists of some ugly modern architecture. There are also loads of building sites.

We visited the Medieval Market on the Rhine which was next to the Lind museum (chocolate heaven) The queues were too big for the tour but we enjoyed the shop!

Breakfast was fine but we were so stuffed out with gluhwein and sausages that we had little appetite. We did really enjoy a bierkeller restaurant near the hotel called the Gaffel. Very recommended if you like good hearty german foods and there is an english menu translation avail although the place is not touristy at ll. Really friendly staff who sqeezed us in despite the place being full (everyone shares tables- don't expect an intimate meal and people smoke all over)

Cologne was great for Christmas and there is definately enough to keep you busy for a weekend. The hotel was well located and quite trendy although it lacked any real personality.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Noise at night
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2007

This is a wonderful small hotel in a great location. It is off a square--or large open space--not really a square--down a tiny street and a short walk to the dom. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. We had a car and were anxious to get rid of it as quickly as possible. There is an underground parking garage just on the city center side of the bridge as you come in from the north and a stair or elevator takes you right up to the open space a block or so from the hotel. The rooms were sleekly modern. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VtTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
#84 of 262 in Cologne
111 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen
#59 of 262 in Cologne
171 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#30 of 262 in Cologne
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lint Hotel Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lint Hotel Koln

Property: Lint Hotel Koln
Address: Lintgasse 7, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lint Hotel Koln 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lint Hotel Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lint Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing