We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK für eine Köllner Nacht”
Review of Hotel Coellner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Coellner Hof
Ranked #9 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK für eine Köllner Nacht”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here on a carride from Copenhagen to Spain. Location is on a busy road. Friendly receptionist, old-fashioned, but clean room, with to seperate beds (which my girlfreind disliked...). Coellner Hof got at little restaurant with typical german cuisine. Breakfast was a a surprise. Rates are what you can expect in the center of a greater german town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henninglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    168
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
80
108
30
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I took my girlfriend on a surprise trip to Cologne's markets last December to pop the Q. After much debating I decided to try Coellner Hof largely due to decent reviews and the price. Given the relatively cheap price of the hotel I thought it was great. The room was spotless, staff very friendly with a great European style breakfast. I did ask for a double bed twice ( via email) and got 2 singles pushed together, but I find this seems to happen fairly often in Europe. Whilst the location is a 10 min walk from town we always felt safe and sometimes it was actually nice to be slightly away from the bustling markets. We ate one dinner there which was really good. This is a German hotel and is different to one of the big chains but if you are looking for a well priced hotel in Cologne its a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaffaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a generally nice hotel. Good breakfast, clean room and comfortable atmosphere. The room is small, yet acceptable. There is only one thing I like to complain: I checked out, the cashier charged my credit card using my hometown currency, instead of euros. She did not ask me, and I did not notice as well. I paid 3% more. I was not happy when I found out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_r440_1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great base for the Christmas Markets. Rooms are small but clean and tidy with great bathroom. Restaurant downstairs appeared busy but ate at the markets. The cathedral is approx. 15 minutes walk away. Felt safe in the neighbourhood after dark. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stay regularly at the Coellner Hof. It is a typically German hotel within easy walking distance from the main railway station, the old town, Rhine and a local S Bahn station. It is an excellent base when in Köln.

The hotel has a pleasant bar that also serves food, provides a good choice of food for breakfast and offers free WiFi to guests. The bedrooms are being refurbished and those that have been done are comfortable and modern. There are a few however that fall below the general standard and these can have a rather small cabin style bed

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonrt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I've been staying at the Coellner Hof for the past four years and have never been disappointed. Some of the rooms are a little tight for space and you can't fit more than two people and a bag in either of the elevators but that is all part of the ambiance. You get a real sense that you are staying in Germany while at the Coellner Hof. The carpets are getting a bit warn but not the warmth and service offered by staff. They are extremely helpful. I had a bit of trouble hooking up to the WiFi as the instructions left in the room were dated and no longer applied, but other than that all was good. The breakfasts are terrific and not to be missed. It did not appear that the restaurant is operating for dinner or lunch but there are lots of good restaurants within a block or two of the hotel. The hotel is well located. It's a 10 minute walk from the train station, the Dom, and old part of Cologne and only a few minutes away from shopping, bakeries and restaurants. Room rates vary considerably depending on the time of year and what's happening in town so I'd check carefully before booking.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Found this hotel to be of good value compared to the rest of the hotels in Cologne. We had booked just a standard room, but there was plenty of space to move around and store luggage. The breakfast was great, plenty of choice and quality. The area between the hotel and the cathedral is a little run down and congested, and very full of tourists and locals, with a wide variety of cafes and shops. The cathedral was beautiful, and we also enjoyed the little sightseeing bus that goes all over town and stops by the chocolate factory.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhlllyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#13 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coellner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coellner Hof

Property: Hotel Coellner Hof
Address: Hansaring 100, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cologne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#7 Family Hotel in Cologne
#19 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coellner Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately building, tradition and modernity, in harmonious coexistence. Values, high comfort, the solid-earth quality, give the house a personal touch and a special charm. Upon entering the lobby you can feel this sense of wellbeing. Stylish and using carefully selected materials, the guest areas have been adapted over the last few years of rebuilding and reshaping contemporary and sophisticated comfort to the guest today would no longer ignore. Whether travelling on business, as seminar participants, exhibitors or visitors, as tourists or passing through - the "Coellner Hof" may apply to any claim to be just. Located in the centre, just a few minutes' walk from Cologne Cathedral, Media Park, the Opera House, Philharmonic Society, to the shopping streets or in the old town of Cologne. Lanxess Arena Cologne fair and can be reached in the shortest possible time from our hotel "Coellner court" to. Whether private or business trip, we're the ideal city hotel for your stay in Cologne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coellner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coellner Hof Hotel
Coellner Hof Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing