We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, hotel with an old flare for better and worse”
Review of Callas Am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Callas Am Dom
Ranked #23 of 58 Cologne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel is situated in the pedestrian zone of Cologne, just near the Dome, 5 minutes from main train station. Very convenient. The hotel itself looked a bit old and beat up, but has its charm. It even has a specialty knife shop on the second floor, which is open three days a week.
However, the hotel has no air-condition, so beware of going there in the summer!
As it turned out, I couldn't even open the window of my room, as my room was facing an inner yard with a very loud motor. The receptionist told me this belongs to a restaurant, and goes off at 20:00. I was a bit sceptic (since when restaurants close at 20:00???), but unfortunately didn't insist on changing rooms. As it happens, the motor turned off indeed, only at 24:30. So if you like to go to sleep early, try to get a room not facing the back yard.
The hotel is clean, but very basic: Rough toilet paper, no tissues - only the very basics.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms facing the back yard, the motor from the nearby restaurant won't let you sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frothosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Was in Cologne to visit the Cologne Cathedral recently. As I was only going to spend a night in town and had to catch a train early the next morning, I was looking for a hotel close to the main train station. Decided on this hotel as I read of its good location from the reviews here. On hindsight, I should have done more homework.

The location:
As has been mentioned repeatedly, this hotel is located along the main shopping street in Cologne central. It is a mere 2 minutes walk from the Cologne Cathedral and about 5 minutes from the main train station. Unfortunately, this also makes the area very crowded which makes it a problem for patrons of the hotel to locate the small front door.

The room/hotel condition:
This hotel looks and feels rather dated. The elevator, for one, looks antiquated and I did not dare use it at all. The room I got was the smallest hotel room I've ever seen. I booked a room for a single occupant with an ensuite bathroom. On the website, it stated that the room was a King sized bed single occupancy. When I reached my room, I was rather shocked to find that the 'King size' bed looked more like a single. And the room was tiny, with little space for luggage.

I paid 85 euros for that one night stay and I could have stayed in a much better hotel if I had paid an extra 10 euros and spent abit more time researching the hotels nearby. Well, lesson learnt I guess.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MohammadFahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

If you want a decent budget hotel, 3 minutes walk from Cologn Central Station,and the Cathederal which is 15 minutes train ride €2.50 from the airport, you could do much worse than this one. I stayed there on business, and its basic but bearable for €50 per night

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The staff was friendly, you can't beat the location and the room was clean but otherwise . . . it was a disaster. Rooms are tiny and bathrooms are so small as to be barely functional. Rank smell in the hallways which were in bad need of new carpets and paint. Very little sound proofing as well. WiFi requires log in each and every use and is about the speed of a dial up modem. Only one iron and ironing board in the entire hotel and you will be forced to iron in the hallway given the size of the rooms. Not a bad choice for a young budget traveler but otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calhoopfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Great place to stay. 5 min walk from the train station and the Dom is only 2 min away. It is also on the best shopping street in the city. Rooms arn't huge but you will only be sleeping there anyway lol. Restraunts and beer gardens are with in 5 min walk. I will deffinately stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidB456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Obnoxious owner and the room for 95 euros was the size of a shoe box, smelt terrible and the room looked out on the back of other buildings. I wouldnt pay 20 euros for the room. In this case I had no choice as the actual hotel I booked in Cologne stuffed up my booking, it was late and I took the first place I could find. The only positive is it is in a good location. Cant believe it has had some good reviews???

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank markfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#215 of 262 in Cologne
279 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#47 of 262 in Cologne
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Senats Hotel
Senats Hotel
#127 of 262 in Cologne
263 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#44 of 262 in Cologne
93 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Buergerhof Hotel
Buergerhof Hotel
#34 of 58 in Cologne
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callas Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callas Am Dom

Address: Hohe Str. 137, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cologne
Price Range: £74 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Callas Am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Callas Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callas Am Dom Cologne
Callas Am Dom Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing