We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, cozy, value price”
Review of Callas Am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Callas Am Dom
Ranked #23 of 58 Cologne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Callas am Dom for two nights over Easter weekend. We're experienced travelers looking for good value for the price. The Callas was very close to the train station; we flew to Dusseldorf, then took the train to Koln, Our arrival coincided with the day staff's arrival at 8 a.m; they graciously agreed to hold our luggage and had our room ready before the regular 2 pm check in time. They helped us come up with some ideas of how to spend the time waiting since so many attractions didn't open until 8. (Even cafes that were open were hard to find) We booked a triple, and were delighted with the arrangement we got: basically a suite with 2 separate rooms and a shared bath. Now, this isn't a luxury hotel, and the rooms were quite small, but they were clean and comfortable. We were on the back of the building, so can't speak to the noise on the high street, but we didn't hear our neighbors at all. Our WiFi worked fine, and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet which of course was more European in selection than American. We would not say the breakfast is basic; there was always fresh fruit, eggs, a wonderful selection of breads and rolls, mueslix, cereal, yogurt, smoked salmon, Nutella, jams, honey, cheeses, cold cuts, and even more.

For a 2-3 star tourist hotel, Callas am Dom is very good.

Room Tip: If you want to be certain of quiet, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. For a triple, we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Hotel is located within minutes walking from the Cologne cathedral and Central train station. Room was clean but very basic and simple with no Wi fi connection. The hotel is located on a shopping street and is very noisy during the day so if you want to catch an afternoon nap or wake up a little bit late this is not your hotel.Besides the wall are so thin than I could hear the guest in the next room snoring !!! Breakfast was basic but good enough for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This hotel is ideally located for the train station, being located just a short walk away. Priced attractively, it surpassed expectations in cleanliness. The staff were very helpful.

Negatively, WiFi was more off than on. And the walls were wafer thin, even with earplugs I shared the neighbours conversations and tv channel.

Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earl-Sigurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We walked past the large glass entrance door tucked in between shops near the Dom before realising our mistake and backtracking. This is a small comfortable hotel - no flash, with a genteel ever so slightly worn quality but everything was tastefully decorated and clean. Our room was on the fourth floor with a door onto the roof and a view of the Dom spires from there or the bathroom window - an unexpected bonus. I did miss having a kettle in the room for tea or coffee. In spite of the busy foot traffic out front, our room at the back was very quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was a nice buffet of cold items and a carafe of good coffee on our table. Staff were quiet and reserved - but still very pleasant and helpful. A nice place to stay with a great location near the Dom, museums and shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My mother and I visited Cologne for a quick 2 days during June 2012 and were so impressed with the location of this hotel! Having never been to the city before, we took the train from Bad Laasphe and headed to Cologne! It was so easy to find once we arrived at the main train station, we literally walked out, past the Dom and around the corner there it was! Very friendly and helpful staff and an exquisite view of the Dom! Breakfast was basic but good, rooms were clean and neat! It's perfectly situated in the hustle and bustle of the city which for obvious reasons has it's good and bad! Will definitely recommend this hotel for short stays to Cologne!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngeBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel is situated in the pedestrian zone of Cologne, just near the Dome, 5 minutes from main train station. Very convenient. The hotel itself looked a bit old and beat up, but has its charm. It even has a specialty knife shop on the second floor, which is open three days a week.
However, the hotel has no air-condition, so beware of going there in the summer!
As it turned out, I couldn't even open the window of my room, as my room was facing an inner yard with a very loud motor. The receptionist told me this belongs to a restaurant, and goes off at 20:00. I was a bit sceptic (since when restaurants close at 20:00???), but unfortunately didn't insist on changing rooms. As it happens, the motor turned off indeed, only at 24:30. So if you like to go to sleep early, try to get a room not facing the back yard.
The hotel is clean, but very basic: Rough toilet paper, no tissues - only the very basics.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms facing the back yard, the motor from the nearby restaurant won't let you sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frothosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#215 of 262 in Cologne
278 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#53 of 262 in Cologne
317 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#45 of 262 in Cologne
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callas Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callas Am Dom

Address: Hohe Str. 137, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cologne
Price Range: £70 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Callas Am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Callas Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callas Am Dom Cologne
Callas Am Dom Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing